We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay at the Kilby House” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilby House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilby House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Eastport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay at the Kilby House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Kilby House this past month and we definitely agree with the posting below from the people from Dallas. It was a treat, even though we experienced poor weather during our time in Eastport. We were housed in the front master bedroom , which was small but comfortable and had some antique furniture. Our private bathroom was compact but adequate.

Greg, the gracious owner, provided us with some delicious and elegantly served breakfasts. As an added treat he played a "mini" concert on his pipe organ in the living room.

We would not hesitate to return to the Inn and recommend it to those visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerfrGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
47
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We recently spent a week in Eastport to escape the Dallas heat. On the recommendation of a local friend we stayed at Kilby House.

The house itself and our room were both beautiful, filled with antiques and period art. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom large and immaculate. The house is located on Water Street and overlooks the bay. Our room had plenty of windows and we kept those that were screened open for the duration of our visit as the weather was great and we enjoy a cool breeze - not available in Dallas. Probably we could have kept all of them open as there weren't any flying pests in Eastport but I'm a little phobic about bugs.

The host, Greg, was one of the very few people we met who was actually native. I think he may have been a retired teacher as he was extremely knowledgeable about the area and its history. He suggested several activities for us to enjoy during our visit, both locally and in Canada, all of which we enjoyed. The breakfasts he prepared were always accompanied by home baked muffins using the local fruits (blueberries or cranberries) and the portions enormous.

Finally, though there are several B&B's in the area, any time we mentioned to a Mainer we were staying at a B&B in Eastport, every one of them responded with "Kilby House?"

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

This Bed and Breakfast and town was a real highlight of our recent road trip. Greg was a terrific host, most accomodationg--the house is very Victorian in style, without being stuffy. Best breakfasts of our entire trip.
Eastport is a fascinating town next to Canda, and a great cross section of people seem to settle here, making shopping and schooner rides even more interesting..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationer60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

A thoroughly enjoyable stay thanks to very nice accommodations, excellent breakfast, and wonderful innkeeper Greg. He was welcoming, pleasant, and very informative about Eastport, and most of Downeast Maine as he is a native of the state. Location was perfect and we lucked out with diverse, pleasant, and fascinating fellow guests at breakfast. At the price is truly a great value. Only minor drawback was that the room and bathroom were quite small, but this may just have been our room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSB1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherokee, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kilby House. The house is lovely and Greg is an excellent host. We had good advice and good conversation. The breakfasts were outstanding. Greg makes the best French toast I've ever had. Not only were the breakfasts delicious, but they were beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
182 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

We've been to Eastport a few times but never stayed here before. I think that his place, while lacking the killer views of the Motel East, is a great value. The proprietor, Greg, was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area, the breakfast was excellent, the rooms, I saw 3, were clean, nicely furnished and comfortable, though the bathroom was a tad tight. What you would expect when shoehorning bathrooms into an old victorian house. Don't miss the ferry to Deer Island. We call it the poor man's whale watch. Keep your eyes peeled and you are likely to see porpoises, seals and minke whales plus lots of bird llife and maybe the "old sow".

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

We have been vacationing in Maine for decades and have just fallen in love with Eastport, Maine. Not just the beauty of the area, but the people as well.

Eastport is on the Maine Coast, almost into Canada and overlooks the Bay of Fundy and Campobello island. The Kilby House Inn is a renovated Victorian that is just beautiful and loaded with antiques. Greg makes delicious and elegant breakfasts and always makes certain his guests are well fed and happy. The B&B is very clean and the room we usually stay in at the front of the house(canopy bed) is very comfortable and it overlooks the Bay. He has two wonderful shelties he rescued and lovingly cares for. He does not let them out into the main part of the house unless the guests(like us) want to play with them. There are really very sweet and well behaved dogs.

We have been staying at the Kilby House for about 8+ yrs and have been so content, we have never even thought of looking elsewhere. The room and breakfast are a great value as far as we are concerned. Greg, who is alot of fun, is a Maine native and knows alot about the area.

We usually spend 3-4 days, take a sail on the renovated antique schooner, the Sylvina Beal, which is just blocks from the Kilby House(and a must if you are going to be in Eastport). We pack a lunch and spend a few hours in Pembroke watching the wonderful nature show at Reversing Falls. We see
seals and eagles while experiencing a complete reversal of the tide...it is rather amazing. We drive to Canada to St. Andrews by the Sea to spend a day. If we are lucky, we are there for the Blueberry Festival in nearby Machias. We go to Lubec for the Keys summer concerts which are wonderful.

Eastport is a place for folks who like to spend time outdoors and make their own fun or just want to relax. We ride our bikes, go sailing, hike at the local state park. We have met many guests who don't want to do anything but enjoy a lovely home and great breakfast and just go for a stroll downtown and come back and relax and read a book. The pace is slow , the people are kind and the views of the Bay are spectacular. What more could you ask.

This is the website:
www.kilbyhouseinn.com

Helpful?
5 Thank LovesEastportME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastport
28.2 km away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
20.0 km away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
5.2 km away
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 km away
Redclyffe Shore Motel
Redclyffe Shore Motel
#1 of 1 in Robbinston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
19.2 km away
Kennedy Inn
Kennedy Inn
#10 of 13 in Saint Andrews
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilby House Inn

Property: Kilby House Inn
Address: 122 Water St, Eastport, ME 04631-1128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Eastport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eastport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Kilby House Inn Eastport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing