We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.comUS$112
eDreamsUS$112
PricelineUS$112
TripadvisorUS$112
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
23
7
3
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
23
7
3
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hikers hostel resupply laundry trail restocked shuttle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 38 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2019

Stayed 2 nights for a rafting trip and rooms and shared bathrooms were very clean. OK breakfast. Has a nice rap around porch with chairs and tables to hang out on. Location is good for short ride to rafting companies. Staff very friendly

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Butch g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2019

Breakfast had lots of choices. Plenty to eat. Easy access to AT. Very helpful shuttle. Lovely rooms, very clean. Convenient showers at end of week of backpacking, even though we didn't stay night then (only in the beginning of the week).

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2019

I stayed here for two nights in March while snowmobiling, it should be noted that you can ride directly from the Inn parking lot to the main corridor trails including gas at Northern Outdoors or the Forks area, which is a big plus.

Also, (and probably unrelated to most aspiring future guests), I have an elderly Yellow Lab, and it is very difficult to board him because of his age, and mobility, so it makes getting away difficult. I saw that Dogs are welcome (obviously with some common sense) and Eric and Zach were wonderful, even taking time out of their day to let him out and walk him. It literally saved my weekend since my Sister cancelled dog sitting at the last minute to look at Colleges for my Niece. :( Cooper made many new friends during his stay at the Sterling Inn, and learned at 13 he can still get up and down a flight of stairs with a Milk bone treat for motivation!

Aside: The Inn is clean and feels like home. There is a common recreation room upstairs with a wood stove, an LCD TV, a refrigerator, and a stairwell that leads to an outdoor barbecue. The rooms are cozy. There is plenty of parking outside, and it is easy to move trailers around. The dining room is clean and expansive and includes a piano, with a large wrap around deck overlooking 201. There are many historic pictures on the tables of the Inn taken over the many years it has served the area. It's like going back in time, but not completely. They also happen to have great wi-fi and accept credit cards!

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Snowcat2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2018

My gf and I stayed a night here when we thru-hiked the AT, and the two guys running this place absolutely bent over backwards for us. It was storming outside and we first went into the little hostel place just off the trail, and fortunately for us they were out of rooms. Someone from Sterling came over and picked us up and brought us back to the hotel, and they were super nice and accommodating though we were soaked and smelly from hiking. After we washed up they drove us down the road to a restaurant, and they came back and picked us up after we were done! The price was super affordable too, only $64 all included! That's probably about the cost of 2 people staying in an average crummy hostel. BTW the room was super nice, clean, and cozy, and the common area was too. One of the best places on the trail, stay here!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew121118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2018

We stayed in the Sterling for 3 nights in October, each day hiking a section of the Appalachian Trail and returning at night. The innkeeper Eric and his son Zach were great. Not only did they provide a wealth of information and shuttle us to two of our hikes (for a reasonable fee), but Eric cared enough to come to our room in the evening to make sure we were aware of a change in the next day's weather forecast. The Inn is scrupulously clean. The included breakfast offerings are plentiful, if simple, and good fuel for hikers: home-baked blueberry muffins; fresh fruits; hard-boiled eggs; yogurt; a selection of teas, juices, and coffee; 4 breakfast cereals; and a wide selection of store-bought breads, bagels, and English muffins to put in the nearby toaster. The Sterling caters to Appalachian Trail through-hikers and section hikers, but welcomes other travelers, too. The rooms range in size and price; we had a large bed with a firm, comfortable mattress. There are no private baths but there are enough bathrooms scattered around the Inn that we never had to wait. There is a commons room with large-screen TV, cable service, DVD player and a library of videos, microwave oven, and a shared refrigerator in which guests can leave food. Hikers will find the Sterling stocks an ample selection of trail foods, snacks, stove fuel canisters, and gear to replace/restock as needed. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnochWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erica493, Owner at The Sterling Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Thanks for your kind words;
--Eric and Zach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews