We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful, elegant hotel - great winter weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful, elegant hotel - great winter weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I spent two nights here with my 16 year old daughter while visiting Maine colleges. Everything about the hotel was elegant and delightful. We arrived at night and were gratified to walk into the inn warmly lit with two large fireplaces. Our room, the smallest in the hotel, was beautifully decorated. The beds were extremely comfortable. We both enjoyed the evening turn down service, with local chocolates! The breakfast buffet was creative and delicious. Both breakfast rooms were brightened by fireplaces as well. The staff was friendly and accommodated requests for simple items which were not provided with the standard buffet. We took advantage of the Inn's location to walk several times into the shopping district of Freeport, and it was nice to return to this wonderful place. We enjoyed afternoon tea in the fireplaced parlor one day as well. Tea was included with the room and was very comprehensive with tea sandwiches, cheese and crackers, and an assortment of sweets.
In every interaction, each staff person was extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely return and will certainly recommend this to friends. While there are larger and more expensive rooms, ours was an amazingly good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review; you made our day! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    156
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
187
442
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Maine
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We were married at the Harraseeket Inn during a blizzard in and went back (during another snow storm) for our anniversary. Both experiences were wonderful. Every detail was taken care of for us during our wedding event and we were welcomed back with the same level of warmth and customer service on our return. Our room was a king with fireplace, wet bar, deep tub, and sofa bed. The room felt HUGE. I wish I knew where they got their bed linens and what they washed them in because they had to be the softest I've ever slept in. Afternoon tea and the breakfast buffet were added bonuses that did not disappoint. The fireplaces, atmosphere, and location make the Harraseeket and ideal winter getaway with classic New England charm.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessPalmTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for sharing your wedding memories! We're so glad you enjoyed your return visit. We use an environmentally friendly "green" rated detergent in our laundry made by "First Mark". Sadly, our 600 count Egyptian cotton sheets have been discontinued by the manufacturer and we have picked out replacement linens that we hope live up to our guests' expectations. If they do, we'll be offering them for sale in our gift shop!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

this was a perfect getaway to finish shopping and relax before the hub bub of the holidays got into full swing. the staff was warm and extremely cordial through out the stay and the meals were exceptional both in the tavern and the dining romm an't wait to return

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susyamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Inn just recently and we had a wonderful time. Everything was perfect. From the turn down service at night to the breakfast in the morning. We loved the new outdoor fire pit! Thank you so much and we look forward to visiting again very soon!

Room Tip: Find a room with a fireplace. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zr2Nox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My husband surprised me by taking me here this past Christmas weekend. I was 9 months pregnant, and really needed the getaway! This place is in a great location to walk to all of the shopping and restaurants downtown. It is a nice cross between an inn and a hotel: all the conveniences and amenities of a hotel, but the quaint feeling of an inn. We really enjoyed the continental breakfast each morning as well as tea time in the afternoon. Teatime took place by a fireplace in a large lounge area, where we got to talk to other guests at the hotel (mind you we were the youngest there, most of the guests were older couples). The heated indoor pool felt AWESOME, and we had a very nice jacuzzi tub in our room which I also found very relaxing. The "gym" is not worth your time, but if you're on vacation why bother go to the gym anyway.

Staff and service was overall very good. At night it is very quiet. We slept great every night. My only complaint was the bed was quite hard, but I still was able to sleep well on it. Its a personal preference.

I would recommend this hotel for a nice getaway. It is family friendly, close to all the attractions, and overall very well managed and maintained. Although I went in the wintertime, I can see how it would be a great place to visit in the summer too.

Room Tip: We had a room with a king size bed and a jacuzzi tub- worth the little bit of extra money in my opin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your romantic getaway. Our mattresses are Serta Presidential Pillow Top but we also have toppers for those who like an extra soft sleep! We hope next time you visit you bring your newest family member!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have a certain fondness for the Harraseeket Inn. It is about 2 hours from home and makes for a great quick weekend getaway. The past couple of stays my husband and I got a room with a fireplace. What a treat! The rooms are nicely appointed. Nothing too fancy. I love the smell of the place when you walk in. They have fires going in the lobby and common rooms. Such a treat on a cold winters day. The afternoon tea is excellent. Very relaxing. Dinner is the Maine dining room was exceptional. The server remembered us from our stay 3 years ago. They make you feel like family. The Harraseeket will always be one of my favorite places.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkletoes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valhalla, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We loved our stay at the Harraseeket during the New Year's Weekend. Everything was fantastic--- the inn, the breakfast, the tavern, the afternoon tea, the Suite, and especially the service. Everyone at the inn was very accomodating. Thanks for a wonderful stay in Freeport.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane232348762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
26.0 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
3.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
6.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St., Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harraseeket Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing