We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
61
19
9
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
19
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit highland lake ping pong gladly stay here again conference room paddle boats new owners wonderful resort lake view summer camp row boat light sleeper exercise room stayed longer comfortable room coffee maker two nights
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 96 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Clean and comfortable room. Scenic views of Highland Lake. Boats available. Convenient to town center and great restaurants, area summer camps and winter activities. New cafe on site. Generous staff. Thanks, Carla!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joansbeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relax_Play, Highland Lake Resort Staff at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Thank you for the lovely review! Peace be with you!
Gratefully, Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2018

We were in the area visiting our son at Summer camp and decided to stay for a little mini-vacation. What a wonderful surprise we stumbled upon in the Highland Lake Resort! We stayed three nights and were sorry to leave as I cannot recall a more relaxing vacation. We love the simplicity the property offers - a beautiful Maine lake front, canoes, kayaks, paddle boards, a dock and pontoon for jumping and a perfectly positioned hammock. Add to that badminton, croquet and fire pits and we were in want of nothing.

Carla is amazing and has pulled together a warm and helpful crew to assist her. The room had all that we needed and we understood that updates are a work in progress as Carla and team are working to pull together this newly acquired property.

Not only did we enjoy the property as it is we were able to see Carla's vision for what it will be -her energy is great and she is a born care taker. When we shared that we were going to use one of the fire pits, she ran to the back room and supplied a full bag of marshmallows "you can't have a fire without marshmallows!" - making my 12 year old daughter standing at my side beam in agreement. Oh - and breakfast was outstanding. Outstanding. Great coffee and juices, Belgian waffles, paleo "cups", muffins, fresh fruit, cereals and a happy and helpful staff.

We will be back. Thank You Carla for your warmth and hospitality. We wish you every success!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relax_Play, Highland Lake Resort Staff at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Sarah,
Thank you for such a heart felt review. Our staff is truly amazing and make this beautiful place feel so special. We are privileged to care-take a space which allows people to have fun, relax and find a deeper sense of peace. Thank you again for your kind words and for staying with us!
Gratefully,
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2018

We are a retired couple traveling with our adult daughter. My husband has a serious illness and likes to rest up during the day while my daughter and I do our activities. The quiet spot by an attractive lake was ideal for him, but unfortunately none of the chairs in the room had cushions and he has trouble sitting on hard chairs. I asked the owner if she possibly had a chair with a cushion anywhere that he could use during the day, as we were booked to stay two nights and the furniture in the room and on the deck was quite uncomfortable for him. The response was the kindest imaginable. She moved a comfortable wing back chair that looked like it had come from someone's living room down to our room! Then late on the afternoon of the second day my husband began feeling very poorly and decided we should leave and head toward home where he had a medical appointment the next day. When I told her we were checking out early she wanted to refund our second night's stay -- I refused because we absolutely weren't leaving because of any fault of the resort. We had booked and paid for two nights on a weekend, Saturday and Sunday, and I would never have expected her generous offer of a refund when we left late on Sunday afternoon, but that is the type of personal attention provided at this establishment. The hammock by the lake was great, my daughter and I had fun in the paddleboat, and the breakfast was unbelievably good. Then, to make an enjoyable stay even more amazing, in our haste to get on the road we left our two phone chargers in the room and the next afternoon the owner called us to say she was putting them in the mail. The place is not a fancy resort with spacious facilities, but the hospitality is unbelievable. If you are looking for a glitzy resort, keep driving up to North Conway or down to the Portland area. If you want to get a taste of the "real" Maine and experience Maine the way it used to be, this place is an ideal spot on a scenic lake with a lot of character.

Room tip: Rooms along the front of the motel may experience some road noise.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank judgepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relax_Play, Highland Lake Resort Staff at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Thank you for the lovely review. You are spot on, we are not a "glitzy" resort, but a little lakeside jewel with a lot of love. Blessings to your husband and to you as you care for him. We were honored to host you and your family providing a space for you to connect and enjoy one another. Gratefully, Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

All of the staff were wonderful. They all went out of their way for every aspect of our stay from Recreation to food to cleanliness. All the rooms have a lake view. The rooms on the road Work surprisingly quiet. There is really no traffic at night and you don't hear anything except for in the morning when you want to wake up. They have beach towels exercise room Sonos movies books snacks kayaks canoes row boat paddle boards and all of those things don't require any additional charges. The breakfast was fantastic. But the best part was the personal service of Carla and the rest of her staff. Very kid friendly place. The rooms are older but being updated.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relax_Play, Highland Lake Resort Staff at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Thank you Mike - I agree the staff are wonderful - we are blessed! You are so thoughtful for writing such a thorough review.
Gratefully,
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018

Carla and her crew gave us some the BEST customer service that we have ever experienced. We were VERY impressed with EVERYTHING...the level of customer service, amenities and location. The breakfast was OUTSTANDING! We will DEFINITELY be back!!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relax_Play, Highland Lake Resort Staff at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

It was a pleasure serving you! Thank you for the awesome review!
Gratefully,
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews