We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Awarded 4* by Visit England
Newton-in-Bowland
Sleep soundly
Lots and lots about the area  - please write us a review
Stags in the bedroom
The Grade 11 listed windows
The view from the back of the cottage
Another fine view from the cottage garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Newton-in-Bowland, Clitheroe, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
egremont
Liverpool,UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Stayed 4 nights in this beautiful cottage. Very well equipped with lots of personal touches. Cottage is in lovely village with amazing scenery. Hopefully will stay there again! Definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aleesha-c...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cottage - beautiful location”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

School House Cottage was excellent and very close to beautiful walks and scenery.
Slaidburn is just a short walk away along the river with an excellent pub & coffee shop etc. The cottage itself has everything you need and feels like a home from home. Thank you for a great stay with loads of extra touches to make it fantastic choice of holiday cottage. Parkers the excellent local pub/top restaurant is only a 2min walk away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thank you for such a fabulous review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissClark...
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“perfect family weekend away”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

we stayed here at the weekend and what a place it is! the owners are brilliant and so welcoming, the cottage is lovely with everything you could possibly need. The parkers arms pub is a 2 second walk and it really is excellent. we really didn't want to come home, 2 nights really wasn't enough. cannot recommend this place enough. really worth a visit..we're already looking at dates to return. thank you so much for making the weekend so enjoyable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Thank you so much for such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhend085
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay in a very quaint setting”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at School House Cottage and will look to return in the future. Well placed in the beautiful countryside we were so pleased to have found and booked it and it was a perfect base for our weekend. The local, recommended walks were a very nice way to see the area and we enjoyed our visits to Slaidburn and Whitewell.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelinm...
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage for exploring the Forest of Bowland”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We've just had 2 nights in the lovely School House Cottage.We used it as our base for our Wedding day and reception at the nearby Parkers Arms. The cottage is in the small, quiet hamlet of Newton-in-Bowland, and is tastefully appointed throughout, with lots of small thoughtful touches, like the honesty boxes for the beer and wine.We had a beautiful clear evening the second night and the starlight sky was amazing. The cottage would be a great base to explore the beautiful area of The Forest of Bowland, we love the whole area and there are many villages to explore all with great pubs and places to eat. The owners live locally and obviously love the area and their cottage and made the whole process of booking and or gassing our visit a pleasant experience. A lovely touch was a wedding card and a box of chocolates...thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Hope everything went well with the wedding and honeymoon and hope to see you again when you visit the Forest of Bowland
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pat1a
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little bit of luxury!”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our first visit to the Forest of Bowland and we were not disappointed. The countryside lived up to expectation and as for our accommodation - well School House Cottage could not have offered us more. We were were delighted with the cottage. It is comfortable, cosy, beautifully furnished and very well equipped. The beds are extremely comfortable, the shower is great and all in all we made ourselves very much at home. The cottage offers lots of 'little touches' - milk, bread, an amazing array of teas, cereal, a selection of lotions and potions in the bathroom, and a supply of 'goodies' (wines, beers and confectionery) available with payment into an 'honesty' box. The only minor downside was the bathroom sink where there was a tendency to bang into the shelf above the sink - but not too much of a problem once we got used to it!

There are no convenient shops although Slaidburn does have a village store offering 'basics', and Clitheroe (about 6 miles away) has a good selection of supermarkets and independent shops . However there are several excellent eating places not too far away and the Parkers Arms in Newton can be recommended.

The owners are to be commended for the thought which has gone into ensuring that guests enjoy the School House cottage 'experience'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything
Liked least: Bathroom sink and shelf
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 8, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Feb 2016
Thanks so much for your review and we really look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing