We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super spacious rooms and a great view!”
Review of Motel East

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel East
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eastport
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I stayed at the Motel East with a friend in the middle of summertime. The motel is located a close walk to the downtown Eastport. The Motel East is right on the water and has a million dollar view of beautiful sunrises and Campobello Island, Canada. The Motel East is not fancy but it was very comfortable and spacious. The room was huge! The bathroom was very clean and very large. It was one of the biggest bathrooms I have ever seen. The beds were comfortable. The staff was very friendly. She told us about a store that was open until 9pm so we could get alcohol and snacks. The area is very quiet and sleepy and the grocery stores close quite early. There are very few lodging options in Eastport. I would definitely stay at the Motel East again in this uniquie little Down East city.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

The motel was very disappointing...dirty, poorly furnished, and not at all worth the $105 a night we paid. We were on the lower level and had to traverse a stairway made of randomly placed stones... a lawsuit just waiting for someone to fall! The view might have been good if we'd been on a higher level, but it would not have been enough to compensate for the dust and lack of amenities (no coffee-maker, no reading light anywhere near the beds.) A prior guest had written "wash me" in the dust on the mirror, and the glass on the slider looked as if two dogs had licked it, one on each side! All in all, not a place we would ever stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank me2fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

The motel looks nice from the front, we were on the walk out level, there was definate structural damage. The floors were sloped,, the bathroom doors wouldn't shut. We were afraid it would cave in during the night. The screen door was ripped so mosquitos were coming in. We didn't enjoy our stay in this town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwfalk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We booked two rooms. The beds were large, but with outdated sheets and blankets. Mattress was not great. Floor dirty by all standards. I think that one hundred-twenty-nine dollars per night per room was not worth it.

Dinner across the street at the “Pickled Haring” was very-very good (a reason to come back). Breakfast at the Blue Iris was basic, not so great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Mike_Van_Dyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed one night at the Motel East in Eastport, Maine...it was adequate--no frills, but all the standard amenities were there for us, although they absolutely need new pillows. The decor is a bit tired and in need of updating, but as I say, it's a clean place to stay for a night or two. It is located on the water, so the views are nice and each room has a baclony. We checked in late and were surprised that the charges were so high...$145...and we were only there for a short period. Recently, we stayed in Upstate NY and they discounted the rate because we checked in so late. The manager , however, was very friendly and all in all, we thought the motel met our needs for one night. There were other guests on their balcony (no realy separation between balconies) talking and moving chairs until nearly 3:30 a.m., so this didn't make for great sleep. The manager is not on site during the night (he had to be called and come to check us in), so we had no one to register a compaint about the noise. We might stay here again, but more than likely we would plan ahead and stay at one of the local B&Bs...there was one down the street (very attractive home) which I later found out was between $75 and $85 per night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeeMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We came here for a night of being by the ocean and just kicking back and relaxing. At first glance, the room looks fine until the sunshine shows all the dirt all over the carpeting; the beds need updating in the worst way, poor mattresses and bedding, skinny little pillows. We finally got up at 4 a.m. and left after not sleeping much. Would not recommend this to anyone looking for a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mainenurse309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by this motel on the water. We arrived on Sunday and stayed just one night. The young adult in the office was very friendly and the check-in was quick. Our room was on the top floor, which we would recommend for the views. The room was spacious and clean. It included a TV (regular cable channels), queen sized bed, the usual furnishings, table, desk, chair. The bonus was the sink, microwave, refrigerator, and small counter space. The room was like an efficiency apartment. The bathroom was adequate with a full tub. This motel is 20 years old, so don't expect it to be new and shiny. If you are looking for a gym, pool, hot tub, etc... go someplace else. But if you want a comfortable and resonably priced place to stay with great view, this is a good choice. Oh, bring your laptop because they have WIFI. Cell phone service is roaming- you may get Canadian towers. And lastly, they allowed our small dog for an additional twenty dollars.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewHampshireSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastport
28.7 km away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
101 reviews
25.3 km away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
289 reviews
25.9 km away
Chamcook Forest Lodge
Chamcook Forest Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chamcook
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Redclyffe Shore Motor Inn
Redclyffe Shore Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Robbinston
35 reviews
20.5 km away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
4.5 km away
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel East

Address: 23A Water St, Eastport, ME 04631-1529
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Eastport
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eastport
Price Range: $87 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Motel East Hotel Eastport
East Hotel Eastport
East Motel Eastport
Motel East Eastport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing