We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be”

The White Barn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The White Barn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 70 Restaurants in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$125 - US$165
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 9
Description: Fine American cuisine served in a fabulously converted barn. The White Barn Inn Restaurant is a AAA Five Diamond, Forbes 5 Star and Relais & Châteaux property.
Reviewed November 23, 2017

We just had thanksgiving dinner and even though it was good it was not up to the high standards as previously when it was truly a 5 star restaurant. I know it changed hands recently and maybe their goals have changed. Before there was a strict dress code but today we saw people in jeans so obviously the dress code is no longer enforced. Portions were smaller, service was good but not excellent. Small things were eliminated such as the chiefs sampler prior to the appetizer and chocolates at the end of the service. I would still recommend the White Barn Inn but it is disappointing that high standards are no longer important.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CCAAGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo A, Manager at The White Barn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Dear CCAAGG,
Thank you so much for dining with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
I am so sorry that you feel that we fell short of your expectations during your Thanksgiving dinner with us.
I want to assure you that ownership of the White Barn Inn has not changed in over ten years and the same dedicated people remain running the property under the Grace flag. Outside of holidays, we still serve an amuse bouche, a great pre-dessert and our trees of homemade mignardise. Even though we did relax the dress code a couple of years ago, based on our guests' feedback, everyone here at the White Barn remains committed to the highest standards of service and levels of excellence that we have had for the last 20 years. This makes it even harder to hear when we miss out on delivering a great experience. I would greatly appreciate an opportunity to discuss your visit in person. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at 207-361-8458.

Sincerely,
Hugo Aguirre
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 562 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2017

I'm rating this as average although they go to great effort to make it super-swanky for one reason--too expensive for what you are getting. They do it up very lavish, including three dessert courses, and it was all very attentive and the service was great, etc. I would compare the type of dinner service to one of my favorite all-time places on earth--Blackberry Farm in Tennessee, only it isn't even remotely close to the same food quality. It's good, don't get us wrong, but we found the whole thing stilted and over-wrought. The next night we ate at a lobster shack in town and had a drink at White Barn Inn's bar (we were staying there), and the couple next to us was eating a fabulous looking pepperoni pizza and a salad--we were told they did in fact have casual bar food. My husband and I agreed we'd have much rather had the relaxed bar food, drinks, and group conversation with fellow travelers than sit a the two-hour dinner that took itself way too seriously.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 208julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo A, Manager at The White Barn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2017

Dear 208julie,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your thoughts on your White Barn Restaurant experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the experience overall, albeit that we did not exceed your expectations, which is always our goal. We would love to welcome you back and hope you enjoy our White Barn Bistro as well.
Sincerely,
Hugo Aguirre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Been here many times and last visit did not disappoint. Great service and some of the best French gourmet food ever. Incredible dining experience

Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo A, Manager at The White Barn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Dear Rob K,
We have been a part of this community for many years, but it is what we do every day that matters to guests like you. We work hard to create that trust you spoke to. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments.
Sincerely,
Hugo Aguirre
Maître d'Hôtel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2017

Sometimes you just want to be spoiled. Exquisite French cuisine served by attentive individual servers directed by professional waiters. For that special occasion with rustic ambience with "Black Hat" level food, go to the White Barn. Hint... Go off peak nights for the best experience

Thank rons99876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo A, Manager at The White Barn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Dear rons99876,
That is exactly what we strive for every day. We are delighted to hear that it is exactly how you felt! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Sincerely,
Hugo Aguirre
Maître d'Hôtel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2017

This is the best fine dining restaurant that we have eaten in for several years. That;s really saying something because we dine out often and patronize a faire amount of high-end places. The service staff in formal dress, the venue itself and the food and drink are truly special. This place deserves all the kudos that it gets.

Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo A, Manager at The White Barn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Thank you Charles N. for your kind words. We are delighted to hear from you. Everyone at The White Barn Restaurant takes great pride in exceeding our guest's expectations. It is quite special to hear back from our guests and learn how much they enjoyed it. We certainly hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Hugo Aguirre
Maître d'Hôtel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Barn Restaurant also viewed

Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to The White Barn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing