We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$107
View deal
Priceline
US$107
View deal
FindHotel
US$114
US$104
View deal
SAVE US$10
Hotels.comUS$107
Expedia.comUS$107
ZenHotels.comUS$114
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
41
24
13
14
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
24
13
14
20
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 112 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2019 via mobile

We booked this at the last minute to fill in the gap between resort stays. Our room had been recently remodeled (except the tub/shower...which is radio to be replaced but worked fine). The beds are comfy, New carpet, marble top vanity, parked just outside the sliding patio doors so loading/unloading was easy!
We didn't use the heated indoor pool or the laundry but both were very nice...impressive, actually.
The coffee was excellent! Every staff member we interacted with were friendly and Hemphill. No complaints from our crew.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lbjiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonial2015, Front Office Manager at Colonial Inn Ellsworth By Magnuson Worldwide, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and we hope to see you return on your next visit to Acadia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Stopped at the Colonial Inn last year on a planned trip last year, so this year we used it for a last-minute visit to Mount Desert Island nearby. It's really convenient, and the staff is cordial and helpful. Since last time we stayed, they have included free grab-and-go breakfast items, and the lobby coffee is good; certainly enough to get you moving for the day. We got a recently-renovated room, and the mattress was excellent. This time we also had time for fun using the pool, unlike last time.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank MNM010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonial2015, Front Office Manager at Colonial Inn Ellsworth By Magnuson Worldwide, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2019

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to hear you had a good stay with us and were able to use the pool on this visit. The staff love to see returning guests, we hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2019

I just needed a cheap place to stay while traveling through, and it was getting dark when I rolled into Ellsworth. The desk man was pleasant, and put me in a room in the Annex, behind the main hotel.

Upon driving around the back, I was met by a scruffy looking dude drawing a drag on his cigarette while sitting on the tailgate of his company truck. My next door neighbor. Probable just a working stiff on a job, but it was a little creepy.

The room is accessed from the hallway inside. The door sticks and had to be forced open and shut. Above the bed are hooks where a picture used to be. Around the walls are drill holes and plaster patches where other stuff used to be. The carpet is worn and stained.

There's a sliding door leading to the parking lot. After several attempts to open it I realized that the lock is non-functioning. The door is secured by means of a hunk of PVC pipe lying in the rail.

I slept with my pistol within arms reach.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheWesternRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape39061622249, Owner at Colonial Inn Ellsworth By Magnuson Worldwide, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2019

We are sorry that your stay at the Colonial was not up to your expectations. We are a family run business; we assumed ownership a year ago and have been gradually making improvements and renovating the rooms. Regrettably, you were assigned a room in need of work and we apologize for that. We hope that you will try us again should you find yourself travelig through Ellsworth in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2019 via mobile

We didn’t like anything about this place, it was disgusting. It said no smoking yet it had cigarette burns in the flooring & wreaked of smoke, the smell was horrible. Other things that we disliked was the bed was broken & not on the frame properly so it fell in the middle of the night, noisy a/c unit, exposed fiberglass insulation, dingy & dated 1970 decor, filthy stained mattress, old thin tattered blankets, stained & disgusting carpeting, (afraid to take our shoes off), the stairs to 2nd floor were crooked like a funhouse, outside steps were about 10” & dangerous to navigate, (def not up to code), people fighting in the room next door, unfriendly & unhelpful staff. Not to mention the outrageous price. I couldn’t believe they can even charge people to stay here, it should be the other way around. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cathymV1478NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape39061622249, Owner at Colonial Inn Ellsworth By Magnuson Worldwide, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2019

We are sorry that your stay at the Colonial was not up to your expectations. We are a family run business; we assumed ownership a year ago and have been gradually making improvements and renovating the rooms. Regrettably, you were assigned a room in need of work and we apologize for that. We hope that you will try us again should you find yourself travelig through Ellsworth in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2019

The hotel might seem dated but if you are looking for a clean quiet place to sleep that is close to Bar Harbor/Acadia for a good price this place can’t be beat. This is definitely not Courtyard Marriott quality but I would stay here again if I was in the area.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnaS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape39061622249, Owner at Colonial Inn Ellsworth By Magnuson Worldwide, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review the Colonial. Our logo is "Best Value" and we strive to offer economical, clean, and family friendly accommodations in a location that's advantageous to enjoy Acadia and the area. We would love to have you back if you find yourself visiting the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews