We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Timers”
Review of Weatherby's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Lake Stream
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Weatherby's
Freeport, Maine
1 review
“First Timers”
Reviewed 7 December 2010

I wanted to write to extend my sincere thanks to Jeff and all his staff
members for providing an excellent experience for our program
participants. Last week we brought clients from the YMCA, all with varying
chronic illnesses. The food,accomodations,and service were all top notch.
More importantly though the individual care and attention that was
provided made the trip extremely memorable. All the guides were extremely
helpful and went above and beyond to make sure that our clients were
comfortable and safe. In many cases helping to lift clients in and out of
canoes safely and with care for the individual disabilities. Also, we
caught a lot of fish! The wait staff were very cheerful and helpful. In
many cases they went above and beyond for service adapting to individual
dietary needs for our clients. The food was also fabulous~ especially the
shore lunch!

Overall, as first time visitors to Weatherby's, we now understand why
Weatherby's is known as being one of the top fishing resorts in the
country. We would definitely like to return

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swk6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    2
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
13
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Having never been to Maine fishing before, my fishing buddy and I found Weatherby's on line and decided to stay there after several e-mails with the owner (Jeff). We were not disappointed. Jeff went out of his way to make sure he customized our trip to meet our needs.

The first day he took us out to the St. Croix river where we caught more smallies than I can count. The second day he outfitted us with a canoe, truck, food, drink, equipment and instructions on how to find an isolated lake. Although, the fishing was slow that day, we had the lake to ourselves and the scenery and wildlife were beautiful.

The cabin was very comfortable and well equiped and the food in the dining room was beyond what you would expect. It all had a very warm family oriented feel to it and it was obviously important to Jeff that each guest have a very positive experience. We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

we stayed several days. the lodge was beautifull and the food was a pleasant surprise! all home made and very plentifull. we caught several fish and were surprised to have them served to us as an option for dinner. the cottages are rustic and very beautifull. they actually bring a cooler full of ice to your door every day and i got the feeling almost any request would have been tended to. Beth and Jeff are wonderful people and their children played with my son as well. my other half and i went on a 3 mile run down one of many country roads from camp. beautiful scenery. went swimming in the lake, relaxed on teh porch. will go back as soon as i can bring friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jarankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

After a 12 hour ride North from our home it is quite a relief to finally pull in...and they go out of their way for my wife and I who travel with 4 children under the age of 7 and our english setter. This year we celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary there...and the staff again above and beyond the call of duty...preparing us a special "anniversary meal" complete with stuffed lobsters after the regular dinner service so we could dine privately

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank buckmaster07631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I simply love the whole experience at Weatherby's in Grand Lake Stream and the fantastic landlocked fishing in the stream. Jeff and Beth run the lodge extremely well and Jeff adds an important dimension as a knowledgeable guide. He has everything a fisherman needs at his shop and adds to that with his knowledge of the stream and how to fish it effectively. I highly recommend this lodge and will continue to consider a trip to Weatherby's as a key part of each year.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarryCrago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I've stayed at Weatherby's several time while fishing Grand Lake Stream. It's a traditional Maine fishing camp--simple, comfortable, unpretentious and welcoming--and a great value. The food is delicious and the cabins are simple, but comfortable. Jeff is a good guide and Beth and Jeff are good hosts. I just enjoy the place and feel very much at home.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speysport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2007

My husband has stayed at Weatherby's annually for the past 13 years, missing only one year in that time and I began going with him after our marriage 4 years ago. There is just no better place to be! The owners, Jeff and Beth, go out of their way to make everyone welcome. Breakfast and dinner are served in the dining room and are gastronomical delights. The breakfast menu includes everything from a full lodge breakfast, french toast or pancakes made with fresh "Downeast" blueberries, to a lighter breakfast sandwich. Sack lunches, with your choice of sandwiches, chips, fruit and a cookie, are packed for fishing or sightseeing or have your guide prepare you a delicious Shore Lunch. These world class fishing guides are available for salmon fishing on the stream or fishing for smallmouth bass, pickeral and white perch on one of the region's many beautiful lakes. The cabins are rustic, but very comfortable and well kept.
Weatherby's gives you that welcome "middle of nowhere" feeling, but it is actually quite easily reached, being an easy two hour drive from Bangor International Airport, or catch a float plane right up to the dock at West Grand Lake. However you get there, be sure you won't want to leave!

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff, the excellent care everyone takes of the guests, the food, the scenery, everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveln_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Weatherby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weatherby's

Property: Weatherby's
Address: Grand Lake Stream, ME 04637
Region: United States > Maine > Grand Lake Stream
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Grand Lake Stream
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Weatherby`s Hotel Grand Lake Stream
Weatherby's Grand Lake Stream, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing