We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
US$112
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
23
7
3
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
23
7
3
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hikers zach hostel resupply laundry trail restocked shuttle accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 38 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2019

We were totally overwhelmed as soon as we pulled in. The owner Eric and his son Zach have outdid themselves. The place is totally redone over and should be a feature item in a b&b magazine. We had an ample size room ($80 plus fees) across from a multi bathroom location. Highly rated for cleanliness and accommodation of your needs. Laundry facilities also were available. We are usually in a hurry to get back on the road but not this time. We are Already making plans to go back soon.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank littlemagpie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erica493, Owner at The Sterling Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2019

Thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2019

I'm an Appalachian Trail section hiker. After visiting some friends along the coast my wife offered to "slack pack" me so I could finish about 90 miles of the trail south of Monson. I found the Sterling Inn and we stayed for three nights. We both loved it! Absolutely great accomodations, whether hiking or just visiting the area. Eric, really knows how to take care of his guests, especially AT hikers. His rooms are all very clean and comfortable, and vary in accomodating hikers (e.g., bunks that keep the rate down) or travelers who want King size bedrooms. Additionally, he has a laundry room with washer/dryer; a store to buy gear, food and snacks; a lounge with a refrigerator and a big screen TV; and he serve a breakfast in a very nice breakfast room that accomdates at least 20 or more guests. The laundry and breakfast come with the very reasonable nightly fee. For AT hikers Eric will shuttle you from near the trail to the Inn and back at no cost. He can be reached from the Caratunk Post Office (phone is in a small booth outside - Sterling's # is next to phone). The Post Office is a short walk (10 min or less) from the trail where it crosses Hwy 201.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ATSlackPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erica493, Owner at The Sterling Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2019

Thanks for your gracious comments.
Eric and Zachary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for a white water rafting trip. We were a party of 8, split into 2 rooms: 4 adults, 4 kids ranging 8-15, and 2 dogs. We particularly enjoyed the lay out of our room and would certainly request it again. The beds faced each other and it gave the kids a little privacy/space. We were in the Flagstaff Double (room 9). Room 10 has a similar lay out. Our friends stayed at the Kennebec room (Room 1) which worked for them with younger kids. Their beds were next to each other with a more traditional lay out. We concur with what others have mentioned: the Inn was very clean, and welcoming. We enjoyed hanging out in the common areas (the great room) and the wrap around porch. Breakfast was simple, but had enough choices. Coffee was good. There was a fridge, microwave, and accessibility to kitchen utensils. Location was good, very close and convenient to rafting. We appreciated that the property was pet friendly. In sum, accommodations couldn’t be more comfortable!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Giannina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2019

Stayed 2 nights for a rafting trip and rooms and shared bathrooms were very clean. OK breakfast. Has a nice rap around porch with chairs and tables to hang out on. Location is good for short ride to rafting companies. Staff very friendly

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Butch g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2019

Breakfast had lots of choices. Plenty to eat. Easy access to AT. Very helpful shuttle. Lovely rooms, very clean. Convenient showers at end of week of backpacking, even though we didn't stay night then (only in the beginning of the week).

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews