We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous dinner!”
Review of Oxford House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oxford House Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Fryeburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Our family was recently in North Conway on vacation and a friend recommended the Oxford House Inn for dinner. We were so glad we made the 15 minute trip to Maine! Jonathan's pub had the perfect relaxed atmosphere we were looking for. The bar had a nice varied selection and I liked the little extra touches on everything like the candied ginger garnishing my ginger pear margarita. The food was exceptional, and the staff was friendly and attentive. My husband and I agree this was the best dining experience we've ever had.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

We can not say enough about the OHI! This place has the best of everything. You can expect an experience that will last for a long time. The food rates with some of the best from Boston to Portland, and in between for sure. Natalie and Jonathan have done wonders with a 4 room B & B and when you come here you will be making time to come back. Well worth the trip to Fryburg Maine for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodRod68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Beautiful stay ~ everything you dream of in a bed & breakfast!
Food was exquisite! We ate dinner in the beautiful restaurant and it was amazing, just amazing! We spent almost two and a half hours relaxing and enjoying each course ~ such a treat int he intimate dining room with a lovely view of the valley below. Perfect! And in the morning we had breakfast - again, just perfect! Pancakes light and fluffy, egg scramble (the "Fancy") was tasty and cooked perfectly! Almond croissants crispy and warm, fresh fruit...just perfect!
We stayed in the Porch Room and it was wonderful. Features a full private bath with jacuzzi tub and stall shower, along with a small porch area which was fully insulated so it's warm and cozy ~ perfect for chatting quietly or crocheting or reading! King bed was comfortable and warm!
Inn keepers were welcoming without being overbearing.
Rooms and bathrooms were spotless!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueLeeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

we took our visiting English friends north to see the foliage and the mountains. We had dined at the Oxford House years before when we had a vacation home nearby but had never stayed there. It was better than we expected and we expected it to be very nice.

Had drinks in the cozy cellar bar before heading back upstairs for an amazing dinner. Great choice of entrees, something for everyone's tastes. Breakfast the next am was in the back porch light filled despite the foggy start to the day. You can have the usual bacon and eggs but the specials are well worth trying. The pumpkin waffles with real maple syrup were the seasonal addition. That said we would have been happy to just eat the freshly made cinnamon donuts. worth the trip alone.

Rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. bathrooms while small were well fitted out. Comfy bed and plush towels.Service from check in to check out was friendly and efficient.

great place to stay and eat. Our friends decided this stay will be their benchmark for future B & B stays, "Its nice but not as nice as the Oxford House".

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in the Sewing Room and while it was smaller than the other rooms, it had tremendo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

While walking up the path to the Oxford House, you can’t help but take in the pristine beauty that surrounds it. The immediate landscape is meticulously maintained and the White Mountains in the backdrop are breathtaking. We arrived for check in at dinner time, the porch had tables set for diners, and the dining rooms were starting to fill up. Natalie greeted us and gave us a tour of the inn graciously and without skipping a beat at an obviously busy time for her. That was a great first impression. The guest rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is much more than the typical muffin or bagel that you would find at most Bed and Breakfasts. You are seated at a well dressed table with a menu including several choices of freshly prepared meals including fresh fruit and a special goodie - just what you need to start your day in an area that is so filled with outdoor physical activities! We enjoyed absolutely everything about our stay at the Oxford House Inn!

Room Tip: There are two rooms here that provide more than one bed. Room 3 and the sewing room are quiet and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sssanborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here in the 1990s and loved it, and we finally got back to Maine this month. We were happy to find that the rooms, the innkeepers, and the restaurant were even better than we remembered. New to us was the bar area downstairs, where we had dinner one night--completely charming and cozy. The breakfasts were as delicious as ever, and you just can't beat the views of the White Mountains from the large breakfast room windows. We enjoyed talking to the owners, a friendly young couple--he's the chef, a graduate of the CIA in New York. The restaurant was packed (largely with locals) both nights we were there--reservations a must.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Let's just say...this place is perfect. My friend Della and her family go once a year. She told me about the amazing place; in fact, she borrowed my camera and took some great shots of her family enjoying their night. So my hubby took notes and booked a birthday weekend for me. It was amazing. Even though we only live 1/2 hour from the place, my hubby booked one of the suites. IT was perfect. It was like sleeping in an ocean front cottage. Loved it . And the food. WOW! It not only tasted good, but looked beautiful. The presentation was just..simply amazing. It was the kind of food you wanted to take pictures of! :) And it was some of the best food I have ever had. The chef put flavors together that I would have never imagined would taste good, but boy was I wrong. The flavors tickled my senses. Now..we are a middle class family so we couldn't afford to go here all the time..we wish we could! But there is something to be said about finding a place to visit for special occasions. We will definitely go back for another meal...I think with apps, meal, dessert, and drinks we spent $125 (for 2) people. Not horrible and definitely worth every penny. Everything was cooked to order. The menu changes with the season. They pride themselves on using fresh ingredients and local ingredients when possible. We thought dinner was perfect and then breakfast was just a delight. All this talk of food is making me want to go visit the Oxford House Inn right now.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurassika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fryeburg
15.8 km away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,414 reviews
11.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
21.1 km away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Admiral Peary Inn Bed & Breakfast
11.8 km away
The Old Saco Inn
The Old Saco Inn
#1 of 5 in Fryeburg
291 reviews
10.7 km away
Merrill Farm Inn
Merrill Farm Inn
#11 of 30 in Conway
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford House Inn

Address: 548 Main Street, Fryeburg, ME 04037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Fryeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fryeburg
Price Range: $222 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxford House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Price range (per night) $149-$205 USD. Clean, contemporary, Arts & Crafts Style inn celebrating rich history of the area. Traditional features include dramatic use of hardwood throughout and stunning mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Oxford House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford House Hotel Fryeburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing