We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$139
View deal
Expedia.comUS$139
TripadvisorUS$139
Priceline
Hotels.comUS$139
TravelocityUS$139
ZenHotels.comUS$164
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
42
24
13
16
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
24
13
16
21
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 116 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2021

Booked a room for a week based on Travelocity (Expedia) and Google listing this as a pet-friendly hotel. Arrive after an 8-hour drive to find out that they do not accept cats and would not honor our confirmed reservation.

The person at the front desk, Ralph, was so rude going so far as to say that no hotels on the island allow cats. That's a complete and total lie, been going up to Bar Harbor for 30 years, have never had trouble staying places with either our cats or dog. We were forced to make other arrangements, 3 different hotels for first, second and third part of our trip. But all this while traveling around with a stressed-out cat in the car between hotel bookings.

Either you're pet-friendly or not. Period. And if you're not then don't advertise as such, and make sure to update your damned listings on the various booking sights. That's part of your damned job. This is a bait and switch scam operation. Will tell every person I know to never, ever go to this dump.

Date of stay: June 2021
1  Thank qofe79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2020

This is a great place to stay, always accomodating and the owner is constantly updating rooms. Very affordable even if you have pets! Give them a try, you wont be dissappointed. Pool, games, wifi etc. What more could you want?

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riverside151
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Inn, General Manager at Colonial Inn Ellsworth, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2020

Thank you for your excellent review. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2019 via mobile

When planning our trip to Maine I wanted a hotel/motel that was close to Bar Harbor & Acadia, pet friendly (very fair $10 per night pet fee) and wouldn't break the bank and Colonial Inn checked all the boxes. We checked in last Sunday and were greeted by a very friendly woman at the front desk, within minutes of arriving she had me checked in and handed me a map showing our room location on the side of the building by the Elks Lodge, explaining we were in one of the "budget" rooms. I was initially a bit concerned but as we pulled up in front of our room I could see that they opened up onto a communal porch and was close by the wooded area (great for puppy potty breaks) and bonus points for not having to worry about having "heavy steppers" above us. The room was small but clean and seemed to have been updated recently and the mini fridge was one of the nicer ones that has a separate door for the freezer. The only faults I found with the room were that other than several coat hooks, there is nowhere to hang your clothes and the toilet seat kept coming loose. Although we never needed housekeeping she did check in to see if we needed anything and someone was always available in the building. Ice machines were just off of the main lobby but not terribly far from our room, #144, plus the freezer had it's own mini ice tray and a microwave in the room allowed us to enjoy our many leftovers. The beds were a tiny bit too firm for me but hubby loved them and it was nice to have a storm door to allow in light and fresh air, especially considering how nice the weather was and it was so quiet, never even heard other guests even though they were on both sides of us. Never got a chance to get in the pool but I did check it out and it was really big and the perfect temperature for a quick dip. The main building even had a vending machine filled with heat/eat & go foods in addition to snack and soda machines and there is a restaurant attached to the hotel that seemed quite popular. About 20 minutes from Bar Harbor and lots of restaurant options within a mile made this a perfect fit for us and fine for short stays but when we return next fall for a week we'll opt for a larger room.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nglgrl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial2015, Manager at Colonial Inn Ellsworth, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2019 via mobile

We booked this at the last minute to fill in the gap between resort stays. Our room had been recently remodeled (except the tub/shower...which is radio to be replaced but worked fine). The beds are comfy, New carpet, marble top vanity, parked just outside the sliding patio doors so loading/unloading was easy!
We didn't use the heated indoor pool or the laundry but both were very nice...impressive, actually.
The coffee was excellent! Every staff member we interacted with were friendly and Hemphill. No complaints from our crew.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lbjiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial2015, Front Office Manager at Colonial Inn Ellsworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and we hope to see you return on your next visit to Acadia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Stopped at the Colonial Inn last year on a planned trip last year, so this year we used it for a last-minute visit to Mount Desert Island nearby. It's really convenient, and the staff is cordial and helpful. Since last time we stayed, they have included free grab-and-go breakfast items, and the lobby coffee is good; certainly enough to get you moving for the day. We got a recently-renovated room, and the mattress was excellent. This time we also had time for fun using the pool, unlike last time.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank MNM010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial2015, Front Office Manager at Colonial Inn Ellsworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2019

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad to hear you had a good stay with us and were able to use the pool on this visit. The staff love to see returning guests, we hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews