We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time in maine”
Review of Brown's Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown's Wharf Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Never have been to Maine...neighbors go every year and love it...so i thought i would try it...booked online.. Browns wharf Inn,because it was on the harbor and the rooms had balconys...its not a hotel, its a motel they just recently added a 3rd floor with elevator.
the rooms are average small bath serves the purpose (clean towels everyday) only problem i had and was very disappointed in was our room location...down the far right side of the harbor closest to the road...yes i had a balcony and never sat out once in 5 days wanted to see boats not cars...when i booked i did ask for a front harbor room............i ask for a room change at check in they said they would let me know and of cause they didnt......we did go down and sit on the deck in the front of the harbor which is really nice...if your a person whos into nightlife you might not want to go here...everything pretty much closes around 830pm......there are a few that stay open alittle later. Boothbay Harbor is a pretty little fishing village with friendly nice people. You can ride around finding little harbor villages and light houses...day trips like whale watching see puffins and dolphins is fun...walking through village shops.....go into nearby towns like damarisotta, bath ect. ,,,,,Food..Lobster Deck for lunch not fancy order and they bring it.My husband loved the lobster roll....I loved the Boathouse in the village got caught in a rainstorm and ran into this resturant...we enjoyed some wine had a cheese platter... great friendly service turned out to be a nice afternoon...all in all a nice vacation i would go back to Browns Wharf but must have a front harbor room.....Its nice to watch the village wakeup boats going out early to pull up crab and lobster nets.....they do have their own resturant we didnt try it so i cant comment...... thought it was alittle exspensive,but it is on the Harbor, clean and most of the other guest have been going back for years

Room Tip: make sure you request a front harbor veiw.....very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank three2bits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

Brown's Wharf Inn Is a wonderful place to stay if you are visiting Boothbay Harbor. The view from the balcony is outstanding. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they even have coffee and tea in the lounge. We were able to check our e-mails using Brown's computer. Remembering the wonderful lobster dinner will stay with us all year, their prime rib is also very good. From repeat customers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EagleCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

A one night stay four years after our first visit, when their restaurant was closed. Accomodation wise its a three storey motel with fine harbour views, a drive away from the centre of town. Rooms are fine - decently sized with balconies on the harbour and of a standard to compete with most of the bigger and better players in the motel segment. We found the very large restaurant ( catering for hotel guests and outsiders) to be average and quite expensive- so I'd question value in this respect. No help with bags was offered.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I brought my family to stay in Boothbay and chose Brown's Wharf Inn because of the reviews. The staff was wonderful and helpful, the rooms were immaculate and the views were absolutely beautiful. We had 2 breakfasts in the dining room and a Saturday night dinner and all were reasonably priced and the food was excellent. These folks really care about your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesterJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights in a room overlooking the harbor and were quite impressed with Brown's Wharf. Watching the fishing boats come and go from the privacy of our own room was so relaxing! Clean and comfortable inn with a friendly staff and a fine restaurant. Dinner in the fireside room was fabulous even though a bit pricey. Our only complaint was the extremely tiny bathroom in our room. Okay for a night or two but would definitely be annoying for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Spring for a harbor side room. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjpride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Wonderfully spacious rooms, balconies overlooking the harbor, and a friendly staff. The rooms are clean, with beautiful furnishings. The hotel is in an ideal location in boothbay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goneat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were traveling south through Maine and decided to stay a night in Boothbay Harbor. The area is really pretty and with no reservations, we were lucky to get the last room at Brown's Wharf on a Sat. night in September. We had a balcony right over the water. We could watch the fishermen bring in their catch and all the boats were docked all around the cove. The room was fairly large and although it may not have been updated recently, it was very clean.
We were not 'in the center' of town but there was a pedestrian bridge not far away to walk across the cove to the main part of town where all the shops and restaurants are located.
We decided, however, to eat at our hotel and the food was very good.
Would stay here again when traveling through.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda02813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.6 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
469 reviews
1.9 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
0.6 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
3.1 km away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
1.7 km away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Wharf Inn

Address: 121 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $113 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Wharf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Wharf Inn Hotel, Marina and Restaurant is located directly over the ocean on beautiful Boothbay Harbor. All rooms have balconies and a commanding view of the harbor, the ocean and boating activities. Cable TV, telephone, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, in-room safes, Wi-Fi, use of computer, park and lock parking. Restaurant has been owned and operated by the Brown Family for the past 74 years, offering a full menu but specializing in local fresh seafood. Inside-outside dining with beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brown's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Browns Wharf Hotel
Browns Wharf Motel
Browns Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing