We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love the Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Ranked #2 of 5 Greenville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
483 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“We love the Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had a very warm and friendly greeting, from a lady looking after the Lodge whilst the owners were away, and were shown to the Bear room (we have stayed in the Moose Room twice before). It is beautifully decorated with a comfy bed decorated with carved bears, a fireplace and effective air con. There is also a refrigerator and ice provided. The dimmer switch in bathroom is brilliant, and there is a shower over a spa tub. The private decking outside with seating and views over the lake is beautiful. There is wifi in the lounge, but it didn't reach the Bear Room. There is turndown in evening, but our room was not made up on second day, despite us being out from 10 o'clock - it was done promptly once we reported it. Breakfast is served between 8 & 9 - vegetable frittata with potatoes and Belgian waffles on the two days we were there: they were both good, especially as they were eaten outside on the decking. Took the picnic lunch on the Katahdin Cruise option, which was very good - fruit, cheese, bread and bottle of wine. The "no kids" policy make this an oasis of quiet and calm, and we will be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lbortis, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge and the new Katahdin Cruise Package. We now have an assistant innkeeper who provides a very warm, welcoming and knowledgeable hospitality. We were gone for a short trip for my mother's funeral. It was a tough time to be away but harder to say good-bye to our mother. Our staff tried very hard to keep things going at their best. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    27
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
169
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rowlett, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Kathy & I stayed in the MOOSE room since we planned to go on moose safari. Room had a phenomenal view of lake and back yard -- with deer. Coming from Texas, the 79-degree high was tremendous compared to the 106-degrees to which we were accustomed. VERY RELAXING to sit on back balcony and gaze at the beautiful sunsets over the lake.

Linda & Dennis were quite pleasant and helpful. Their attention to details were amazing & appreciated. I had commented when we booked how much I liked red velvet cake which was shown on their website. On our first night to eat in the dining room, Linda had remembered & placed it on the menu -- had it TWICE while I was there.

Not much fresh seafood in Dallas, so we had both the lobster mac 'n cheese & buffalo meatloaf on two separate nights. MMMmmm!

Georgine (assistant innkeeper) was so pleasant and helpful, both as she kept our room and served during the breakfasts & dinners. Eating from either inside or on the balcony provided stunning views of the gorgeous sunsets & lake. Linda's landscaping around the lodge was beautiful and made the views even better.

Again, their attention to details (like packing our breakfasts the night before our early-morning moose safari & preparing a picnic lunch for our Katahdin boat excursion) was tremendous. For even a "small" lodge, they have their logos on the bathroom soaps/shampoos, bath robes, and pillow chocolates). I drank coffee from my MooseHead Lodge mug again this morning here in Texas. They have upgraded to Keurig coffee machines in each room, allowing even more selection & convenience.

The MOOSE SAFARI with Ed (guide) was phenomenal!! Before we even got into the canoe, we saw 2 moose in the cove where we started. Took about 45 minutes of tremendous photos. Linda presented us with our souvenir picture of us with the moose in the background. Also saw LOON which were beautiful.

Chloe (their French Bulldog) was quite pleasant to everyone & definitely expected you to pet her. What a saleslady.

Wish we could have stayed longer to relax on the balcony. WE WILL RETURN! Thank you Linda & Dennis.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GadgetGuy-Rowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Views are beautiful. Food was outstanding! Service was a bit off as they were fully booked and had some unforseeable complications. Georgine is a super special person (the assistant innkeeper). As for the physical beauty, I think their brochures speak for themselves. Beautiful. Rooms were clean and crisp. There is attention to all the small details in the rooms as well. From bathroom amenitiies and turndown service with chocolates, to a pantry with snacks, cold beverages, and coffee and tea all day, thius inn seems to be very well managed.

Room Tip: Totem has awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We just got back from a three night stay at the Lodge at Moosehead lake. We took our oldest daughter and her boyfriend with us as a birthday present. Our rooms were unique and immaculate. Linda and Dennis were impeccable hosts. They were attentive but not intrusive and always ready to help. Breakfast on the terrace or in the dining room was a great way to start the day, with a fresh cooked entre and home made pastries and fruit, etc., and the view from the lodge and from our room (the Moose Room) was magnificent.
We were so busy in Greenville that we regretted not having more time to just hang out and relax at the Lodge and play with Chloe the French Bulldog.
We would recommend the Lodge at Moosehead Lake to anyone who want to relax in elegance and comfort in the Moosehead Lake region.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank countrydoc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed here 11 years ago and I had forgotten how magnificent this place is. It combines the rustic feeling of the mountains with the luxury of a 5 star resort. The Allagash suite, where we stayed, recently had its bathroom renovated so a relaxing bath was the first thing we did upon arrival. The champagne and chocolate covered strawberries didn't hurt. This room has a splendid view of Moosehead Lake and its so peaceful and quiet, perfect for relaxing after 2 days of rafting on the Penobscot.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacquieB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
therelaxedtraveler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

The lodge owners do not publicise this but you should skip this place if you have a family. They are NOT family friendly. I called to double check some information about the two room suite and was very rudely advised "we don't want children - it is on our website". Well, when i asked where i should have found that on the website the owner responded - "Uh, I don't know but it is there!"

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank therelaxedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lbortis, Owner at Lodge at Moosehead Lake, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
At the Lodge we attempt to remain flexible enough to accommodate as many guest as possible. Accommodations for children younger than 12 years of age is an example that often requires flexibility. Each of those requests is considered on an individual basis and the final decision will vary based on family size, room availability and season. We reviewed the information on our new website and recognized that it could be clarified. We have added language that will better explain our policy.

We always accept age 12 and older. The Mt. Kineo suite has no adjoining rooms and with 2 bedrooms and a full kitchen it can usually accommodate younger children. The Lodge, with its many amenities, custom decorating and quiet relaxed atmosphere is an adult oriented destination. We do not have childrens’ menus, special activities, cribs, booster chairs or other convenience items for small children. For family reunions where the full Lodge is rented, it is possible to except all ages. We appreciate this opportunity to clarify our policy and encourage everyone to contact us directly to discuss individual options that might be available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chattanooga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

This waa our first trip to Maine from Tennessee. If I had a private plane, I would return every weekend. Our room was outstanding, the owners were wonderful. The town was small but the townsfolk very friendly. If you are athletic, great place - if you want yto relax and get away from it all -- GREAT PLACE!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funoorcreeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
3.8 km away
Greenville Inn at Moosehead Lake
25.8 km away
Gray Ghost Camps
Gray Ghost Camps
#3 of 5 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
33.6 km away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.2 km away
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
Lake Parlin Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Parlin Pond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
25.9 km away
Maynard's-in-Maine
Maynard's-in-Maine
#1 of 2 in Rockwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
35.1 km away
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
Hawk's Nest Lodge Suites
#2 of 2 in West Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Moosehead Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Moosehead Lake

Property: Lodge at Moosehead Lake
Address: 368 Lily Bay Rd, Greenville, ME 04441-4208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Moosehead Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy breathtaking lake and mountain views at our romantic Greenville, Maine inn. Relax in masterfully decorated rooms and suites at our Moosehead Lake lodging with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, private decks, and luxurious linens and robes. Sit back in our pub with full bar and games, or enjoy our complimentary snacks, DVD library and Wi-Fi. Don't miss out on unforgettable breakfasts and sumptuous weekend dinners at this Moosehead Lake adventure lodge. Activities galore - many exclusive to the Lodge at Moosehead, a Select Registry Property. AAA 4 Diamond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lodge at Moosehead Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Hotel Greenville
Moosehead Lake Hotel
Lodge At Moosehead Lake Greenville, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing