We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.comUS$112
eDreamsUS$112
PricelineUS$112
TripadvisorUS$112
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
23
7
3
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
23
7
3
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hikers hostel resupply laundry trail restocked shuttle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 38 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2017

We stayed at the Sterling Inn after we could not reach our other destination because of time.We saw it from the road and decided to give it a try ,although we thought it might be expensive because of the great Victorian look of it.So we asked and were very happily surprised about the cost of the room.
It was a comfortable and very pleasant room with 2 shared ,excellent bathrooms very close by in the hall.Wonderful breakfast and service.We would recommend it to anyone who likes to be in a property that is different and quaint but with all the modern amenities and great people.

Room tip: All the rooms are a good choice,but if you like a quieter room you might try to be a little further from the shared living room.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yolan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

The rooms were done in good taste. Pleasant eclectic style with a mix of elegant new and antique and fun art work. We have no problem with shared bathrooms. And the community conversations are something that we enjoy. The breakfast is not fancy but there were a lot of good choices. The owner, Eric, was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. They have restock supplies for hikers that are passing through. We will definitely be back again.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0lly_W00ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

I had reserved one night for a break during a planned 75-mile section hike. However rain slowed down my expected arrival by a day and prompted me to stay two nights. My room (Pleasant Pond) was lovely, the bath right next door, laundry is gratis and the staff is very friendly and helpful – with gratis shuttles to local eating establishments. Breakfast was self-serve but perfectly adequate. Many A.T. hikers, thru and section, so lots of interesting conversations. Eric, the owner, has lots of good insights and tips. I'll be back next year, for sure.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2017

Recent renovations to this historic building made it a nice place to spend time.
There's a great wrap around porch where you can hang out with the other guests at the end of the day or go to the Great Room if you want an indoor location to relax, watch TV, or use the computer. When it's time to get some sleep our room was comfortable, clean and well done. And even though bathroom access was from the hall you can lock the door and not have to share it. The "help yourself" breakfast was a good way to start a new day with cereal, fruit, muffins, toast, and most important, plenty of coffee. My wife and I agree that stopping at the Sterling Inn was a good choice even though we didn't have a reservation there. They even offered us a better room, at a better price, when someone who had already reserved it canceled at the last minute. Service doesn't get much better than that!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pa76ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile

We needed an overnight stop travelling north to Canada. Choice is limited in this area but we cannot find any reason to recommend this hotel.

The website does say bathrooms are shared but we tried to secure a room with private bath. They don't exist, you have to carry everything you need and hunt for a free one. The host explained this was not a problem as they have six bathrooms and it was just what they did in Europe (maybe in the 70s). In addition you may also find other people's discarded wet towels and toiletries in these small rooms.

Overall the hotel is very tired and dated, rooms are small. The bedroom walls are very thin allowing you to hear other residents snoring, upstairs lounge tv sound and the heating boiler very clearly.

We didn't eat breakfast, the fruit on offer was also very tired, we just decided enough was enough and headed north.

If you need to stop over on route there is more choice of lodgings in Jacksonville or better still cross the border into Canada (very easy) where everything changes.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Koolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erica493, Owner at The Sterling Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2017

I wish this guest had spoken to us before leaving this review, which I don't feel accurately describes our 200 year-old inn. As the guest wrote, everything was described to them when they made their reservation. If they had not liked it upon arrival, we would gladly have permitted them to move on without registering. Other reviews present a more realistic depiction of the typical guests' reactions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews