We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,492)
Filter reviews
2,492 results
Traveller rating
1,639
467
228
96
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,639
467
228
96
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster shack beautiful resort fire pit breathtaking views family pool the outdoor hot tub coffee station movie theater nautical theme main restaurant perkins cove get away new england overlooking the ocean long weekend off season tiller
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
746 - 751 of 2,492 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2019

We loved the setting and atmosphere of Cliff House. The service both in our rooms and in the restaurants and throughout was superb. The views were magnificent in all the different weather we experienced during our stay. The menu was creative and the food was very, very delicious and presented beautifully. The music on the weekend was also wonderful, and we loved the fires - both inside and out - and we loved being able to just sit in the blue chairs by the huge windows and watch the ocean and the rocks and the waterfowl. We truly loved the outside hot tub. We also appreciated the kindness and understanding of the staff towards our three grandchildren who were not always as quiet or as neat as we all would have hoped.

On the more negative side, we thought our rooms in the Cliffscape section of the hotel on the fifth floor did not have enough lighting in the evenings. There was no overall lighting in the room, and the lighting was not bright enough by the little round table. The little round table was also too small - not big enough for a good puzzle or game of cards. It seemed also too small for the large chairs with it, even though it seemed as if there was the space to accommodate a larger table that would be more functional. Also the lighting in the toilet/shower area was very dim, and the shower water pressure was low. We expected fruit and soda water at the welcome station on our floor, but there was never any fruit nor did the soda water feature work.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Trail46934285222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2019

Great time. Beautiful room and views. Great service and amenities. Food and staff were superb. A perfect winter getaway. Nice and quiet. Great for an early morning swim. Fantastic indoor pool and huge hot tub outside

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnmE2301VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crew207, Manager at Cliff House Maine, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Dear johnmE2301VE ,

Thank you very much for your recent review of Cliff House, Maine on Tripadvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our accommodations, great service, and high quality dining experience. But most of all thank you for commenting on our unique winter getaway experience. We are also delighted to read that you enjoyed the winter months here at Cliff House! Thank you again for taking the time to share your review of Cliff House, Maine. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the future. Sincerely, Richard Carroll, CMP Director of Sales and Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2019

Unfortunately the lack of food & beverage service, refusal to replace room lotions, gels & soaps, etc. made us feel like we overpaid. The website advertised a discount on food & beverage but upon arrival were told it didn't apply to our rate.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Esther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2019

Fantastic hotel that exceeded our expectations. Especially to entertain kids in the winter when I would say it’s a summer destination. Very clean, new and tastefully designed. The only negative in my opinion would be the restaurants. They are designed well and look nice, but the menus were limited and the food was overpriced and not all that great. Not what I was expecting based on how great everything else was. I wouldn’t choose to eat there if I wasn’t already staying at the resort.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2019

We couldn’t have asked for a better girls trip weekend. Everyone was very nice and amenities are fantastic. Beds are so comfy one has a hard time getting out of them. We topped off the weekend with amazing massages in the beautiful spa.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sunshine52701167082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews