We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, basic motel”
Review of Relax Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relax Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Reviewed 5 November 2017

The current owners have spent a lot of money to upgrade an old motel into an attractive no-frills place to stay. However, the rooms are very small, almost claustrophobic, although very clean and otherwise comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had to return the next day because we left an iPad in the room that we hoped was still there. It was, and the gentleman at the front desk was nice enough to help us check for it. You get what you pay for at this motel. Basic, but very acceptable.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martnlivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mepats, Manager at Relax Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you martnlivy for the feedback, we appreciate it. Glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable and it was a pleasure having you stay with us. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Rolled in here at 2:30 on a very busy Saturday and after a horrible treatment from across the street. Kiran Patel was gracious and welcoming. Upon learning their establishment had rooms ($25.00 cheaper too and breakfast) the whole check in was under 8 minutes and Kiran was more than happy to let us check in a tad before the actual check in. (3pm)
Thank you for going the distance.
Groundskeeper and house keeping were busy and it definitely shows!
Travel is a expense in itself and the room was clean ,affordable and centrally located in Brunswick
Convenience stores, McDonald's, Dunkins, Amato's , a diner within walking distance and a grocery store a 5 minute drive.
I give Kiran and his staff a 10+!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We had to book at the last minute due to a change in plans. We were concerned about some of the reviews, but hardly any rooms were left in the area and this was the least expensive left, at over $100 a night. The place looks old when you drive in, but our room 47 (upstairs) was clean, recently painted, updated fixtures, good reading lamps by the bed, refrigerator, table and chairs, correct number of linens, hairdryer, etc. All was good ...until we took showers, and the tub started to take on water. My husband's shower ended with the entire tub in standing water. It spoiled the experience, which had been good until then. We would probably stay here again and chance a better drainage situation, if again, it was the least expensive the town had to offer at the time..

Room Tip: 47 was updated, but tub had a drainage issue.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Thekansaspyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mepats, Manager at Relax Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you Thekansaspyet for the feedback, our entire staff appreciates it. Glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us although the backed up tub was not pleasant, we apologize for the inconvenience. We have since resolved the issue and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

I have never stayed in a more spotless place. People were friendly. Very comfortable room. I would not hesitate to stay again if I'm back in that area. The only down-side was that the breakfast was very limited. Would have been nice to have bananas (not just apples & oranges), more than one type of cereal, cream for the coffee (not just low fat milk).

Room Tip: Ask for down stairs to avoid the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

We booked in advance when we got there we didn't have a reservation. The website listed double rooms with kitchenettes. It also listed onsite laundry none of this was true. The desk clerk was very rude about where we could smoke. We stayed a week and half way thru it changed to a relax inn. I will never stay at either of them again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 101,194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Good place to stay right in the middle of town.We stayed Sept 3,4,5, and 6, 2016...it was just a few day get-away and well needed.We had a good bed ,clean room and good breakfast food,We just ate cereal and drank coffee and away we went for the day,came back at night had a hot bath ,cooked a little bit of food in micro wave in the room and went to bed in a comfortable bed and repeated the next day....we drove to Freeport and drove to N.H another day it was close by thats why we chose it....it turned out to be a little gem. We're going back this sept again to look at other parts of maine it is a good place to stay...we are from ns

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jamandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This modest motel was clean an quiet, supplied the promised amenities (micro/fridge) and the price was appropriate. It is well located to see the interesting sights in Brunswick and nearby areas: Maritime Museum, Androscoggin Swinging Bridge, the Colonial Pemaquid SHS and the ruins of Fort Popham.

Room Tip: 1st floor might be more convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMtheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.1 km away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#2 of 11 in Brunswick
261 reviews
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Brunswick
303 reviews
6.6 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 11 in Brunswick
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
14.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.7 km away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn

Address: 133 Pleasant St, Brunswick, ME 04011-2217 (Formerly Knights Inn Brunswick)
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Price Range: $73 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Relax Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at our Relax Inn hotel, count on all the essentials and great comfort. Located on Route 1, we are near Bowdoin College and minutes from popular area sites, including Popham Beach and Reid State Parks. Kick-start your morning with a free continental breakfast and stay in touch with loved ones using free WiFi. Each guest room offers a microwave and a mini-refrigerator, and our efficiency rooms with kitchenette and a work desk are ideal for extended stays. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Learn about legendary Civil War general and Bowdoin College president Joshua L. Chamberlain at the Chamberlain Museum. Visit the charming campus of Bowdoin College and its Museum of Art, and the Peary MacMillan Arctic Museum, which pays homage to early Arctic expeditions. Nearby Freeport is home to L.L. Bean and incredible outlet shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Relax Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Knights Inn
Relax Inn Brunswick, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing