We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, breakfast was poor, rooms clean and nice though...”
Review of Ramada Ellsworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Ellsworth
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at the Ramada Inn, Ellsworth ME in August because we were passing through Maine to Canada. We have stayed in this hotel before and were pleased at the rates, however they raised them significantly and now for what we get they are borderline overpriced. The breakfast was poor. The only hot thing was pancakes which were thick and seemed on the underdone side. There was also some kind of hash but that looked pretty gross so I didn't try it. The rooms were clean, however there was some kind of liquid stain on the frill of the bottom of the beds. The pool was very crowded but was still enjoyable. The hot tub was amazing! It had air beds inside so you can lay down while getting a jet massage. Very nice. Check in and out was easy and fast. Would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripLady1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

I was visiting Bar Harbor and had read lots of reviews for hotels. I was a little skeptical on staying here, but it was worth it. From the moment we checked until the moment we checked out, we had an excellent experience. The location wasn't the best for visiting Bar Harbor (its about a 20-25 minute drive), but there are plenty of places around to eat and shop in Ellsworth. Overall, a great value.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clwcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Mattress's were extremely comfortable. Very convenient location for Acadia National Park. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This hotel is newish, the beds are very comfortable, and the decor is nice. There was a microwave and fridge in our room with two queen beds. The place was very clean. A basic breakfast was provided. I only have two complaints. One, it was a little further from Bar Harbor and Acadia than I wanted to stay (although I did wait until the night before my visit, in high season, to book, so that's what I get I guess). It is really convenient to the LL Bean outlet, though. Two, it is a two story building and there is no elevator. Call me lazy, but I did not like having to haul my suitcase and large cooler up and down the steps.

Overall, a good experience for the three nights I stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kar1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We (4 + dog) recently made a trip to Acadia National Park and stayed here based on the TA reviews. Although the rooms have been updated the hotel itself needs a makeover. Outdated wallpaper in the hallways and hallway rugs need to be cleaned. We weren't in the hotel much since we spent most of our day in Acadia so I didn't let that bother me. The hotel is about 15 minutes away from Acadia and Bar Harbor. The kids loved the indoor tennis courts. We spent our evenings playing games at the tennis court and pool area. The one con I do have was when I turned on the AC unit to the room - it smelled like mold. So I had to spray Lysol spray just to get that stench out. The smell went away after awhile. Also, they could use a little landscaping around the property. It just looks dirty. All in all, the hotel was decent. I just want a clean room to put my head down at night and I was happy with that.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank AARVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My wife and grandson stayed a week at the Ramada. We had always stayed there previously when it was a Holiday Inn. Ramada made a wonderful upgrade to the overall Inn. The rooms were clean and the beds were very, very comfortable for sleeping. We like this Inn because of the pool, sauna, hot tub and fitness room. All of these were also upgraded by Ramada.
In the restaurant the first night we ate there, mosquitos were buzzing around. My medium prime rib turned pout to be very, very rare and tough. The other two meals were fine. At breakfast the next morning, my grandson found a mosquito in his omelette and was unable to finish eating even when offered a replacement. We did not eat in the reataurant again during our stay. (The mosquito issue was addressed the next day)
Our room was not cleaned one and the night staff had to be called to change the linens and towels, etc.
Management did respond at the end of our stay and was very amenable to making an adjustment for us that was mutually agreeable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

For the money, the Ramada Ellsworth is a pretty good deal. The place was very clean, with updated lobby, bedrooms and bathrooms. While not fancy or "upscale" in any way, this establishment provides good quality accommodations at a reasonable price. As a bonus, there is a pool and a nice set of indoor tennis courts. Location wise, it is very easy to get to Acadia National Park, though it is a good 15 or so miles down route 3.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLCNYBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
22.0 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#4 of 41 in Bar Harbor
714 reviews
22.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
313 reviews
0.8 km away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Ellsworth
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Ellsworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Ellsworth

Address: 215 High Street, Route 1 & 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range: $145 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Ellsworth 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Ellsworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ellsworth Hotel Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing