We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
36
17
6
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
36
17
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar harbor lobster continental breakfast breathtaking views bed was comfortable porch bay cozy acadia trail cabin schoodic vista
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 67 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2020 via mobile

The Bluff House Inn is a beautiful spot. There is a main building (the Inn) with several rooms and a separate 2BR apartment over a separate garage building. The Inn has two HUGE decks (first floor and second floor levels - easy social distancing) with comfortable seating and stunning views of the ocean and nearby mountains. There are also 6 small cabins (one bedroom studio style with full bathroom), all with your own little porch and ocean views too. We stayed in a cabin (2 people) and the bed was comfortable, bedding all new and good condition. We went to the Inn most mornings for coffee and bagels before starting our hikes (normally only a couple people there too and all are required to wear masks at the Inn unless seated). Everywhere was extremely clean and well maintained. Parking is all right there by your cabin (or the Inn) so car loading/unloading was easy. There is even a trail on the property down the bluff to the water. The owner Don was always responsive and available for questions before and during our stay, from questions about the property to recommendations on the fly for dinner spots to hiking trails and tips. I can’t say enough good things about this spot. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank Michelle0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don McQuade, Owner at Bluff House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2020

Thank you for the review Michelle, we look forward to a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2020

Had reservations for myself, daughter & Mother. Cancelled 2.5 days before scheduled visit and was charged over $800. That's 4 months of food budget, when one of us has a fever. Way to take care of your fellow Mainers. Disgusting.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank pjpipersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don McQuade, Owner at Bluff House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2020

I have answered your review on every platform now... This guest did not book through us but an online travel agent. The guest cancelled 3 days before arrival in August. The travel agent has a strict 120 day cancellation policy in August because of such high occupancies. I actually offered a voucher for a free stay in the future (even though it wasn't booked through us). I see the comment you keep making about fellow Mainers, we offered a "pay what you can" in June for all Mainers in which 110 nights were booked all at 50% below retail. Wish you the best but wished that you had called before hitting us on every site you could with a negative remark, then you could understand it wasn't done through us. I stand by our reviews and we can always get better but this one is unfair......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2020

After being holed up for many months during the pandemic, we couldn't have picked a better spot for our first weekend getaway! We stayed in one of the recently-built cabins a short stroll from the inn. It was rustic, cozy, and absolutely spotless. The Adirondack chairs on the deck were a great place to sip wine and watch the beautiful sunsets over the bay. In the mornings we walked down to the main inn for coffee and continental breakfast. The coffee was great, and the view from the inn's deck was amazing! The host Don was friendly and welcoming, and happy to share his wealth of knowledge about the area. Although the inn doesn't have an actual restaurant, ask Don about the lobster dinners they occasionally offer. As you can see from the attached photo, our lobster rolls and local microbrews were awesome! BTW, while the main portion of Acadia over near Bar Harbor gets all the attention (and crowds), be sure to explore the Schoodic section of the park - it's a gem!

Room tip: While the new cabins are clean and have great views, the landscaping around them is still a work-in-process.
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordonpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don McQuade, Owner at Bluff House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2020

Glad you stayed with us and enjoyed the cabins. Look forward to the next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2019

I booked a cabin at this property because the main Inn was full. The Inn is very welcoming and pleasant, with a decent breakfast and wonderful views. However, I was quite disappointed in the cabin in which my family member and I stayed. There was a heater provided which did work to increase the temperature, but if pressed, I would call the cabin spartan. There was one facecloth and hand towel, and two bath towels, for two people. Although clean, there was nothing soft on the floor, including a bath mat for the shower, and with the rainy weather, we were bound to track gravel into the room (no mat, inside or outside the door). There was a large hassock at the foot of the bed, along with two small stools, but no chair or other place to sit that had a back on it. And no luggage rack, closet, or clothes pole, Also, given that it was October, an extra blanket would have been welcome, especially since the air conditioner was still in one window and so the window could not be complete shut. If someone had given some thought to a few touches that would have increased the “comforts” for guests, my review would have been better. I’m sure it’s lovely in the summer, but for the price paid, I did not find it a good value.

Room tip: Rooms in the Inn are well-reviewed; cabins not so much
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 74MargaretS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonMcQuade, Owner at Bluff House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2020

We appreciate the review Maragret,

We ordered large down blankets for the cabins that were in the units. Apologies for not getting you another as this was the last weekend the cabins were open. 2020 we have new rugs in the cabins mats for the door. I do agree that this year we should close them down sooner as we have plenty of space at the Inn in October. Thanks for staying hope you give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2019

The Bluff House Inn is situated aptly, on a bluff overlooking the Mt. Desert Narrows. It's breathtaking, and if you book the Eagles Nest (2 room apt. over the garage), you'll have a private deck overlooking the splendor.

We found the accommodations to be lovely and comfortable, and the host to be extremely warm and sweet. Breakfast was delicious, with fresh blueberries, donuts, waffles, cereal, yogurt, or hard-boiled eggs.

We booked here for the view and the affordable rates. We planned our trip to be there on Labor Day weekend, which made a hotel in Bar Harbor beyond our means. Thanks goodness for that because the drive between Gouldsboro and Bar Harbor was lovely, and any of the rooms under $400/night would not have come with a spectacular view like we had from our room, or maybe any view.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sroth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonMcQuade, Owner at Bluff House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2020

Thank for the review. Eagles Nest deck has one of the best views Downeast!! Come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews