We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the sunrise from your bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Loved The Colony! We had the premier room, end unit, with a picture window overlooking the bay. Two leather chairs with ottomans to relax and enjoy the view when the weather is a bit chilly or wet. It was late September when we Floridians visited, so the inside view was perfect. Very comfortable oversize king bed, that if you opted to leave the curtains open can watch the sunrise through the picture window. The road is between you and the bay with traffic heading to Acadia, so you will want to close the curtains for privacy. Room clean, sink in bathroom and another outside. This room was just redone, refurnished with a bit of old charm left. Jean, the owner, is very friendly and accommodating. Great restaurant, The Chart Room, just steps away. Highly recommend it, told a few other couples heading towards Acadia about it and they plan to stay there, too.

Room Tip: Room 70 has the big picture window - especially great if the weather isn't perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwenL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed at The Colony on Frenchman's Bay in Cottage #3 for 3 nights from 9/18-21. We were early to check in, but when greeted by the owner upon arrival we instantly new we had found a great place to stay. She was very accommodating and allowed us to preview the cottage unescorted to make sure it was to our liking. Everyone on staff that we talked with was polite and friendly. The cottage was spacious and extremely clean. Something the owners were very proud of. It's a perfect place to stay if you are going to visit Acadia and/or Bar Harbor, since both are only a short drive away. Also, the view of Frenchman's Bay is spectacular from almost anywhere on the property, especially the private beach. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you'd prefer not having other vacationers' in the neighboring room, or just want somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

What we loved: 1. It's close to Acadia -- we loved that it was so VERY close to Acadia that we were able to drive up Cadillac Mountain for the sunrise in our PJ's, waking everyone at 4:45 a.m. and were still able to be back at the Colony by 6:30 so that we could sleep in a bit more before a long day in the park. This is the number ONE reason to book at the Colony - the sunrise on the mountain is an unforgettable and awe-inspiring experience! It's also just a short drive to Bar Harbor, and though we didn't use it, it's also on the bus line. 2. Beautiful grounds and a view that will remind you that you are definitely in MAINE. We were way in the 'back' in cottage 16 and still able to sit on the porch with a gorgeous view of the harbor, water, and landscape. We watched various ships sailing in and out of the Maine landscape - including one large cruise ship, and a very pretty three-masted schooner. 3. Pool - super clean and heated. 4. Cottages are cozy and quaint, and very clean! Loved the kitschy retro feel and especially the seafoam green bathroom!! 5. Huge lawn was great for the kids to safely play. There was none of that 'cooped up' 'what are we gonna do now?' feeling that you get crammed into a hotel room.... Even with six people, with all that outdoor space, it felt very livable and relaxing. For the kids, it's almost like being at a campground as it's safe for them to run around in the yard playing ball and making friends with other kids. 6. Within walking distance there is a very good seaside restaurant - casual fine dining with a full bar, as well as a pizza place, an ice cream shop and a small general store. What else do you need?! 7. Didn't have a dog with us, but, how can you not love such a wonderful pet friendly place? 8. If you are there on a Saturday night, be sure to meet the bagpiper. He plays first out near the small beach overlooking the water - later made the rounds to each cottage and serenades you with a private song if you like. 9. Prices are very reasonable compared to other places in Bar Harbor area. 10. Gotta love the separate bedrooms in some of the cottages - after all that 'togetherness' on vacation, was very nice to have our own room - and the kids loved that the TV was in their space in the main room. GREAT PLACE!!!! (One suggestion: It is so nice to sit outside on your little porch, whether watching the kids in the pool, or just admiring the view. That said, it might be worth packing a couple of comfortable lawn chairs, as the two porch chairs provided are just your basic straight backed hard metal chairs, and not too comfy for kicking back with a glass of wine and taking in the view. We were glad we had our soft folding beach chairs with us)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rainydayghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

What a nice little cottage with great VALUE. My husband and I just got home today. We stayed in Boothbay Harbor for Vacation, however when it was over we where not ready to go home. So we took a wrong turn to my childhood vacation destination, BAR HARBOR. We had no clue where we would stay and decided to just drive till we found something.We checked in to one room however my husband was not satisfied with the location. So we took a short ride towards the Harbor and came across these wonderful cottages directly across from the water and a SHORT walk to a fantastic restaurant and general store. Allso it was only a 3.5 mile drive to downtown or not even 3 Minutes to Acadia.
The grounds are kept awesome, The laundry facility
was an amazing help, and the pool was CLEAN!! The rooms are your typical nice country cottage. Nothing fancy but VERY HOMEY and COMFORTABLE!! The staff are all family and Long time residents. They are Ready and Able to answer all your questions and help you make the most of your time there.
We can not wait to go back! I am planning a Family Vacation next time and will Defiantly be calling The Colony for our accommodations .
Ron and Priscilla MacNeill
Kingston NH

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PriscillaMacNeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed at The Colony for one night while visiting Acadia National Park. We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel near Bar Harbor. Based on the reviews, we knew what to expect (70's decor but clean) so our expectations were set correctly. We stayed in the Motel as opposed to one of the cabins. That was the only room available and frankly, it might have been best. Each room has a huge picture window which makes the whole room very bright. The room itself was huge and was the biggest one we stayed in during our two weeks of vacation travelling from hotel/motel to motel. Yes, the bathroom fixtures were turquoise but everything was very clean and as a bonus, there was a second sink outside of the bathroom which was convenient. The coffee machine was a Keurig which was also a novelty for a motel. The pool was heated and my son enjoyed swimming after a day of hiking.

The check-in people weren't the most friendly but it looked like they had had a long day. Maybe some boredoom too. Place had WI-FI which was convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ottawamom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We spent a wonderful two nights in two rooms. We had 3 grandboys, their mother and uncle
with us. The location was perfect for everything. The boys enjoyed the heated pool and wanted to spend more time in it. We plan on going back again even without the boys. We
highly recommend The Colony.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OakeyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Just came back from a vacation with my daughter and my dog. The Colony was a great place to stay. Clean, quiet, and very dog friendly (they even have a dog walk). The heated pool was a nice break between activities. The cabins are not right on the road, so it is quiet. The Colony is 2 minutes from the entrance to Acadia, and 10 minutes from town. The kitchen only consists of a fridge and microwave, so plan accordingly. Also, I would suggest bringing your own towels (you are given the standard small hotel towels). I am writing a review because it was helpful for me when I was looking for a place to stay. I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmgl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulls Cove
3.8 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
4.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
315 reviews
2.4 km away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
717 reviews
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
2.0 km away
Acadia Ocean View Motel
Acadia Ocean View Motel
#35 of 41 in Bar Harbor
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony on Frenchman's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony on Frenchman's Bay

Address: # 20 rr3, Hulls Cove, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor > Hulls Cove
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hulls Cove
Price Range: $143 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Colony on Frenchman's Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your The Colony on Frenchman's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony On Frenchman`s Bay Hotel Hulls Cove
The Colony On Frenchman's Bay Maine/Hulls Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing