We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.comUS$112
TripadvisorUS$112
FindHotel
eDreamsUS$112
PricelineUS$112
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
23
7
3
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
23
7
3
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hikers hostel resupply laundry trail restocked shuttle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 38 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2018

We were en route from Campobello to Quebec. Did not expect to find much midway.
What a pleasant surprise. The Sterling Inn is a jewel. We did not realize we did not have a private bath until after we had paid, but it turned out to be absolutely fine. They have thought of everything, lots of individual soaps, cups, and towels where you need them in a spotless bathroom, right across from our bedroom with an excellent kingsize bed. We had spent the night before in a 'quaint' old B&B which was much more expensive. I would take the Sterling Inn over it any day! We had been on the road for a week and a half and the free laundry was very much appreciated. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful and we had wonderful conversation with the owner. Not sure when we will be going that way again, but I would go out of my way to stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erica493, Owner at The Sterling Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Thank you for your kind words. We really do attempt to treat each guest as a special friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2018

Eric and Zach (owner and son) were extremely welcoming and helpful. Both of them were full of knowledge about the surrounding area both current and historical. We stayed in the king size bedroom which was super clean and plush, we slept great. Laundry was free and they also had a fully stocked resupply store for our hiking needs. The shared bathrooms were spotless and there was both indoor and outdoor relaxation areas. We were offered a free shuttle to/fro local eateries as well as back to the AT trailhead the next morning. Breakfast was great, mostly a wide variety of cereals, breads, boiled eggs, and fruit. Perfect for us! The Inn is about a mile or away from the AT trailhead, but if you call and arrange I am sure Eric or Zach would try to accommodate a shuttle for you. We walked from the AT to Sterling Inn, then Eric gave us a ride back the next morning.

Room tip: The king size bed was extremely comfortable.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOM F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

Very clean rooms, shared bathrooms also kept very clean. Common area pleasant, breakfast good. Location for paddling/hiking is excellent. Reasonably priced, proprietors reserved but friendly. Lovely porch.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2017

We stayed at the Sterling Inn after we could not reach our other destination because of time.We saw it from the road and decided to give it a try ,although we thought it might be expensive because of the great Victorian look of it.So we asked and were very happily surprised about the cost of the room.
It was a comfortable and very pleasant room with 2 shared ,excellent bathrooms very close by in the hall.Wonderful breakfast and service.We would recommend it to anyone who likes to be in a property that is different and quaint but with all the modern amenities and great people.

Room tip: All the rooms are a good choice,but if you like a quieter room you might try to be a little further from the shared living room.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yolan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

The rooms were done in good taste. Pleasant eclectic style with a mix of elegant new and antique and fun art work. We have no problem with shared bathrooms. And the community conversations are something that we enjoy. The breakfast is not fancy but there were a lot of good choices. The owner, Eric, was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. They have restock supplies for hikers that are passing through. We will definitely be back again.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0lly_W00ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews