We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, but a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Freeport
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not bad, but a bit tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We spent one night at this hotel. It is clearly very busy and booked up which is reflected in the condition of the room. It's not bad, it's just a bit worn. The towels were very thin and the bedspreads and bed linen are all a bit limp. Breakfast room is really too small although the breakfast available was fine. Reception staff pleasant and friendly. It's fine for an inexpensive motel for one night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    98
    59
    35
    23
See reviews for
69
113
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Olive, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here as our home-base to visit Portland and Freeport. The price was very good compared to other places in the area, and we were impressed how comfortable and clean the room was. Nothing negative to say, except that the free coffee was weak.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njjacknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Region
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Booked this place on hotwire, so got a good deal. Was a bit worried about the reviews here but I found the place spotless. Comfy bed, easy to find. Great breakfast, including "make your own" waffles. Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Travelling from Maine down along coast to /NY, and wanted an overnight stop to do a proper shop in LLBean next morning. I had read a few reviews in the morning for local motels, this looked like a good deal, and we were impressed with the price, I dont think it had a fridge, but everything else was perfect and this was the first motel we had stayed at with complimentary breakfast (we stayed in 6 motels along east coast (last 4 had breakfast) Agree with all other positive reviews.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed here for a week in Feb and June. Found the rooms to be clean, maybe a bit dated but nevertheless the bed was comfortable, linen was changed daily. Front desk people more than accomodating with the exception on an ?East Indian man who didn't seem to understand and seemed unfriendly. I will not hestitate to stay here again as it fits my needs and is central for me to shop, visit and do business.

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

My husband & I, our Pastor and his wife stayed here because it was late at night, our car broke down and a huge snow storms had just began. The night clerk showed us a "room" with fridge and microwave but when we checked in to our rooms there wasn't any. Some of the lights didn't work, phone didn't work, an wall outlet didn't work and you could only use the wifi sitting next to the window. It was okay in a pinch but I would certainly check around before resorting to this motel. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast consisted of make your our waffles, bagels, muffins, cereals, orange and apple juice and coffee. Also, during the snow storm, there was a man and a woman looking in our room window, creepy!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBQrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Mass.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

We needed to make a trip to Freeport at the last minute and were looking for something affordable and near town. This place met our needs and took dogs, which was a requirement. The room was clean. The breakfast filled up up. For what we paid I couldn't have imaged expecting any more.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soxskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Freeport

Property: Econo Lodge Freeport
Address: 537 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Freeport 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Awarding Winning by Choice Hotels Econo Lodge(R) is conveniently located less than a mile from L.L. Bean's Flagship Store, a world-famous outdoor gear & apparel store, open 24 hours every day year round. Also nearby is the Desert of Maine, a famous natural phenomenon, hundreds of outlet stores, Bradbury Mountain State Park, Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park & the Maine Maritime Museum, featuring gallery exhibits, a historic shipyard & narrated boat cruises. Springtime in Freeport is an exciting time of year! Popham Beach State Park, Reid State Park and Old Orchard Beach are about 30 minutes away. There are many outdoor activities for the whole family to enjoy including sailing, biking, bird watching at the Mast Landing Bird Sanctuary and even lighthouse tours! Want to squeeze in a game of golf or two? The Freeport Country Club, Toddy Brook Golf Course, the Falmouth Country Club and more are just a short drive from our hotel. In addition, Portland International Jetport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Freeport, ME hotel features Free Expanded Continental Breakfast and free local calls. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access, a business center in the lobby & access to copy/fax services. All spacious guest rooms include work desks and cable television with Showtime. Non-smoking and Pet-Friendly rooms can be requested. Whether your favorite activity is hiking a mountain on a crisp spring morning or spending the afternoon laying in the sun at Popham Beach State Park Freeport, Maine provides a great room, convenient location and wonderful service at an exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Freeport Hotel Freeport
Freeport Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing