We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“White Rocks, a fantastic place to vacation!”
White Rocks-Right on the Water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
White Rocks-Right on the Water
White Rocks from Water Looking South White Rocks Exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
White Rocks-Right on the Water
White Rocks from Water Looking South
White Rocks Exterior
White Rocks from Dock
White Rocks Cottage-View from Deck
North View from White Rocks Dock
White Rocks View Looking South
White Rocks Cove
White Rocks Living Room
Living Room
White Rocks Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
White Rocks Dining Room
White Rocks Dining Room
White Rocks Kitchen
White Rocks Kitchen
White Rocks Bathroom
White Rocks Bathroom
White Rocks Private Dock
Kayaking at White Rocks
White Rocks Deck
White Rocks Deck Looking West
White Rocks Screened Porch
White Rocks Screened Porch
Adirondack Chairs for Enjoying the View
White Rocks Lawn
White Rocks Parking Area
White Rocks Sunset
White Rocks Sunset
Tall Ship Sailing Past White Rocks
Bald Eagle in Tree by White Rocks
Squirrel Point Lighthouse-Visible from White Rocks
Fish for Striped Bass from Cottage Dock
Miles of Biking Trails/Roads near Cottage
Five Islands Lobster Company-Minutes from White Rocks
View from Five Islands Lobster Co.
Lobster Dinner-Enjoy at the Cottage or at Five Islands
Reid State Park-Maine's Most Beautiful Beach
Reid State Park Tidal Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Georgetown, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ruth S
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“White Rocks, a fantastic place to vacation!”
Reviewed December 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There's not a thing that I can find wrong with a stay at White Rocks. It is so peaceful and private. The cottage is just so beautiful and well maintained. It's the perfect place to relax and relearn how to do nothing but enjoy life. Or, if you like to stay busy, there are so many things to do like hiking, fishing, biking, shopping and site seeing. My husband and I have been repeat customers for many years. We love to stroll along the beaches close to the cottage and the Lyons always provide a free pass to the Parks; what a bonus! The kitchen and bathroom have been updated and the cottage is completely furnished with every amenity you'd ever need, and nicer dishes, glasses, cooking pots, towels, etc., than I have at home! We have never had any issues with anything and the cottage water is great; if fact, you will love the way your hair and skin will feel after you enjoy a relaxing hot shower. We have in fact recommended White Rocks cottage to friends and family, who have all given their stay there excellent reports.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Couldn't think of anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2014
Ruth,

Thank you so much for being a loyal long time repeat customer. We are so glad you enjoy White Rocks Cottage, and we look forward to seeing you again in June 2015!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysterygi...
USA
1 review
“Peaceful, dog friendly waterfront cottage in lovely Georgetown Maine”
Reviewed December 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We loved White Rock cottage! The next to the last cottage on a quiet dead-end road, White Rocks sits at the waters edge. Cozy, simple and perfectly clean, it has everything you need. We spent mornings drinking coffee and relaxing on the screened porch watching boats go by. Beautiful sunsets from the porch as well, great spot for a glass of wine at day's end. The private dock is a wonderful feature, I took a beach chair down and read or just enjoyed the sun. The lawn is large and grassy, there are Adirondack chairs in a secluded spot overlooking the water and the exposed deck has plenty of room to relax as well. We cooked on the gas grill some nights and others we drove a few miles to the well known quintessential Maine Five Islands Lobster where you sit at picnic tables overlooking Five Islands (BYOB) while eating your dinner and The Osprey restaurant at Robinhood Cove where the views are fabulous and the atmosphere is casual with a mix of locals and tourists. Georgetown is a large, lovely island with only a few inns so it's not super touristy and has Reid state park with its beautiful beaches. There is much to do in the area but we loved just relaxing at this sweet spot. We booked for next summer with Mark, who took very good care of us, before we even left! Book early, you won't be sorry. Your dog will love it here!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2014
Kerry,

Thank you so much for your positive review of White Rocks Cottage. We are thrilled you enjoyed staying at the cottage and using the private dock, and we are happy to have you returning in July 2015. Don't forget to bring your boat!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapoABC
WAYNE
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comfy and quiet. Bring drinking water with you. Not for small children.”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

It's hard to describe this cottage, because I have mixed feelings about our stay.
We arrived to find a note taped to the fridge stating that the water was not fit for drinking. I certainly wish I had known that during the rental process, as it would have factored in my decision whether or not to rent there. According to the note there should have been jugs of drinking water waiting for us, but they had been forgotten. It took awhile before someone dropped them off to us. The tap water had a strong rusty smell, which stayed with you after washing or showering.
The cottage is listed as sleeping 6, which is correct, however it only seats four. Four dining room chairs, and two small chairs and a love seat in the tiny living room. Another issue, which is obvious from the photos but which I somehow dismissed when viewing them, is that there is no shoreline to walk on. The rocks go straight down to the water at a sharp angle. I was not comfortable walking to the dock because of the angle of the rocks, especially when it rained. You wouldn't let a young child walk on the rocks unaided. Also, there are many exposed wires due to the open beam construction, another concern for parents of small children, One last note is about privacy. The guest bedroom door upstairs with the twin beds open to directly face the master bed (which was very comfortable). The master area is at the top of an open stairway, and has no privacy when there are guests in the other bedroom. We were uncomfortable having our adult guests face directly toward our bed to use the stairs.
Negatives aside, we enjoyed our week there. The view, from multiple windows, is priceless. The quick peek we had one day of a seal was thriling. We saw deer almost every day on our way up and down to the main road. The kitchen and dining room had everything you could need to cook up a feast, and more than enough plates and utensils. All of the pans needed heavy duty cleaning. My solution was to wrap them in a double layer of tin foil and cook on the foil.
We noticed that most of the people leaving glowing notes in the guest book were couples. The one day that we had guests stay with us overnight felt very tight. The cabin was much more comfortable for just the two of us.
The owner is very avaiable if you have questions or concerns. I just wish, before renting, when I asked him if there was anything else I should know, that he had been forthcoming about the water issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: The water and the drive down from the main road. At least 25 blind curves on a very narrow road with (about) a 2 mile drive down. In some spots we had to back up to let people pass, or they backed up for us.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2014
We would like to sincerely thank this guest for the feedback. We consider all guest comments carefully and are always working to improve the White Rocks Cottage rental experience. We strive to offer the best value vacation rental cottage on the Maine coast, and judging by the reviews of our cottage on TripAdvisor and the comments left in our guest book, we believe we come close to that goal. We appreciate this guest’s positive comments about the cottage’s amazing water views, comfortable beds and quiet location. We are sorry this guest found the cottage water supply to be less than perfect. The note in the cottage about the water supply states: “The cottage water supply is conditioned to remove iron and other minerals, as is most well water along the Maine coast, and is tested regularly. The water is perfectly safe for cooking, washing dishes and showering, but some guests may find it does not have a “city water” taste. We therefore provide bottled spring water free of charge to our guests.” Our cleaning service forgot to leave bottled water for this guest and we have taken steps to insure this does not happen again. We provided the guest with bottled water shortly after check-in. We assure all potential guests that the cottage water is crystal clear and completely odorless. The cottage has been rented for over three decades with many repeat customers, and no other concerns have been expressed about the water. The guest had a comment about exposed wiring in the cottage. Some rooms in White Rocks do not have sheet rock on the walls, like many seasonal cottages, and the wiring is visible in some areas. The wiring is completely safe and meets the latest electrical code. We are sorry this guest found cooking pans that were not cleaned to her satisfaction. As one of the few vacation rental cottages in Maine that does not charge a cleaning fee, we expect guests to wash any used pots and pans before checking out. We have instructed our cleaning service to verify all pots and pans are spotless prior to guest check-in. The guest commented that the cottage is best suited for couples without small children. Numerous families with young children have stayed with us over the years, many of whom have left glowing reviews in our guest book and on TripAdvisor. The guest also mentioned the road to the cottage. The road is a scenic country drive with some twists and turns and very little traffic. Most guests feel the quiet road adds to the beauty and privacy of the cottage’s natural setting. In closing, we appreciate all guest feedback and do our very best to address any guest concerns. As one can see from the photos, White Rocks Cottage is a charming seasonal vacation home in a beautiful waterfront location. We firmly believe that White Rocks is one of the best value vacation rental cottages on the Maine coast.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judi P
Marietta, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Dog Friendly Paradise”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Scenic White Rocks cottage is ideally situated right on the water in friendly Georgetown, Maine. The cottage is delightfully cozy, has everything you could need and is situated right down the road from delicious, fresh seafood restaurants. You can actually watch your dinner come in to the wharf and eat it right there! The local people were very welcoming and very friendly and helpful. Our only regret was that our vacation was one week, not two!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
001Gracie...
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An idyllic spot right on the water”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

White Rocks defines the word cottage, a waterfront structure with charming quirks. It was designed and built by a boat builder and the water is closer than it looks in the photos. There are many wonderful places to relax and soak in the view...the screened in porch, the dock, the Adirondack chairs, the lounges on the deck and the rocks, too. Watching the seals, ducks, birds and boats parade by is too much fun. There are easy hiking trails nearby and exploring the island of Georgetown is fun. LL Bean shopping is just 30 minutes away and the town of Bath is closer. But the most fun was had at the cottage itself enjoying an expansive water view and breathing in so much fresh air. The cottage has everything you need to enjoy where you are.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and proximity to the water
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dedeos
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage and location”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage contained everything we needed for a wonderful week on the harbor. Everything was clean and in place and they even furnished a fishing pole and tackle. I had written several times with questions about the cottage and area and the owner always replied soon and was very helpful. I recommend this cottage to anyone who wants to enjoy the scenery and wildlife (deer and birds) and have a quiet, peaceful place to stay. There are excellent places to shop, eat, enjoy tours (whale, puffin, schooner, etc) and visit places like the Maine aquarium in the Boothbay area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was furnished with everything necessary.
Liked least: Could feel the springs in the sofabed ... but I put a blanket on top and it was comfortable then.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jelena_71...
Romeno, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An beautiful place!!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

White Rocks Cottage is a wonderful place, a breathtaking location directly at the water
The Cottage itself is lovely, cozy, absolutely clean and well kept.
We are an Italian-German family and it was our first stay in Maine. We enjoyed it very much, especially the incredible nature!
In the cottage is a pass for the Reid State Park which is very close and has beautiful beaches!
We can also recommand the Maritime Museum in Bath, also quite close and interesting for the whole family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location!
Liked least: it's better when your kids are at least 5 or 6 years old because the cottage is close to the water
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing