We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
85
26
8
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
26
8
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade sconesfresh fruitlight breakfastcorner king roomfellow travelersfriendly hostsstate parkwould stay againrooms are cleaneach morningmaine coastjennymotelporchaccommodationscurtainsfridge
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 121 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Although street noise was a bit more than we wanted, the accommodations were terrific. The bed was very comfortable, and basic needs met -- fridge, tv, clean and eco friendly. Location was wonderful with Mt. Battie nearby, as well as golf and beautiful harbor towns. We preferred the restaurants in Lincolnville just up the road as it is quieter than Camden; we are not into crowds. The owner made us feel right at home. We enjoyed the comfy gathering place for coffee, scones, and fresh fruit each morning in the "big house." We met lovely fellow travelers there. We also enjoyed walking through her gardens in the back. It was a lovely visit.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the "big house" have a better view. We were at the far end and could still get a glimpse of the water.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BeccaPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchwoodmotel, Owner at Birchwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a fair review and for choosing our place for your time in the Camden area. Daytime traffic is there, but our place is set back quite a bit from Route One, which really does significantly quiet down come nightfall. But yes, we are a roadside place. Thank you for appreciating our attention to detail. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017

A friend and I decided to do a ME trip and found this cute place to stay. The rooms were the perfect size and nicely decorated. The grounds were fun to walk around when we got there. There is a green house and lots of fruits and vegetables and a big red barn. The staff was super friendly and the scones in the morning were delicious. Although it is not directly in the center of town, it is only a quick drive to all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alopez14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchwoodmotel, Owner at Birchwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for choosing our small family owned and operated lodge and farmette, Birchwood, for your stay in Camden, Maine. Our aim is to honor the land by keeping our place simple, friendly and wicked clean. We're so glad you found it to be so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

We originally booked this because of Jenny & Eric's 'green' approach. No carpets, no microwave. Fridge is extra. They have ice cubes ready for guests in the lounge freezer. They are 5 min drive to Camden Main St. You're welcome to keep your own ice packs in there or borrow some for a day out. Rooms are clean, sufficient with amenities needed. The a/c worked great. The curtains could be a bit shorter to allow the air to flow freely cause the bathroom door opens in that area too. Some additional hooks for hanging things may be helpful. Light breakfast...scones, coffee/tea/juice, fresh fruit...which you can enjoy in the lounge or outside your room on the table/chair set. Beautiful view from Rms 1 & 2. They have a beautiful flowers/veggie garden, chickens & a new outdoor pizza oven. Hopefully we can enjoy it when we come back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank auntie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchwoodmotel, Owner at Birchwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Thank you for writing a kind review and for choosing family-owned and operated Birchwood for your stay in Camden, Maine. We appreciate you noticing the effort taken to keep things fresh and simple. And you are right, you can never have enough hooks, so we're working that upgrade and will also take a look at the curtains!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2017 via mobile

My best friend and I were looking for a place to stay on the Maine coast that was out-of-the-ordinary. Birchwood Lodge & Farmette fit the bill. We chose to stay in the cottage on the property, and it was a perfect fit for us. As you approach the cottage, you are overwhelmed with the sight of a lush flower garden framing the stone path to the deck. The deck is fitted with an outdoor dining set, which is perfect for enjoying wine and cheese as you watch the goings-on at the bay across the road. As you enter the front door, you notice that the cottage is appointed with simple, comfortable furniture. The open concept kitchenette/living area features an apartment-sized refrigerator/freezer, toaster oven, microwave, coffee maker, double sinks, and a two-burner electric cooktop. The cabinets are nicely-equipped with cookware, utensils, and dishware. There is a small dining table, two comfy chairs and a love seat that faces the flatscreen TV mounted on the wall. The bathroom is tight, but it features a full bath tub with a shower. The sleeping area contains two full-sized beds with crisp, white linens. There is a combination TV/DVD player located in the sleeping area, which was perfect for watching an old movie as we went to sleep. The cottage was extremely clean, and if you open all the windows to allow in the breezes from the bay that will just add to the charm. The working farmette is beautifully landscaped and maintained. The owners, Eric & Jenny, take extreme pride in their little piece of heaven, and it shows. They are wonderfully excited to tell you about the local area, and they are always available to answer any questions you may have. In the mornings, Jenny lays out a lovely spread of her freshly-baked scones (we were privy to wild Maine blueberry, as well as rhubarb strawberry), freshly-cut fruit, and delicious fair trade organic coffee. The entire experience felt like home, and we were so relaxed in this environment. I highly recommend Birchwood for your next stay near Camden, Maine.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchwoodmotel, Owner at Birchwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind, thoughtful, flattering review -- we blush with pride! The cottage is a sweet cozy place. We're so glad you enjoyed our place and your time in Camden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2017

We had the corner king room. Lots of room, very clean and all we needed and more. Also had great breakfast coffee, scones, fruit and juice. We had a nice tour of the gardens and enjoyed talking to the owners.

Room Tip: The cottage sits back farther and is quieter. Room one (corner king) is closest to the office, so gets a bit more traffic.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank suz_brown99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchwoodmotel, Owner at Birchwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us. If guests are interested, we love chatting about the garden, our place and the area. While we do keep the light breakfast very simple we are glad you appreciated the scones and coffee – always organic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews