We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spencer Pond Camps ... A Dream Come True”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spencer Pond Camps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spencer Pond Camps
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Orland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spencer Pond Camps ... A Dream Come True”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

There is no place like Spencer Pond Camps. My husband and I had been searching for years. Over the years we had camped with the kids and family, and now that the kids are on there own, we wanted to get away without the hastle of the camper or a tent. We always have enjoyed the campgrounds with NO generators, there are none now! To book a cabin we found only places that were geared toward tourists with all the ammenities. So, we had all but given up. Until, we found Spencer Pond Camps!

Our stay was everything we dreamed it would be. 1) Quiet, peaceful, clean and "homey". 2)The owners were very helful and friendly. 3) The pond is absolutely beautiful, you cannot see another structure ... no people, no camps, no stores, no vehicles. What you will see ... deer feeding on the opposite side of the pond, moose wading along the shore, a bald eagle flying overhead, and the majestic view of the mountains. 4) The water is beautiful and clear and I never saw anything but fish but If you are going to swim and are scared of leaches (which by the way, are in every pond in Maine) rent a room at the marriot and swim in the pool. 5) The fishing was great, we use the canoe, the owners graciously did not charge us for, and paddled in the sunset AND caught 3 trout! We also caught some off the dock. 6) I normally would rather use the woods than an outhouse, but the outhouse was incredibly clean. Each cabin comes with its own privy and the owners cleaned it every day! Well, actually I don't know who cleaned, because we never saw anyone, it was just magically clean. No smell what so ever. Amazing. 7) We were celebrating our 25 wedding anniversary and so privacy was what we wanted when we booked, and we got it!

Absolutely wonderful. We ARE going back this year to celebrate our 26th!

We had such a great time, our kids have asked for a certificate for christmas so they can go with their spouses.

I do not recommend choosing Spencer Camps if you are:
Affraid of Deer, Moose, Fish or Leaches
Affraid of tripping on a stump
Affraid of birds or bird poop
Affraid of being without technology
Affraid to drive on a road for over an hour and not see a vehicle or a building

For the rest of us...an unbelievable experience. We are blessed to have a place in this crazy world where we can still go and enjoy nature, and each other!

Karen and Don Lanpher

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I certainly understand that this place is "rustic" but "dangerous" wasn't anywhere on the website. The cabins were fine, clean enough, etc. etc. but my trip was skewed by one major incident: the dock in front of our cabin actually BROKE. My friend and I went out on the dock at night to watch the stars and meteor shower when my foot busted THROUGH the wood and I fell head first into the canoe next to the dock and rolled, fully clothed, into the water. At which point one of the owners came out to tell us it was "quiet time." I had to let my friend deal with her because I was soaked to the bone and ready to rage.

The other owner came out the next morning to take a look and said, "we were hoping to get one more season out of that dock." Oh really? So this means they were very aware this dock was old and unsafe. Negligence doesn't even begin to cover it.

THEN to add insult to injury, my friend and I were late checking out becuase we were doing dishes and cleaning up and when we went to pay the bill, they had the NERVE to charge us a late check out fee. Not only did they offer me NOTHING in return for my scraped up leg and banged head (I really could have been seriously injured), they were trying to milk us out of more money because we were a half hour late checking out. I did my best to stay calm (for the sake of my friend, otherwise I would have laid into these slum lords) and they did end up taking off the late check out charge.

Oh and let's not forget a major point left out of the website - the pond is riddled with leaches so you can't swim.

So let's recap, shall we?

1) Dock BROKE, could have been seriously injured (and I did hurt my leg/head)
2) Was not offered any form of compensation - THEY NEVER EVEN SAID 'SORRY'
3) They attempted to charge us for a late check out
4) Cannot swim in the pond unless you want to donate blood to the suckers

I was so disappointed. I'm from Maine. I'm rural. I love my home state. But bad business is bad business. Do your research if you're thinking of staying here. Be very careful if you're bringing your kids.

Let's just say I won't be back - without my lawyer. Or a peg leg.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpencerPondCamps, Guest Relations Manager at Spencer Pond Camps, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
It is unfortunate this is the perception and opinions that this guest left with, we did offer our apologies, and will do so again here publicly. The facts are the cabins are currently undergoing a restoration, two of the cabins are complete, and three new docks have been built, the remaining docks are scheduled to be replaced in 2012 and I am sure that was conveyed to these guests,. These are historic sporting camps, set deep in the North Woods of Maine. I will let potential guests come to their own conclusions based on this and other reviews but as with anything old and authentically historic or antique, it does wear out eventually, even with regular maintenance. It will wear out faster if it is put through rigorous, repetitive motions or not used gently or used in a fashion it was not intended for. We make every attempt to be proactive with our maintenance. We do indeed have leeches in the ponds, they tend to frequent the rocky shallow weedy areas, as they do every pond in Maine. Despite the marketing suggestion for our website, it probably isn’t the best marketing idea to highlight it on our website in bold lettering, but we are VERY honest about it and will think about adding it to our FAQ list, along with the information about black flies and our outhouses which is already included. These cabins are authentic, extremely remote (14 miles via dirt roads to our closest neighbors), and set deep in the heart of Maine's North Woods on a pristine and undeveloped pond with absolutely no amenities other than everything we provide onsite. We want our guests to be well informed when they arrive, We do tell guests where the best swimming areas are & make sure to advise those that are swimming to avoid the weedy areas. Most of our guests have no concerns and enjoy their vacation swimming in the pond! For those interested, there is some great information to dispel many of the myths on leeches from the Maine Department of Environmental Protection. For parents who are considering bringing their children & their safety, please know our two young daughters are currently being raised at the camps, and creating family friendly atmosphere is our highest priority. Our little girls are among the hundreds of children who cherish their time at Spencer Pond and return with their parents each year to create lasting and fond memories. We pride ourselves on our FAMILY focused environment and our policies, such as the 10pm quiet time and zero tolerance for drugs and alcohol outside the cabins reflect that purposefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope, Maine
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Really enjoyed our stay. This is a place for people who want peace, quiet, and rustic. Stellar location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidcoastJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Spent three nights and had a wonderful time. Very beautiful and peaceful location. Serene. Owners friendly, helpful. gracious and hardworking. Cabin very clean, and very cozy. Cabins are rustic- but equipped with everything you need: well-equipped kitchen with gas stove and fridge and lights and hand pumped water at the sink, books and games. Beds so very comfy! Little wood stove kept the cabin cozy. Great hiking, fishing, swimming, canoeing, kayaking right outside your door.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appletonridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Spencer Pond Camps is a very very special place. If you enjoy quiet walks, canoeing on an undeveloped large pond with the chance to see wildlife in their natural setting, being off the grid, gardens, wandering chickens, leaving your car behind, etc. then this is the place for you. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boothbay, Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

A friend and I only spent one night at the camp - and it rained the whole time - but the camp was dry and warm, propane lights, and everything you'd need. The camp and outhouse was very clean and nice. This place is off the beaten path and has hiking, canoeing and kayaking right there. The screened in porch (with view) elimated any bug problem and it was quiet and peaceful. The owners were helpful and it's a great place for families.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank coast222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We hadn't even been at Spencer Pond for a full day when we'd already decided that we'd be back next summer -- this time, for a week. It was clear that four days wouldn't be enough time here!
We stayed at the Moose cabin & enjoyed the swing on the screened in porch more than anything, I think. Lucky the cat was a companionable visitor and the kids loved the "chicken parade!" when the hens & rooster would stroll through the lawn.
It's a very special place and the love that Christy & Dana have for it shines through. They are excellent hosts & we loved our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
24.5 km away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
28.0 km away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
28.0 km away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#3 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 km away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Spencer Pond Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer Pond Camps

Property: Spencer Pond Camps
Address: 806 Spencer Pond Rd, East Middlesex Canal Grant, Greenville, ME 04441-6100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind "unplugged and off the grid" in natural beauty, the way life used to be. Built in 1901, Spencer Pond Camps are an authentic and historic Maine Sporting Camp. They are the only cabins on the pond and sit in the shadow of Little Spencer Mountain. 14 miles via dirt roads from our closest neighbors, on an undeveloped and scenic pond. Recognized as an environmental leader, we offer you a choice of six rustic wilderness lakeside housekeeping cabins - each with its own unique personality. The cabins are fully furnished for comfort including screened porches, rocking chairs, woodstoves, libraries and homemade quilts on the beds.Canoes and kayaks are provided free of charge. Plumbing is "out back" and relaxation is everywhere, non-modernized without electricity and reminiscent of "Little House in the Big Woods" these cabins will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spencer Pond Camps Greenville, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing