We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ironbound Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$139
US$113
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acadia Pines Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Robbins Motel(Bar Harbor)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Inn(Ellsworth)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Village Motel and Cottages(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay(Hulls Cove)(Great Value!)
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Acadia Sunrise Motel(Trenton)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
12
2
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
2
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalibutnew chefguacamolehidden gemgreat foodleslieserverappetizers
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 16 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

It's always a pleasure to eat here. The menu has a nice variety and the prices are reasonable. We enjoyed the addition of pork belly to the appetizers. My husband almost always has the Finnan Haddie, and I always have creme brûlée for dessert! We do miss the Mediterranean cheese dip though. The replacement is not the same.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank nbakillam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Usually everything goes smoothly here, it depends on how busy it is. Last visit, we had 5 in our party, and service was slow. We had to wait 40 minutes to get our appetizers served and then waited awhile for our dinners to come out too. It is always worth it and we like this restaurant, but when they get "slammed" with diners, you are going to have to wait. I'd recommend studying the menu BEFORE you go there [online] and put your entire order in early for the best service.

It has been our experience that the food is always good and the people working there are very nice. Even the owner buses tables when they are busy. We will return as it is the best option for good food for miles around.

We did not stay at the Inn, we only used the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Brewster45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

The staff at Ironbound worked tirelessly. The owner Leslie must have a twin as she seems to be on top of every detail.

Our room was delightful. The bed was comfortable, the linens nice, the air conditioning unit quiet and effective.

The setting is lovely. We had a porch overlooking the park like setting in the rear.

Fresh fruit, bagels and coffee were available in the am.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 2OTRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

The number of cars in the parking lot was a clear indication of how good the food was going to be!

Excellent service, friendly staff, and the food was impeccable. The prices are moderate, depending on what you get. We had both the seafood and the chicken specials. One appetizer and two desserts (no drinks or alcohol) and the bill was $86 plus tip.

The Halibut with lobster topping was to die for. The chicken topped with prosciutto and mozzarella was extremely good. Both came with mashed potatoes and a mix of small green beans, roasted beets and zucchini slices.

The appetizer list was intriguing as we landed on getting guacamole and chips. I can say that was the best guacamole I have ever had - heavy on cilantro just like I like it. The chips were hot and fresh.

The dessert portions were generous. All are made on the premises. We tried the creme brûlée (which had real vanilla bean) and the lemon curd. Both were beyond tasty.

Definitely worth going to this place and rest assured I will be going back.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank cllsrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

If your in travels take you Downeast Maine the Iron Bound in a great little 4 room B&B run by Leslie. She was friendly & most helpful with local information. The Inn also owns Sullivan Farm store just down the street.
The inn also has a fabulous Resturant downstairs, suggest having the ribeye steak!
The B&B is above the Resturant, large outside deck with seating for that afternoon glass of wine or a peaceful garden. The room was perfect, comfy bed with high ceiling and a seating area & table with Bose wave radio. No TV but there is wifi.
Very peaceful a night away.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank l_sciabarrasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews