We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full-Service Inn!”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Gourmet locally sourced dining and well-chosen wine list in the Maine Dining Room (try oysters and the Pinot Blanc); immense wood-fired ovens prepare everything in the atmospheric tavern; high-count Egyptian cotton sateen sheets on pillow-top mattresses; "Old New England" atmosphere with all modern comforts, meeting rooms, etc.; if the staff were any more friendly or helpful it would be embarrassing (especially to us New Englanders). But that's just the routine stuff.

We arrived Friday night before St. Patrick's day. Transmission in our 99 Ford was skipping. Overnight the car bled to death -- wouldn't move. All local mechanics apparently Irish, not working that Saturday. I expected to nurse the car to Mt. Desert with continuous transfusions of transmission fluid. Asked at the desk for location of nearest gas station. I was informed that the general manager had more mechanical apptitude than she and would be summoned.

"Chip" Gray appeared forthwith, asked to see the "patient," diagnosed loss of transmission fluid, dismissed my concerns about leaking into the crankcase, and more or less demanded that I accompany him to a not-too-distant parts store to get more fluid, fill up the transmission, and figure out what was leaking. We did that (in his truck fueled by used vegetable oil from the kitchen; he also admitted during the drive that he's an experienced airplane engine mechanic, among many other things), filled the transmission, found the leak, visited his stockpile of used hose and tools in a part of the hotel I am forbidden to admit having visited, and returned to the car. With Swiss Army knife, mini-tube-cutter, and hose clamps, he fixed the problem (I'm making a long story short), prescribed a series of test drives so he could make sure leaks had stopped, and sent us on our way after showing me the trailor he would use to come get us and lug our car back to Freeport if we called and said the fix hadn't held. Chip said this was all in fulfillment of his vision of a "Full-Service Inn."

Turns out the Harraseeket is family-owned, Chip's mother Penny is the Owner who responds to all these Trip Advisor reviews, who had greated us heartily several times that morning on the stairs and elsewhere, and to whom Chip had apologized that taking care of us clients would make him late to lunch. The Tavern (and I'm sure much of the rest of the fine features) are fulfillment of her visions and dreams, and she can surely count on Chip to continue this.

Also important to me, who spent teenage years on a Massachusetts dairy farm fixing machinery with baling wire so we could make hay before the sun stopped shining: not only was a dreadful start to a week-long break for us Grandfolks averted -- IT WAS FUN!

So, besides that it's a great place to stay on the way Down East, our experience at the Harraseeket had a big impact on our joy in living and our faith in the good-will of mankind. And in technology -- the ablity to use what you know, and what you have at hand, to do or get what you need. True from the stone age until today.

I expect I've embarrassed Chip with these comments, and would request that you NOT save your routine auto repairs for your visit to the Harraseeket.

Thanks for reading!

=Grumpy Joe=

Room Tip: Stay at the Harraseeket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrumpyJoe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you for a wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and happy that all worked out with the vehicle problems you encountered. Chip enjoys tinkering on gadgets, machines and vehicles, (including airplanes), almost as much as he enjoys meeting guests like yourself. He's our go-to MacGyver here at the Harraseeket. We hope the rest of your Maine journey was delightful and that you visit us again soon!
p.s. Chip says to tell you that the one-legged crow prefers blueberry muffins to crackers, he feeds it one every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

My business group held our annual retreat the Inn the first weekend in March. We could 't say enough about this place. One of our members got sick one evening. A staff member went out and got her ginger ale and saltines for her upset stomach. Talk about going above and beyond. Our meals were served family style and included low glycemic and gluten free options.... All delicious. We've already booked for next year!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marialuna9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you for your review! Our staff is dedicated to guest services and they always go above and beyond; we think of them as our extended family. Some have been with us for over twenty years! We're glad you enjoyed your retreat and look forward to seeing you next March!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This review is long overdue. We traveled to Freeport in late September mainly to shop at LL Bean and overnight. It was the final day of our trip and we wanted one step up from a typical B&B - Harraskeet was it.

The four minute walk to shopping was terrific, but the amenities offered made the stay. We'd eaten too much during the week to do a full meal at the formal Maine Dining Room, so we had appetizers and drank good wines in the atmospheric Broad Arrow Pub. It was an excellent choice.

We stayed in the King room with a fireplace and whirlpool. It was in the low 80's when we visited so we didn't make good use of either. But it would have been nice if we had. The room overall was very nice if not spectacular. The grounds are beautifully kept if not located in the most scenic part of Freeport (is there one?).

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Inns are our favorite stays (over B&B's and upscale hotels) and the Haraskeet did not disappoint in any way. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Its nice that under certain conditions pets are allowed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you for a great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you can return when you can enjoy that fireplace. Winter is a great time to take advantage of all the off-season sales in Freeport Village. As for the prettiest places in Freeport, the village itself is charming but for sheer beauty it's hard to beat Wolfe's Neck State Park, with lovely wooded trails along stunning Casco Bay, and South Freeport Harbor, which captures the scenic, salty character of a coastal Maine port, complete with its resident fleet of lobster boats tied up at the dock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My family and I made a spur of the moment decision.We had spent the day shopping and my sister in law had said she has heard they had high tea at this hotel.'We had tea and stayed for 3 days. The staff are lovely and humorous, we ate at the mcdonalds cause we heard about the lobster rolls. yummm, the food at the hotel was very nice.They don't take animals but my mini maltese was treated like royalty, all 2 kilos . until we placed her with a sitter for the nights.there, ab, fab

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for your review! We do in fact welcome four legged travelling companions. We offer several select pet friendly rooms in our Carriage House and in our Town Houses and we have a pretty good fan club of four legged friends whom we've hosted for years. Our staff knows many of them by name! We use no harmful herbicides or fertilizers on our five acres of grounds so your companions can romp and play without worries and there are lots of wonderful hikes in the area, from Wolfe's Neck State Park (great bay-side trails) and Bradbury Mountain State Park, to the Mast Landing Audubon Sanctuary and Popham Beach; all great dog walks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at the Harraseeket Inn in February while attending my son's wedding. The staff could not do enough for us. With fireplaces throughout, the main lodge can be proud of their two wonderful restaurants, one is a more formal fine dining rooom, and the other, The Tavern, more casual but quite wonderful. Afternoon tea is served in the elegant salon off the charming lobby.
On Sundays, The Inn hosts a spectacular brunch including all the lobster you could want.
Because we requested a separate living room and bedroom, they accommodated us in the townhouses, a short walk from the main building. We had a large living room, enormous kitchen, and two bedrooms and bath upstairs. And if you are a shopper, L..L Bean and other famous outlets are two blocks away. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you so much for your review, Sara. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Congratulations to your son on his wedding! L.L.Bean is celebrating their 100th anniversary this year at their flagship store here in Freeport with all sorts of fun activities planned over the July 4th week. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Came with my sister and brother-in-law to Freeport to visit LL Bean HQ and we stayed here. Snow was still on the ground and the inn was warm, fireplaces glowing, the welcome was friendly and we were accommodated in a lovely wing in rooms where beloved terrier Sparky was made welcome with treats and bowls for his food and water. For an Australian visitor the Inn was a magical American experience and I think of it often. Food - excellent. Rooms - warm, well appointed and clean. Service - friendly, professional and efficient. I'd love to come back some day.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elleron540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and glad you had a chance to see some snow; we've been having a mild winter here in southern Maine! We hope you do get a chance to return, and we hope someday to visit Australia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This inn has been a perennial favorite of ours. We hesitate to do this good review as we are not sure we want to share it with too many people.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
3.1 km away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
26.0 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,449 reviews
6.0 km away
Casco Bay Inn
Casco Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Freeport
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $213 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and getaroom.com so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing