We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale but reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Ranked #3 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Upscale but reasonable”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Lots of extras but at a reasonable cost.I enjoyed the breakfasts all 4 days. The owner shared some of the recipes when I emailed a request. Helpful in planning day trips.Nice to come back to the smell of the chefs homemade breads in the oven.Close to town & the lake.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bobbysgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    24
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
84
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We went to Greenville, ME to see moose. Boy did we see them! They were amazing and the town of Moosehead Lake was very unique. No fast food...just small town hospitality. My kids haven't stopped talking about our trip out east and this was our last stop. Young's Guide Service was great too! Picked us up at the Inn and gave us a great canoeing experience. Wildlife, moose, and mountains, oh my. Great family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hman3638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The inn is a bit over 100 years old. It sits on a hillside just a block or so from downtown Greenville. There's plenty of well-lit parking and the landscaping is very attractive. The inn is well maintained and very clean. There are a number of photos and bits of information about the history scattered about the main level. The owners obviously take great pride in this very attractive spot. The friendly host greeted us, carried luggage upstairs, found a second luggage rack and brought a bucket of ice. The room (#23) had a new TV, plenty (too many, really) of pillows, comfortable chairs, good reading lights and an electric fireplace. The bed was very comfortable, (though I was glad I had my own "squishy" pillow). There's a deep tub (no shower) and lots of hot water. The bathrobes were the softest and most comfortable I've ever experienced in a hotel. The breakfast buffet was varied, plentiful and tasty. We didn't try the dining room, though the menu looked appealing. There's free internet if you have a laptop. A clerical error in the billing was quickly and cordially corrected. Overall, a fine stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IND
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We were a bit leary staying at the Greenville Inn because of the previous reviews but found it very pleasant. We found the innkeepers friendly and easy to talk to. We enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was delicious

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gogramy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

My wife and I will never visit this Inn again. We were treated in the most disrespectful manner.

I would suggest the Blair Hill Inn and the Lodge at Moosehead Lake where we also visited and were treated like kings and queens.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GeorgeII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My wife and I had a wedding in Greenville and some of my family stayed at the Greenville Inn. Since we had the master suite, the wedding party decided to get dressed for the wedding here... which was a big mistake. The owner of the hotel was a complete jerk to our guests and hassled everyone none stop. We were there for a total of 30 minutes getting ready and received nothing but grief. It was really unbelieved how unprofessional these people were. They actually made some of the groomsmen move their cars out of the parking lot... which had about 20 open spaces and we had only 3 cars! They went out of there way to be horrible hosts.

On the flip side we did photos at the Blair Hill in which was completely opposite the Greenville Inn. These people were awesome.. even bringing drinks out for everyone since it was so hot.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank george138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

I am surprised by some of the bad reviews on this site; we stayed there two nights in early August 2008 and had a wonderful time. The owners were very accommodating (I think we changed dinner reservations three times, without complaint), the room was comfortable (no problems with the bed, as others reviewers have noted), and the common areas of the inn were inviting and cozy. It's a short walk to the few downtown restaurants and shops. The owners also gave us good suggestions on dining and other local activities. I think we paid $199 for an interior room; that seems about right in comparison to other comparable inns in Greenville. Dinner is a bit of a splurge but we thought the food and service were both excellent.

  • Liked — Common areas and host
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank templeheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
3.8 km away
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
#2 of 5 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
28.4 km away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#3 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
30.3 km away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.1 km away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
38.5 km away
Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort
28.6 km away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake

Property: Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
Address: 40 Norris Street, At Moosehead Lake, Greenville, ME 04441
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moosehead Lake's most historic inn, just one block from downtown Greenville & Moosehead Lake, this 1890 restored lumber baron's mansion offers luxury & family suites, king/queen guestrooms & private cottages. The inn features upscale amenities and breath-taking views. Choose from accommodations offering a two person whirlpool tub, marble shower, spa robes, flat screen TVs, A/C and free WIFI. Your stay includes a scrumptious breakfast at your private table in our two dining rooms or wrap-around verandah...all while taking in magnificent views. Perched on a hill overlooking the town of Greenville, a one block stroll has you dockside at the historic steamship Katahdin and at the shops of downtown Greenville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenville Inn At Moosehead Lake Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing