We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful spot above Boothbay Harbor”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sprucewold Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sprucewold Lodge
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful spot above Boothbay Harbor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

I arrived at Sprucewold on a cold, drizzly mid-week evening after Labor Day. A fire was burning in the fireplace, another guest was reading in the lobby, and a note was left at the reception desk with my key. I essentially checked myself in and figured it all out on my own. The lodge lobby is cheerful and the large dining hall across the road is equally charming. This place has an interesting history...the entire forested neighborhood on the hill above Boothbay was a rustic resort built in the 1920s. Most of the cabins are now private residences, but the lodge and dining hall remain open for public use. Sprucewold was clean and cozy, and staff were very accommodating. Breakfast was great--made to order blueberry pancakes. I think they would've cooked anything I'd requested. Richard and his staff/relatives were all friendly. They even put my rain-soaked hiking shoes by the fire so they would dry out! (Thanks, guys!)

One or two cons, if you even want to call them that: this place is old. Come if that's what you like and you appreciate the history of places like this. The hallways seemed dim to me. It wasn't until night that I realized why...the doors of the rooms have transom windows, so the hallway lighting streams into the lodge rooms. The dimness can make the place seem a little more dreary than it probably is. I wanted to replace the hallway bulbs with a brighter wattage. Granted, I was also there on a cloudy day, so that didn't help, I'm sure. Also, there were few people there when I stayed, so I cannot imagine what it would be like at the height of summer when it's busy.

Sprucewold is not really walking distance down into town unless you don't mind a decent walk, so keep that in mind. Do appreciate the view the Catholic church has perched on its hill overlooking the bay as you make the turn to drive up the hill to Sprucewold. Talk about a prime piece of property! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel5425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

“Getting away” is a much over-used expression these days. As the phrase pertains to vacation destinations, it seems we rarely opt for places without creature comforts, modern conveniences and modern telecommunications access. Let’s face it. Unless one elects to hack and trek through jungles, scale distant mountain peaks, sail solo around the world, and search out places far from the madding crowd, we usually end up closely tethered technologically to our homes and offices despite “being on vacation“..

However, we can make the effort in part by searching out lodging accommodations that offers a quieter counterbalance to the headlong rush of everyday life. A throwback, if you will, to earlier times. Those places are to be found. A determination and willingness to do without the tech fix will often provide some very satisfying travel experiences. One such find in coastal Maine is Sprucewold Lodge located in Boothbay Harbor. To be more exact, it’s located slightly above the harbor, up a steep hill and amid a forest setting. Think hand-hewn log buildings, big stone fireplaces, rocking chairs near the hearth and on open air porches, and birch, spruce and hardwood décor.

Built nearly a century ago, SPRUCEWOLD LODGE is according to the lodge’s literature one of the last remaining large log structures east of the Mississippi River. The bedrooms in the lodge are cozy and comfortable though a little dated. Each of the rooms has an adjoining private bathroom which do not blind one from the glare of marble and tile but are certainly adequate. The lodging accommodations are a comfortable nod to an earlier time and way of travel. Rooms are not air conditioned. However, cooling fresh breezes ruffling curtains in front of double hung sash and screened windows provide effective air circulation and a panacea for restful sleep. It’s quiet at night. Both the lodge and the dining hall are handicapped accessible with sturdy ramps for wheelchairs.

There’s an abundance of board games spanning decades of table entertainment available in the lodge and the dining hall. Game tables await players of all ages. Like to read? What better location than curled up near the fireplace or rocking quietly on the front porch. Forgot your book? There’s plenty of books to choose from in library niches anchored along the hallways.. Like to meet interesting people and have real non-face book conversation? You’ve come to the right place. Like to hike? There is lots of uncongested roadway and some forested paths to explore near the lodge.

A superb breakfast buffet served in the dining hall is included in the room rate. The staples of breakfast buffets (eggs, bacon, pancakes, sausage, hash browns, homemade muffins, fruit, and juices) are dressed up and tendered with a gourmet flair. Early morning risers can enjoy coffee and tea set out in the lodge an hour prior to breakfast.

Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday nights (depending on the number of reservations) are set aside for Soup and Salad, Italian, and “Comfort Food” buffets. These are first class culinary offerings with something for every palette served from gleaming steam trays set out on long table clothed tables. These early week dining events appear to attract a mix of both lodge guests and town folks. The food fare provided by the chef and his staff are well worth the visit. The costs of the buffets range from $12.95 to $16.95 depending on the buffet night. Diners are encouraged to make these dining nights a BYO (a “bring your own” wine) affair.

Sprucewold Lodge is located a short 5-10 minute drive from the town of Boothbay Harbor. There are many galleries, shops and restaurants for visitors to browse and dine at. Numerous commercial excursion boats and several windjammers provide plentiful opportunities to tour the nearby coastal waters and islands, exhilarate to the rush of rigged vessels under sail, and sight a variety of whales. Kayaks and bicycles are available to rent. For those that enjoy people watching, Boothbay Harbor is not going to disappoint. There’s a very pleasant and well run local full service library with internet access and also a used book annex adjacent to the library. There’s even an “Opera House” featuring community theatre in season.

If the reader traveler is opting for a glitzy and plush home away from home with all the modern conveniences, then Sprucewold Lodge could disappoint. However, if one is willing to sample a authentic, rustic traveler’s way station along the heavily advertised tourists trails, then Sprucewold Lodge is well worth the visit.

Room rates are affordable and might fluctuate slightly during the seasons depending on the dates of travel. Remember that the room rate also includes a sumptuous breakfast buffet. Excursions and outings to local areas can be arranged and tailored to your interest by Richard the innkeeper. He and his wife Donna are genuinely pleasant and accommodating hosts.

Boothbay Harbor is about an hour and fifteen minutes drive from Portland International Jetport and easily accessible by interstate and coastal highway. If you’re not sightseeing and shopping around town, numerous places of local nterest such as a botanical garden and other coastal scenic drives are just a short distance away. One doesn’t have to travel too far afield from Boothbay Harbor in order to sample quintessential Down East Maine.

If you’re looking for a unique and restful vacation that varies slightly from your normal vacation itinerary, do consider staying at the Sprucewold Lodge. On one of the lodge walls, there’s a long horizontal framed photograph showing a large group of 1930 guests. The men are attired in white ties, shirts and jackets and the women in summer dresses and hats. Some aspects of travel have definitely changed since then. Fortunately, some things have not. If you are inclined to want to get away on your next trip and open to the experience of rustic Maine for your next vacation stayover, you won’t be disappointed with SPRUCEWOLD LODGE..

Robert from Indiana
Hoosiergadabout
Dates of Stay: August 23-25, 2011

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoosiergadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Note: We did not spend the night here but we did stop in for the afternoon for nostalgia reasons. My mother had worked here 50 years ago and always raved about it so we stopped in for a visit. Richard and his wife were very welcoming and charming, gave us a tour and the run of the place. it is very rustic, exactly what you would expect with log homes, old time games everywhere. Very peaceful. I felt like I had stepped back into the era depicted by "Dirty Dancing". The rooms we saw were a decent size, with connecting bathrooms to another room, good for families. It seems like a very pleasant place to stay. it is old but clean and seems well maintained.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mommusega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

we stayed in the main house one night only. they had a wedding reception across the way. wedding party came back totally drunk 2 different times in the night. paper thin walls let us hear everything in both rooms on either side of us. adult guests including a **grandmother** totally inebriated! banged on wall and asked them to be quiet - nothing happened. mattresses were paper thin and probably not changed or even flipped since 1920. checked out at the crack of dawn to get the heck out of dodge, owner told us "well, you wanted a room." it's not like he reduced his price b/c of the complaint. we paid full price to have a wretched night's sleep. RUN, RUN from sprucewold!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorseArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

We had a great stay in Sprucewold. Richard is very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were wonderful. Everything was freshly made and very tasty. A great variety of breakfast foods. The setting is beautiful. Its a great spot for seeing this part of Maine. However the hotel is old; it is of the 1920's era. Its very dark inside due to the wooden beams and the walls are paper thin! Don't expect a 5 star hotel but do expect a warm welcome, great atmosphere and great food. It was clean and comfortable and good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluemist29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

We spent a week at the Sprucewold this past July. Wow! I am almost at a loss for words. Richard and his wife were wonderful hosts. He was very attentive to everyone's needs. He seemed to be available 24/7. I don't know how he does it. Breakfast was outstanding. His staff is small but very good at what they do and they do everything. They are very friendly and helpful. The chef out did himself. One breakfast was better than the next. Blueberry pancakes, omelets, lobster quiche, sausage, bacon, fresh fruit, baked goods; I wish I could have eaten more. All of his suggestions for meals and sightseeing were spot on. I couldn't take in enough quite. Their slogan of "Sleep like a log" is the absolute truth. Peaceful, beautiful mornings, waking to fresh coffee in the lodge. Rocking on the porch listening to the birds while the smell of breakfast wafts across the road. Anticipation! I could move in. Very reasonable rates. I agree with past post of VERY thin walls, if you have a neighbor you can hear everything. Richard spaces occupants well and the only time we heard our neighbors was when he had a full house. Amenities you may be used to at other hotels are not to be found in your room but I did not hear one traveler complain about the step back in time. I would jump at the chance to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shepmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast USA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

We just spent 3 days at Sprucewold Lodge. It gives you the feeling of staying in an historic Maine woods lodge while the ocean experience is a minute's drive down the road. This inn is rustically elegant. Simple but immaculate rooms, beautiful public rooms, wonderful big hot breakfasts, peace and quiet -- and two minutes from all the activity of Boothbay Harbor.
If you want Internet connections, in-room TV's, a business center, spa facilities etc., this is not for you. If you want simple and charming peace and quiet, come here. Wonderful hosts are very accommodating. Reasonable rates include breakfast.We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emeraldisle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
2.4 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.9 km away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.2 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.0 km away
Rocktide Inn
Rocktide Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.2 km away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sprucewold Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sprucewold Lodge

Property: Sprucewold Lodge
Address: 4 Nahanada Rd, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2283
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Boothbay Harbor
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Sprucewold Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Sprucewold Lodge Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing