We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our Needs”
Review of Birchwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birchwood Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We had a quick turn-around work weekend and were looking for a reasonably priced place to sleep. Birchwood Lodge was certainly reasonably priced, and went further. The room was impeccably clean and comfortable, and very pleasant to stay in. The simple decor and clean lines really appealed to us, and added to the restful air. The Maine-made mattress and bedding were SO comfy, I had my best night sleep in awhile (seriously). There was a beautiful garden view from the bathroom, and I liked that this was a family-run small business, with owners who live on premises. I would definitely recommend Birchwood Lodge for a couple of people looking to be out and about most of the time, enjoying all the Midcoast has to offer, and I will certainly look to stay here again. The breakfast scones were the best I've ever had!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andbar20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchwoodmotel, Owner at Birchwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and kind review and for choosing to stay with us during your time in Camden. Yes, this is both our home, our garden and our business. While we don't offer a lot in terms of amenities, what we do offer we like to be simple, local, wholesome and clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

Although street noise was a bit more than we wanted, the accommodations were terrific. The bed was very comfortable, and basic needs met -- fridge, tv, clean and eco friendly. Location was wonderful with Mt. Battie nearby, as well as golf and beautiful harbor towns. We preferred the restaurants in Lincolnville just up the road as it is quieter than Camden; we are not into crowds. The owner made us feel right at home. We enjoyed the comfy gathering place for coffee, scones, and fresh fruit each morning in the "big house." We met lovely fellow travelers there. We also enjoyed walking through her gardens in the back. It was a lovely visit.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the "big house" have a better view. We were at the far end and could s...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BeccaPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchwoodmotel, Owner at Birchwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a fair review and for choosing our place for your time in the Camden area. Daytime traffic is there, but our place is set back quite a bit from Route One, which really does significantly quiet down come nightfall. But yes, we are a roadside place. Thank you for appreciating our attention to detail. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

A friend and I decided to do a ME trip and found this cute place to stay. The rooms were the perfect size and nicely decorated. The grounds were fun to walk around when we got there. There is a green house and lots of fruits and vegetables and a big red barn. The staff was super friendly and the scones in the morning were delicious. Although it is not directly in the center of town, it is only a quick drive to all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alopez14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchwoodmotel, Owner at Birchwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for choosing our small family owned and operated lodge and farmette, Birchwood, for your stay in Camden, Maine. Our aim is to honor the land by keeping our place simple, friendly and wicked clean. We're so glad you found it to be so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We originally booked this because of Jenny & Eric's 'green' approach. No carpets, no microwave. Fridge is extra. They have ice cubes ready for guests in the lounge freezer. They are 5 min drive to Camden Main St. You're welcome to keep your own ice packs in there or borrow some for a day out. Rooms are clean, sufficient with amenities needed. The a/c worked great. The curtains could be a bit shorter to allow the air to flow freely cause the bathroom door opens in that area too. Some additional hooks for hanging things may be helpful. Light breakfast...scones, coffee/tea/juice, fresh fruit...which you can enjoy in the lounge or outside your room on the table/chair set. Beautiful view from Rms 1 & 2. They have a beautiful flowers/veggie garden, chickens & a new outdoor pizza oven. Hopefully we can enjoy it when we come back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank auntie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchwoodmotel, Owner at Birchwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for writing a kind review and for choosing family-owned and operated Birchwood for your stay in Camden, Maine. We appreciate you noticing the effort taken to keep things fresh and simple. And you are right, you can never have enough hooks, so we're working that upgrade and will also take a look at the curtains!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

My best friend and I were looking for a place to stay on the Maine coast that was out-of-the-ordinary. Birchwood Lodge & Farmette fit the bill. We chose to stay in the cottage on the property, and it was a perfect fit for us. As you approach the cottage, you are overwhelmed with the sight of a lush flower garden framing the stone path to the deck. The deck is fitted with an outdoor dining set, which is perfect for enjoying wine and cheese as you watch the goings-on at the bay across the road. As you enter the front door, you notice that the cottage is appointed with simple, comfortable furniture. The open concept kitchenette/living area features an apartment-sized refrigerator/freezer, toaster oven, microwave, coffee maker, double sinks, and a two-burner electric cooktop. The cabinets are nicely-equipped with cookware, utensils, and dishware. There is a small dining table, two comfy chairs and a love seat that faces the flatscreen TV mounted on the wall. The bathroom is tight, but it features a full bath tub with a shower. The sleeping area contains two full-sized beds with crisp, white linens. There is a combination TV/DVD player located in the sleeping area, which was perfect for watching an old movie as we went to sleep. The cottage was extremely clean, and if you open all the windows to allow in the breezes from the bay that will just add to the charm. The working farmette is beautifully landscaped and maintained. The owners, Eric & Jenny, take extreme pride in their little piece of heaven, and it shows. They are wonderfully excited to tell you about the local area, and they are always available to answer any questions you may have. In the mornings, Jenny lays out a lovely spread of her freshly-baked scones (we were privy to wild Maine blueberry, as well as rhubarb strawberry), freshly-cut fruit, and delicious fair trade organic coffee. The entire experience felt like home, and we were so relaxed in this environment. I highly recommend Birchwood for your next stay near Camden, Maine.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchwoodmotel, Owner at Birchwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind, thoughtful, flattering review -- we blush with pride! The cottage is a sweet cozy place. We're so glad you enjoyed our place and your time in Camden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We had the corner king room. Lots of room, very clean and all we needed and more. Also had great breakfast coffee, scones, fruit and juice. We had a nice tour of the gardens and enjoyed talking to the owners.

Room Tip: The cottage sits back farther and is quieter. Room one (corner king) is closest to the office, so ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank suz_brown99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchwoodmotel, Owner at Birchwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us. If guests are interested, we love chatting about the garden, our place and the area. While we do keep the light breakfast very simple we are glad you appreciated the scones and coffee – always organic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

This little spot is such a well cared-for and clean place. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom clean, the decor bright and not fussy, and very quiet. Don't be fooled by the outside - these owners have done a fabulous converting an old-fashioned motel into modern lodging. The continental breakfast was charming, pottery mugs, blueberry scones and fruit. I'd definitely stay again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank newfound721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
4.6 km away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
178 reviews
4.5 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
647 reviews
1.9 km away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
180 reviews
4.6 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
396 reviews
6.3 km away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Lodge

Address: 530 Belfast Rd, Camden, ME 04843-4522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room is water view at unique solar-powered Birchwood Lodge and Farmette - an adorable roadside eco inn on Coastal Route One in charming Camden, Maine with clean simple accommodations that are more like European-style guest rooms or an agricultural bed and breakfast than the other motels, hotels or inns of Camden and Midcoast Maine. Set across the road from Penobscot Bay amid our lush gardens. Located just 2.5 miles north of Camden's downtown harbor district. Offering guest rooms, cottage and a two bedroom vacation apartment. Light continental breakfast of organic coffee and teas, fresh fruit, juice, and a wholesome homemade scones made with organic ingredients, fruit and eggs raised right here at Birchwood is offered each morning in our spacious common area. Clean, green and uniquely Camden, Maine. What more do you really need? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Camden
Birchwood Motel Camden
Birchwood Lodge Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing