We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“German food as good as it gets” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richard's Restaurant

Richard's Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 106 Restaurants in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Cuisines: American, German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A true family run restaurant. Old world ambiance from the classic German favorites playing on the stereo overhead to the large collection of bier steins hanging on the walls. The professional wait staff work hard to ensure a 5 star experience. the incredible selection of imported wines and biers will refresh even the weariest traveler. You will sit down to our famous pretzels and rolls aside Richard's Own secret recipe mustard. The best of all the scrumptious flavors of authentic German recipes brought direct from Mannheim and traditional American classics. From Schnitzel, sausages and Sauerbraten to the finest steaks, seafood and soups, you will find something that appeals to you. OOOH! The desserts too. These will be the perfect finish to your meal, IF you left any room. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“German food as good as it gets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

As soon as you step in the door you know you are in for a treat. The decore and smells lure you in. No regular American food on this menu, it has a decription for all of the dishes, as they are truly German Dishes. Also the German beers and wines are described to help you select. The food and drinks are excellent. Worth the drive, and you will want to go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELREVIEWER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    81
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
244 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Richard's serves German-American food and does a fine job. The decor is a bit dated, but the service is good and the food is tasty. They offer smaller servings for those with smaller appetites, which is a real plus. I love their Kalbsgeschnetzeltes - veal with mushroom cream sauce. Their dumplings are good, too. The restaurant is often crowded with people obviously enjoying themselves. The atmosphere is relaxed and happy.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank packedlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
170 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Old German American”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Poor service. Poor food, lack of clientele further contributes to the needs a facelift atmosphere. Needs an upgrade

Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pownal, ME
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good German food, set aside some time to enjoy your meal and company”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

We had lunch at Richard's restaurant in Brunswick Maine last week, I've been before and look forward to their good selection of beers and German cuisine, makes a nice break from the usual dining choices. The atmosphere is old world and the service is attentive but slow, we didn't mind, enjoyed the break but if your in a hurry this might not be the best place. The entree's are good as well as the side dishes, sauerkraut and potatoes stand out. There is a bar area with a good selection of European beers and wine specials. We did not have dessert but some of the choices looked good, linzertort, baked apple, and others.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JTBME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bring on the Schnitzel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

If you aren't familiar with German cuisine or you haven't had German food in awhile - go to Richard's. Authentic, delicious German food served at a hot, not lukewarm, temperature. I had goulash soup and schnitzel with paprika sauce with delicious red cabbage. The beer was very good too. The waitress was friendly and attentive. As I was on my own, I could hear the conversations at the 3 tables near me and each one commented to their partner how delicious their meal was.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelledtheworld81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Richard's Restaurant also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Richard's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing