We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Weekend”
Review of Belmont Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belmont Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We spent a fantastic 3 nights at the Belmont Inn. The B&B definitely lived up to its reputation as one of Camden's finest. It was a pleasure just sitting on the porch during the afternoon, watching the leaves on the Katsura turn, reading books and reflecting on our marriage. Anita prepared exceptional breakfasts, was extremely knowledgeable about the area, and connected to all of Camden's offerings. She helped put the icing on the cake of our weekend by arranging a sunset schooner ride over the Penobscot. It was indeed a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornellCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

We loved our one night stay here! The owner Anita couldn't have been nicer. The inn is immaculate and the breakfast was delicious. Perfectly situated a few easy walking blocks from town, the short time we stayed here could have only been better with more sun and less clouds! This was unfortunately out of Anita's control. We got real lucky in not only choosing to stay in this charming and quaint seaport but also had the good fortune of reading all of the other positive reviews on trip advisor before deciding to come. We would love to come back in the summer and hope to one day.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at the Belmont Inn while in town for the film festival. Anita is a great hostess who greeted us with a warm welcome which continued through the weekend. The place is immaculate and the breakfasts were exceptional. Anita had a full house this weekend (6 couples) and she managed to spend time with everyone, determining their interests and offering advice on things to see and places to eat. We found her assessment of various area restaurants and items of interest to be right on target. On the second day of our stay, Anita's morning help called in sick but you would never have known it as Anita produced an equally magnificent breakfast with no delay. Anita tries to create a great experience for her guests and is very successful. You will want to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dez36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed four nights in August and appreciated just about everything there.
1) the best food we'd been offered in our 12 weeks in the US
2) elegant surroundings - bedrooms, lounge, dining and outside garden/ veranda
3) warm and gracious hostess - ever ready to offer helpful advice
4) good location close to the centre of town but not busy
5) clean
Anita has done an amazing job in the way she has developed the place and the way she provides for guests. We appreciated such a welcome respite from hotel accommodation.

Room Tip: Our attic room was quiet spacious with views on three sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We spent one night at the Belmont Inn on a 5-day trip up the Maine Coast. It would be hard to imagine a better place to stay from every point of view: quiet location (but easy walking distance to shops and restaurants), plenty of off-street parking, delightful house, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated rooms (ours was "Country Charm"), delicious breakfast, etc., etc. Anita Zeno looked after us superbly well and we left the following morning for Bar Harbour and Acadia National Park equipped with a list of her recommendations of points of interest to visit along the way.

We would love to make a return visit. There is clearly a lot to see and do in the area and next time we would use Camden and the Belmont Inn as a base for a longer, more relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

After reading all the great reviews about this B&B Inn my wife and I decided to spend one night. Anita despite all the glowing reports on how nice she is was nothing but RUDE, ARROGANT, CONDESCENDING, to my wife and I. What a disappointment!!!!!!!!!! We will never come back to the Belmont Inn. It is too bad because the Inn is actually very nice. An example of how bad we were treated was when my wife and I let Anita know that her indoor cat was clawing at the furniture she became very upset with us for not stopping the cat from clawing her precious furniture. It wasn't our place to stop the cat, and further more why didn't
she have the cat d-clawed. Also, we found Anita rude and condescending when we tried to ask questions about Camden. A note on Camden. It is worth coming to visit just don't stay at the Belmont Inn. There are better options for lodging.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LMotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Anita is a gracious host, and the inn is lovely. Breakfast was amazing: berries and peaches baked in warm cream; frittata with potatoes, asparagus and roasted sweet cherry tomatoes from her garden next to the house. My husband and I stayed in the cozy and tastefully-decorated St. Vincent Millay room. We appreciate Anita's great dinner suggestion, Bistro Francine, and her sightseeing advice was fantastic. The inn has plenty of parking, and is just a few minutes' walk to town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.4 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
647 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
396 reviews
0.9 km away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
0.7 km away
Hawthorn Inn
Hawthorn Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
375 reviews
0.7 km away
Camden Windward House
Camden Windward House
#4 of 19 in Camden
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Inn

Address: 6 Belmont Ave, Camden, ME 04843-2029
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: $199 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and comfortably elegant, this 1891 Victorian has lovely wraparound porches, wood burning fireplaces and colorful perennial gardens. From soft, fluffy towels and freshly ironed quality bed linens, to soft music, fresh flowers from the garden, a glass of wine on the porch and a full made-from-scratch breakfast, the Belmont Inn offers treats for all the senses. In the heart of Camden village, one quiet block off of busy Route 1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Belmont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing