We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food- Interesting Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food- Interesting Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

The food is great- don't be turned off by the appearance of the inside of the restaurant. Order the blueberry pie!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieLovesLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Front Office Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and especially our blueberry pie. Our dining room is a little rustic because it is built into the side of the original tugboat THE MAINE, which was built in 1917. Steam-powered, she worked all along the New England coast before claiming her residence as the Tugboat Lounge in 1973. At that time the original restuarant was located on the lower level of the Tugboat Building and extended out over the water. In 1983 the restaurant was converted to guestrooms and a small lounge and a new dining room was built upstairs as it exisits today. We hope that you will join us again in the future. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    152
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
97
226
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

What a great place to stay to enjoy one of Maine's best secrets..Boothbay Harbor. The restaurant is in a real tugboat, it is really fun. The food was great and the staff was really friendly. I would recommend this property to all visiting Boothbay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbrown1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stetson, maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

had a great stay in a great room. I was in a room on the pier over the water. Great views. the whole place is charming and i am looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms on the pier. Cant get any closer to the ocean :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leeann2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Front Office Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you had such a nice stay. Thank you kindly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

This hotel has a lot of charm. The entrance to the dining room is an actual tugboat that was dry docked and converted into the dining room. The views overlook the outer harbor and are simply amazing. The continental breakfast is in the dining room in full season and offers make your own waffles, coffee, pastries, cereal, yogurt, bagels, oj, fruit, tea, etc. Simple but a litttle something for everyone. Outside seating on the deck over looking the marina for luch, dinner and during entertainment. The front desk staff is always welcoming, friendly, and very helpful with maps, ideas and inside tips to beach spots and shopping. Our rooms have always been clean, and comfortable. The Inn offers rooms right out over the water on 2 pier buildings as well as other view rooms that sit back from the water. They have 5 buildings and we have tried them all, even the tiny rooms at the end. My favorite is the crow's nest suite recently painted with some new decor or the 3rd floor kings with private balcony, flatscreen tv, fridge and sitting area. Over all a must if in the harbor, even if it is just for a bowl of lobster bisque for lunch or dinner. AND they just added a hot tub fun fun fun!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jingleflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed 2-nightrs for a business meeting, Great location overlooking the harbor.My room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and welcomed us at every corner. I had dinner and lunch at the Restaurant during my stay and its was excellent..I hight recommend this hotel and I will return in the summer with my family.

Room Tip: Ask for Bonnie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankBerwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABROOK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We had a very good experience at the Tug Boat Inn in Boothbay Harbor,Me. Very clean comfortable and cozy. The Restaurant was very good also. The people cleaning were very good and efficient. We had a tiny problem turning on the cable and the clerk came right down to assist us in getting it to work.

Overall a very good take and reasonable price for April.

Room Tip: We chose a room right on the pier and at the top had an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Front Office Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed our "very clean comfortable and cozy" rooms. We apologize for the cable, but we are happy it was fixed quickly for you. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank You Kindly, Travel Safely and Often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have stayed at the Tugboat Inn several times. Always great, especially the shower - water pressure is awesome. The resteraunt at the Inn is very nice - great waterviews. Only drawback is the room over the pub/bar. There is entertainment on weekends and the music comes right through the floor. Nice location -- walk to most places.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolate55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Front Office Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us several times. We have just 4 rooms that are effected by the music of the lounge. Mention that you have a hard time sleeping because of the music next time and we will tell you about the other rooms. We have rooms on the opposite end of the pier, we book them as tiny room large view. Or maybe you would like the Wharf Pier, still out over the water but away from the lounge. We do get a lot of compliments about our shower pressure. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.2 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.3 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.4 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.2 km away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.3 km away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Property: Tugboat Inn
Address: 80 Commercial St, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Tugboat Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing