We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$112
View deal
eDreams
Booking.com
Agoda.comUS$112
PricelineUS$112
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
23
7
3
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
23
7
3
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hikers zach hostel resupply laundry trail restocked shuttle accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 38 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2018

My gf and I stayed a night here when we thru-hiked the AT, and the two guys running this place absolutely bent over backwards for us. It was storming outside and we first went into the little hostel place just off the trail, and fortunately for us they were out of rooms. Someone from Sterling came over and picked us up and brought us back to the hotel, and they were super nice and accommodating though we were soaked and smelly from hiking. After we washed up they drove us down the road to a restaurant, and they came back and picked us up after we were done! The price was super affordable too, only $64 all included! That's probably about the cost of 2 people staying in an average crummy hostel. BTW the room was super nice, clean, and cozy, and the common area was too. One of the best places on the trail, stay here!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew121118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2018

We stayed in the Sterling for 3 nights in October, each day hiking a section of the Appalachian Trail and returning at night. The innkeeper Eric and his son Zach were great. Not only did they provide a wealth of information and shuttle us to two of our hikes (for a reasonable fee), but Eric cared enough to come to our room in the evening to make sure we were aware of a change in the next day's weather forecast. The Inn is scrupulously clean. The included breakfast offerings are plentiful, if simple, and good fuel for hikers: home-baked blueberry muffins; fresh fruits; hard-boiled eggs; yogurt; a selection of teas, juices, and coffee; 4 breakfast cereals; and a wide selection of store-bought breads, bagels, and English muffins to put in the nearby toaster. The Sterling caters to Appalachian Trail through-hikers and section hikers, but welcomes other travelers, too. The rooms range in size and price; we had a large bed with a firm, comfortable mattress. There are no private baths but there are enough bathrooms scattered around the Inn that we never had to wait. There is a commons room with large-screen TV, cable service, DVD player and a library of videos, microwave oven, and a shared refrigerator in which guests can leave food. Hikers will find the Sterling stocks an ample selection of trail foods, snacks, stove fuel canisters, and gear to replace/restock as needed. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnochWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erica493, Owner at The Sterling Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Thanks for your kind words;
--Eric and Zach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Caratunk’s 200 year old Sterling Inn is a must-stop place to stay. Rich, the Inn’s proprietor is a wealth of info whether it’s the Appalachian Trail, local restaurants or the unique history of the Inn. His rates can’t be beat and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

For hikers there are free showers and laundry, breakfast included with room rate and phenomenal resupply.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018

We were en route from Campobello to Quebec. Did not expect to find much midway.
What a pleasant surprise. The Sterling Inn is a jewel. We did not realize we did not have a private bath until after we had paid, but it turned out to be absolutely fine. They have thought of everything, lots of individual soaps, cups, and towels where you need them in a spotless bathroom, right across from our bedroom with an excellent kingsize bed. We had spent the night before in a 'quaint' old B&B which was much more expensive. I would take the Sterling Inn over it any day! We had been on the road for a week and a half and the free laundry was very much appreciated. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful and we had wonderful conversation with the owner. Not sure when we will be going that way again, but I would go out of my way to stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erica493, Owner at The Sterling Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Thank you for your kind words. We really do attempt to treat each guest as a special friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2018

Eric and Zach (owner and son) were extremely welcoming and helpful. Both of them were full of knowledge about the surrounding area both current and historical. We stayed in the king size bedroom which was super clean and plush, we slept great. Laundry was free and they also had a fully stocked resupply store for our hiking needs. The shared bathrooms were spotless and there was both indoor and outdoor relaxation areas. We were offered a free shuttle to/fro local eateries as well as back to the AT trailhead the next morning. Breakfast was great, mostly a wide variety of cereals, breads, boiled eggs, and fruit. Perfect for us! The Inn is about a mile or away from the AT trailhead, but if you call and arrange I am sure Eric or Zach would try to accommodate a shuttle for you. We walked from the AT to Sterling Inn, then Eric gave us a ride back the next morning.

Room tip: The king size bed was extremely comfortable.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOM F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews