We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Could not have been better!”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Tripadvisor did not let me down--Cap'n Fish's is certainly a find! This is a motel with a view in a great location. The rooms are clean, the bathroom had a full-sized tub, and there were chairs provided to sit out on the walkway area (that functioned kind of like a balcony, but with occasional people walking by.) The woman who checked us in could not have been nicer, the layout is great--the way the building is set up, almost every room has a view of the harbor--and did I mention that the price is very reasonable?

My husband and I recently stayed at a resort hotel with an Italian fishing village theme (in Orlando--I'm sure you can figure out where) and loved it. But as we sat out on the walkway at Cap'n Fish's, my husband remarked 'I can't believe we thought ___ was beautiful. THIS is the real thing!'

As for the location, it can't be beat. Yes, it is across the harbor from 'all the action'. But first, it is maybe a ten minute walk away (if you walk slowly) and second, why would you want to STAY in the action? This is a quiet retreat away from the touristy shops. Additionally, given the state of disrepair of the one 'big' hotel that's 'right in the middle of it all', I'd take Cap'n Fish's any time! Oh and did I mention it is right next door to THE BEST lobster shack we enjoyed during our month-long Maine and Maritimes road trip?

Room Tip: We stayed in room 25 and found the view to be PERFECT. It had one king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elbodans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capn_fishs_hotel, Manager at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for such a wonderful review. Just one correction...you must have stayed in room 35, as that has a king bed and a beautiful view! Room 25 is a standard room with two double beds.
Again, thank you. We'll look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    124
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
83
142
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
wapp.falls ,new york
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Inn right on the water. Can sit and watch all the boats coming and going. Room was clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Has small restaurant on premsis for breakfast and lunch. They also provide for free coffee, cereal and donuts in the AM.Inn is close to shopping and other activities. If you book a boatride directly with them on there vessels you get a discount too. Will definately go there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We spent 4 nights in a waterfront family room. Not 'smart' or chain place. Old fashioned and felt as if people had been returning year in and out. A little run down, but charming for that. 5min walk from a bridge that takes you straight into the heart of the little tourist village where most restaurants are. There is a breakfast/lunch diner right in front of the hotel which is great, traditional food and well priced, very pleasant people. Or you can help yourself to breakfast in a tiny room by Reception, cereal, juice, donuts, coffee - perfectly adequate. We took away back to the nearby room for lazy teenagers. Large free area to park in front of hotel. We had emailed in advance to book on to Whale watch and Pufin watch - well worth doing as you get a decent discount if you book through the hotel and this assures you of a place. Be warned, you can board 30ms before it sails and I would urge you to do so. You want to sit outside upstairs, all those seats go quickly. We loved both trips, well worth it. Only blip with the hotel was the rather grim middleaged bespectacled receptionist who humourlessly booked us in without a word to spare. When I asked her politely the next day if she thought the rain might ease I was abruptly referred to the weather chanel in the succinct snapped sentence 'channel 33 is for weather', A simple shrug and a smile would have been nicer. Perhaps a job where she wouldn't be bothered by those annoying hotel guests would suit her better.

Room Tip: Book early to get harbourview at busy periods
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marynigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

A quick walk across the footbridge gets you to all the shops. Hotel staff friendly, we were able to get discounted boat tickets, and the diner nearby served quick and plentiful food. The room was slightly outdated, but VERY clean. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfersDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mt. morris
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

good price, location. clean. nice people in office. continental breakfast simple and coofee always good and hot. will stay again

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dmc6211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We got a waterfront room with two big windows. Could see the entire harbor. Very picturesque! At night can see the center of booth bay all lit up. Just a short walk over the footbridge and your there. Turn the corner out of our room and there was a large deck with table chairs The room was very clean, beds were comfortable and bathroom was perfect. Located next to a nice breakfast place you can eat on the deck outside. Room had ironing board and iron so I didn't have to walk around wrinkled the whole trip. Very enjoyable place to stay. Room had frig. and coffee maker, blow dryer, alarm clock, phone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogidavis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This older motel has fairly small rooms, but the place was very clean. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom, along with an iron and ironing board in the room. No refrigerator. However, the location was just perfect. The place is on the water and most rooms have some sort of waterfront view. The bridge to walk into town is about a 5 minute walk, and there are lobster restaurants just down the street in both directions. We sat out on the deck attached to the motel and watched the 4th of July fireworks that went off on a barge out in the water. You can also just sit there and watch the boats go by. There is a small, free continental breakfast (cereal and donuts) or you can buy breakfast (or lunch) at the little restaurant right there on the water. Also, FYI, children 12 and older count as adults and are charged an extra $10 each. In addition, we did Capn Fish’s Puffin trip, which was awesome! You can buy tickets in the office.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jimhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.4 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
490 reviews
1.6 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
534 reviews
0.4 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
368 reviews
3.2 km away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
364 reviews
0.4 km away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn

Property: Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Address: 65 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2131
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn offers comfortable, clean accommodations at a very reasonable price. Many rooms have a water view. All rooms are air conditioned and offer free wi-fi, Flat screen cable tv, in room coffee makers, Refrigerators hairdryers, irons/ironing boards. The lobby offers complimentary coffee all day and a continental breakfast from 7-10:30 daily. Our on site Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in season. Hotel guests receive discounts on Caap'n Fish's Whale Watch, Puffin Watch and Sightseeing Cruises. The view is spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap`n Fish`s Waterfront Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing