We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good menu and wine list”
Review of Black Horse Tavern

Black Horse Tavern
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Bridgton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 19, 2016

I was not expecting to find this high quality of food choice this far up into Maine. I know that a lot of people vacation in the area, but still, wow! Really amazing quality, all done with unique twists. Even the meatloaf had a little special kick to it. I had the baked Haddock with Brie and Almonds special - terrific! Very complete wine list.

Only complaint was the noise. We did sit next to a large party who were drinking heavily, but the sound in general was a bit much to really fit the atmosphere of the menu, if that makes sense. It feels like a tavern, sounds like a tavern, the menu itself looks like a typical tavern, (laminated newsletter looking thing) but the offerings are more fine dining.

This place is extremely popular - for a reason. If we'd had more time we would have come back to try their lunches.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 199 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2016

There is a great selection on the menu, the service has always been outstanding. The wait staff is attentive but not overbearing. Prices are reasonable and the beer is cold.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

Nice spot for a family meal. Full bar, wide variety of food. Fried shrimp was great, ribs were a bit overcooked, and brie app was tasty. Service was excellent!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank ChristineEspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

We had just arrived in town and were hungry. I know from experience that Black Horse isn't great, but okay. No hard feelings because we got what was expected. Obviously they are doing something right or they would have closed.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank englewoodnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2016

This is a lovely restaurant that could be anywhere in America. Instead, it's in this quaint town in the Maine Lakes Region. Dependable and reliable food in an attractive atmosphere with an excellent bar program, large portions, and personable servers.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank caroltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Horse Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Black Horse Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing