We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
273
5
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
273
5
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail moose safari moosehead lake third floor stone walls fresh flowers without being pretentious hill overlooking wonderful hosts amazing views of the lake visit maine wonderful visit spent two nights breakfast was delicious wonderful place get away ruth
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 282 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2020 via mobile

2 great nights in this family owned Relaix and Chateau Inn on Moose Lake. Owner Ruth could not have been more helpful in arranging massages at their spa, dinner, and a private Moose Safari. Inn is beautiful with rooms all being different.
Public rooms are lovely with beautiful furnishings.
Pricey but worth it. Hope to return next year.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank andrea f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2020

We have been fortunate enough to stay in some of the most beautiful hotels in the world (I.e., Chateau Lake Louise, Banff Springs Hotel, Chateau Frontenac, Sacher Hotel, Marriott Marquis, Mark Hopkins...) Without a doubt, the Blair Hill Inn service and accommodations are the absolute best we've ever experienced. Our hosts, Dan and Ruth, were gracious and welcoming; the chef went out of his way to accommodate an allergy, the meals were spectacular- I could go on and on. There is not a single negative comment I can make. My husband has mobility issues, and Room #9 was absolutely perfect.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DCBRGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2020

Firstly the property is truly beautiful and clean and well appointed (even with Covid spacing). The greeting was a little weak as we had to wander around to find someone to check us in. The room (9) was terrific and the view was excellent. The barman was less than friendly at first and asked us if we were staying there? The food was excellent and the server (from Dallas) was a peach! There were some issues with staff as the next morning the owner Ruth (a sweet lady) was rushed off her feet doing everything. Here's the issue as to why its not 5 stars! The bill was in excess of $1,000 for one night, the prices were off the charts for everything! At New York suite prices we thought we would get a glass of champagne when we arrived or a complimentary bottle of wine and some fruit in the room? In the shower there were two opened shampoo bottles and with all the Covid issues, that did not install confidence. Look this place is quite wonderful if you don't mind paying major city pricing and not quite getting the service you would expect.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gasser56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth Mclaughlin, Owner at Blair Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2020

It was nice to speak with you since you left this review. I was very happy to know that you want to return to stay with us and that you really wanted to stay for more than one night with the opportunity for time to use our spa and to take a 'Moose Safari'. I understand that you felt driving up for one night only to return the next morning - made it seem not worth it ~ as you explained to me. I feel better but wish this review could have reflected that sentiment. All of our guests do know the room rate, the cost of our fixed priced dinner, etc. prior to booking with us. I reviewed your bill and the only unknown cost was your bar tab which consisted of cocktails and glasses of wine each at $10 per glass. We are certain that a $10 cocktail and glass of wine at $10 each is very reasonable. Your bill was under $1,000 for our highest priced guest room, dinner for two with cocktails and taxes. Your generous gratuities did bring the bill just over $1,000. We try to take to heart each negative brought to our attention and determine what we should do. Yours is the first time we have received feed back that Guest Room 9 with dinner for two ($89 per person for a 7 course dinner) plus beverages taxes and optional gratuities, was too pricey. We are sorry that we did not provide a treat. During Covid we are not able to provide turn-down service. We did however have a bouquet of fresh flowers, a staffed bar with bar snacks if needed from 3:00 pm to 10:00 pm and our great team. We are small so we do not have a 'front desk' and there isn't far to wander before one of us would see and welcome you if we missed seeing your car pull into our parking lot. And finally, as you stayed with us on a night we also serve the public for dinner, our Sommelier does ask if folks are staying with us so he knows whether to create a room charge versus not. He didn't mean to offend you or seem stand-offish. We are sorry if you felt otherwise and will continue to do our best to always remain welcoming and cheerful. I want to reassure our future guests that 99.9% of the time our guests rave about all of our staff ~ their professionalism, kindness, etc. The very morning I read this review, a guest said that their stay was worth so much more and they had no idea what I was feeling in that moment. We look forward to welcoming you back next year and getting that response next time! Thank you for your feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2020 via mobile

This was a beautiful inn perched on a hill above Moosehead Lake. The views are beautiful. We went on a “Moose” Safari that was fun and saw some moose. There is lots of hiking trails in the area. Dinner at the Inn was fantastic as was breakfast in the morning. This place is definitely worth a visit.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2020 via mobile

Just enjoyed a wonderful visit to Greenville where we joined dear friends in treating ourselves to a stay at the Blair Hill Inn. It was well worth it! It was comfortable and clean and very well appointed. The food was delicious and the bar tender makes amazing concoctions (try the tequila drink - soo good). We are at the Inn both nights, trying different dishes,
and everything was outstanding. Breakfast was equally good.
The best part, however, was the incredible sunset view. We were treated to spectacular sunsets both nights - enjoyed on the beautiful porch with our delicious cocktails. It was heavenly.
We stayed in Room 6 which had gorgeous views of the lake and was spacious and very comfortable. The robes are beautiful!
There is a beautiful, short hike to the top of the hill behind the Inn which provided some exercise and early morning splendor.
Ruth, the proprietor, is delightful and very accommodating.
This is a beautiful property that is doing it right - comfort and luxury without being pretentious. I will definitely return!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank olliesmom86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews