We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innkeeping at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Ranked #11 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Granby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Innkeeping at its best!”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Oscar & Raymond, with their cultured European outlook, run one of the most exceptional inns in New England. The rooms and baths - appointed with fine luxurious touches and beautiful beds that invite wonderful intimacy. It's warm inviting hearth offers fun conversation smiles & laughter with newly made friends. The views of the glistening bay and sturdy Mount Battie, and ahhhh....Natalies, morning, afternoon or night, the toast of the town that offers delicate foods that one must always savor with one of the finest cocktails to be had in Maine.

This inn is a keeper and its phone number, one that should be stored in every gentleman's phone who wishes to treat his lady well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    37
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
254
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The stairs are narrow and steep and they do not have an elevator. The other negative is that we had a king bed that was so thick with a down mattress cover that our weight created a divider (and neither of us is obese). Did not enjoy that at all. Otherwise the bed & breakfast is beautiful, the location perfect, the rooms are clean with a modern decor, the staff are wonderful, and the food at Natalie's is first rate. We must have gone during peak season as the cost per night was considerbly higher than what I am seeing offered on Groupon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIcamden, Manager at Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for your recent review of Camden Harbour Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is through these opportunities that we can learn and improve our operation.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your guest room, our personalized lifestyle service and both your dinner and breakfast at our award winning dining facility Natalie's. I will make sure to share your compliments with our staff.

Regarding the stairs, the beautiful Victorian property was built in 1874 and the staircase is one of the historical highlights of the building. We decided not to remove or replace this original staircase as we provide complimentary bell captain service and it is only 14 short steps to the 2nd floor. In addition we have a beautiful room on the first floor available. For future reference please inform our innkeepers when you make a reservation about your immobility and we will make sure a suitable room will be reserved.

Most people enjoy our European 4inch feather beds proven the amount of feather beds we sell every year to our guests. However we are happy to remove the feather bed for your comfort. All our king-size beds are with a pillow top mattresses in addition to our feather bed, so very comfortable.

Again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to welcoming you back in the nearby future.
Sincerely
Raymond Brunyanszki
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2011

There are no words to describe to what extend the staff goes to accomodate their guests. Amazing location overlooking the bay and harbor. Rooms are stylish and luxurious with my favorite Molton Brown toiletries. Breakfast is sublime and the restaurant simply the best we have ever dined at. Camden Harbour Inn is a seperate class of inn's and can not be compared with anything else.

Room Tip: Curacoa room amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Camden Harbour Inn last weekend and there was a wow moment from the start. When we pulled up the house, Patty, the wonderful inn keeper was already walking down the stairs to help us with our bags. When we checked inn she said she didn't need my credit card and smiled and had staff lead us to our room....Wow factor....Our room was modern but quaint with a beautiful view of the harbor. There was a handwritten note with our names welcoming us...small details that really put a smile to your face.
Molton Brown amenities and tea, coffee and cookies in the fireplace area downstairs...Everything was decorated for Christmas and we really enjoyed reading by the fireplace, listening to beautiful Christmas music...
We did not dine at Natalie's as we wanted to get a taste of the town but we did have breakfast there the next morning and wow! From the baked bread, to the entree to the fruit smoothie, top notch...
I usually don't like to stay at hotels twice but we are already planning our visit to Camden Harbour Inn: this offers the luxury of a Four Seasons with the feeling and service of being at your favorite aunt's home...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCastle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Everything was simply perfect! When we arrived we were greeted at the car by a friendly guy who also assited us with the luggage. Check in took less than a minute and the luggage was already in the room when we arrived. The room was luxurious with the most comfortbale bed, a bathroom with a steam shower and Jacuzzi/soaking tub and Molton Brown amenities, my favorite! A seperate living room, gas fireplace, coffee maker and two large flat screen tv's with DVD players...my husband was in heaven (so much for romance right???). Besides all the luxury, the service is what strikes most. From housekeeping to the innkeepers, everybody seems to be super commited to provide you with personalized and flawless service. For instance after you enjoyed your breakfast the room was already attended by housekeeping and in the evening, after you had dinner, the room was transformed in a cozy retreat with a faux fireplace on your flatscreen TV, chocolates on your bed and bottled water with a glass on your nightstand. As reviewers commented on before, staff is leaving you personalized notes, whising you a good night sleep, or housekeeping informing you that they servised your room..and always accompanied with a gift. The people at Camden Harbour Inn elevated service to a complete new level, not only at the inn, but also at the restaurant. Breakfast is the best we ever had anywhere and during the day we enjoyed cookies and cake in the lounge in addition to a champagne. All included and part of the ongoing pampering. This was the first time we spend a few days in our home-state and in our wildest dreams we would not have thought it would be one of the best experiences ever. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amsterdam Suite. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whites514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIcamden, Owner at Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Camden Harbour Inn in beautiful Camden Maine. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Raymond Brunyanszki
Camden Harbour Inn
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My hubby surprised me with a long weekend at Camden Harbor Inn & I was very surprised at the level of detail and luxury I found there. The front desk staff members were all very helpful & courteous. Our room was complete with every amenity one could ask for-from heated marble floors in the bathroom to a Keurig coffee maker complete w/an array of beverage options. The bed was very comfy, which was important to me because I'm 5 months pregnant. The gas fireplace was a nice touch to the elegant & luxurious feel. My only complaint would be that our room was located near a busy ramp in the hall and we heard every creak of the floors, but this was only a minor disturbance. The living room and main areas had hardwood floors and the bedroom was carpeted (they thought of everything). The views from the room were great. There were lots of boutique shops within walking distance as well as several restaurants. I cannot wait to visit again soon.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe suite. We were in room 8, which was a little close to a ramp so maybe choose a dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIcamden, Owner at Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Camden Harbour Inn in beautiful Camden Maine. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our innl and staff.


We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Raymond Brunyanszki
Camden Harbour Inn
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
410 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Everything was perfect from beginning to end: service, amenities, room, bar. We immediately felt at home. The bed in Deshima was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. The view from the second floor room of the harbor and Mt. Battie was wonderful. I appreciated the little touches like the special seasonal decor all around the inn. Just gorgeous - these folks take pride in their business. Even though the stairs are very steep, there was someone there to help us with the luggage. Breakfast each morning was delicious with something for everyone. We went after leaf peeping season when the rates were more reasonable, and were not disappointed in the wait. We did not eat in the restaurant because the menu was not light enough for our taste, but the bar menu solved the issue - and a good bar it is. The only drawback is the very small bathroom, but that is to be expected in an old building.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.4 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
365 reviews
0.4 km away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
127 reviews
0.6 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
1.2 km away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
150 reviews
10.0 km away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn

Property: Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Address: 83 Bayview St, Camden, ME 04843-2204
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais and Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn is a AAA Four Diamond property, resting on the picturesque coast of Maine. The hotel features panoramic views of the mountains and harbor, creating the perfect setting for your next New England getaway. The recently remodeled boutique hotel features luxurious guest rooms and suites, stunning views, and a restaurant awarded top 100 in America preparing amazing dishes, you'll never want to leave! Just minutes from the harbor landing in the center of town, the Inn is Camden's most luxurious boutique lodging location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Harbour Hotel Camden
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing