We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”
Review of Flagship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flagship Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lewiston, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Flagship Inn.The experience was one of the worst I have ever had in a hotel. We reserved a pet room which I already was nervous about but based on the reviews and how this hotel was supposed to be extremely pet friendly, I assumed the room would be like any normal hotel room. We first walked into the room and the smell was terrible. It was almost like animals had urinated and deficated in the room and instead of properly cleaining the room, the smell was just trying to be covered up by some sort of cleaning product. When we finally got back in the room after a long day, we noticed the amount of dog hair that was all over the floor. When we opened up the sheets, we realized that every sheet on the bed including the mattress pad, blankets, and pillow cases were full of dog hair and human hair. Since it was 11:30 PM at this point, we were not to happy to have this problem corrected at that time. Considering this is one of the best reviewed hotels in the Boothbay region, I was really not expecting this. I understand the room was set aside for people with pets but to not clean the room in between guests is absolutely disgusting. I have stayed at 50 to 60 hotel in the past 3 years in many different areas and this room was by far the worst.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ST21586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbarter, Manager at Flagship Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
We do not want anyone leaving the Flagship Inn disappointed, and tried to correct the problem as soon as it was brought to our attention. We have a standard policy of removing all sheets, blankets and bedspreads at every check out in a pet room. Unfortunately, pet hair can remain on the spreads and blankets even after they have been laundered. To try to prevent this from occuring again, we have instituted a new policy to start tripple sheeting all pet rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    202
    56
    8
    4
See reviews for
192
205
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed at the Flagship last summer, and I just stayed in May. Town is a little quieter at this time of year, but the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens are beautiful! This time I stayed in one of the Deluxe rooms, and was very pleased. They upgraded the bedding, and have Flatscreen T.V's and microwaves. Worth the $10.00 difference.

The staff was great, as always. They make you feel like they missed you when you were gone! I would come again, and again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My wife and I, along with our 9 year old, son stayed at the Flagship Inn for the first time in May 2012. It was a great experience for my entire family. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast was delicious! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Falls, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stay at this motel every year on our way to a destination further up in Maine. It is quite clean and very well-maintained. The rooms are comfy. The staff is great--so friendly and helpful. It is reasonably priced. The pool is great. And Bet's Fish Fry ("free beer tomorrow!") is right up the street; there's also a grocery store, gas station, and drug store right nearby should you need anything. Although on the main road, this motel is set back, so it is quiet and you can get a good night's sleep.

We do travel with a dog, our good old golden retriever, and we originally chose this motel because they have some pet-friendly rooms (and a broad grassy area in which to walk him). We thought that would mean no carpeting, which is is fine, and turned out to be true. But, we were very pleasantly surprised to find that they also provided a cute little water bowl, some dog treats, AND a stuffed lobster toy--our dog was THRILLED. That is above and beyond, in our opinion, and has earned our enduring loyalty to this motel, year after year.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: If you travel with a dog, the dog rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Flagship Inn, Boothbay Harbor, is a delightful place to stay. Continental breakfast plus kitchen facilities that allow full meal cooking. Room are not cramped, mattresses are wonderful. Great housekeeping. Staff is readily available, very responsive and helpful to all guests, and as friendly as you want them to be. Reservations are quickly made and can accommodate the variety of travelers from vacationers, families, friends, business, workers, to couples/honeymooners, and those traveling solo. Whether a brief or longer stay, the welcome is the same. There is a lovely pool and hot tub available during warmer weather. Easy access in and out of town, and within walking distance of grocery, movie, drugstore, laundry. Flagship Inn inspires a return stay.

Room Tip: Let them know if you need quieter (in the back, on south side) or need lower floor (stairs to uppper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have always stayed at the Flagship when I come to the Boothbay Region! Its like a home away from home. The staff at the front desk is amazing. Julie,Tammy,Nancy and Lee are just a few on the names! The pool and hot tub in the summer are to die for. Its not a chlorine pool and it not harsh on your skin. Next door in the summer time is a cute little dinner theater that has good food and very funny entertainment! Fresh coffee is always avail in the lobby! If you dont stay here then you are crazy! When ever I come to boothbay i will always stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C1489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Helpful staff, good breakfast, nice rooms. Good base to visit beautifull area.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rc1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.4 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
447 reviews
1.3 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
472 reviews
1.6 km away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
359 reviews
3.3 km away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
354 reviews
3.6 km away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagship Inn

Property: Flagship Inn
Address: 200 Townsend Ave, Route 27, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1838
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#2 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flagship Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the finest choice in Boothbay Harbor Maine accommodations. The Flagship Inn invites you to relax in some of the Boothbay Harbor Region's most comfortable and reasonable accommodations, all guaranteed by AAA and Mobil guide ratings. "Best Value" is how our guests describe us! We are locally owned and operated which allows us to offer the exceptional service of a small inn but the modern amenities of a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Flagship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagship Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Flagship Boothbay Harbor
Flagship Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing