We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Visit here for serenity and picturesque grounds” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franciscan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Franciscan Guest House
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunk
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Visit here for serenity and picturesque grounds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed here for one night in early April and paid $95 after tax. The rooms were basic with fake wood panelling (my husband’s initial reaction was ‘why did you book a dormitory?’) The bathrooms were clean and the service was excellent. They served an outstanding breakfast with scrambled eggs and hotcakes in addition to the usual continental foods. Their breads and bagels were particularly yummy.

The best part of the ‘guest house’ is its grounds. There is a short walk around the various shrines – they give you a pamphlet to explain these – The walk also includes several magnificent views across the river to Kennebunk. They hold Mass regularly (we are not the church going types so I can’t comment on the church or service).

Come here if you like to meditate but don’t expect a modern or classy room.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    57
    22
    10
    12
See reviews for
40
48
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

The staff is terrible and rude, young hired students for maintenance from other countries keep bursting into the rooms and don't even say sorry or hello. The food is terrible and tasted like it was outdated, I felt sick from it. Bathrooms are all full of cobwebs and smell really bad. The manager is small and dumb, he doesn't care about the complaints. The pool is very old and the water is polluted. All the lounges are so dirty that from being originally white they turned black because all the dirt. And the most terrible part is that after the water started leaking from the ceiling straight onto our heads, maintenance phone wasn't answering and in the morning we were told in the office that problem will be fixed soon. But, however, we waited all day and when nigh came again water was still leaking and we had to end our holiday and go home with all the money already paid. Plus, everything is terribly overpriced. The hotel doesn't fit the standards, it couldn't get even half of the star.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bubbachuck57804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kennebunk hotels

Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

This place just burns me. What a beautiful place with a perfect location. The grounds are beautiful here and the hotel is just a skip from the beach and beautiful downtown with shops, restaurants, whale watching tours etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful and were all a pleasure to deal with. The food was great as we had the large continental breakfast and some very well prepared lunches and dinners. Heres the thing-the buildings are run down and outdated. It has a creaky dormitory feel, there is no housekeeping, none of the linens match and the carpets...eghhh... With all the money this place must take in during the summer how is it possible to not update this place? It twists my mind to think about it. I can only assume this place is poorly run or can't keep track of its finances because with all the business I've heard this place gets surely they can afford matching comforters. Like I said its a mixed bag. Hopefully someone will wake up and realize a couple grand spent on this place could make it the best place on the Southern Maine coast.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misterslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed here out of curiosity. Beautiful grounds, great location, reasonable but not spectacular price. We found the rooms to be very clean but very old dormitory style badly in need of updating. They are rather depressing. Extensive continental breakfast means that there are a lot of choices but none are very good including the coffee. I strongly agree with another reviewer re: the breakfast. The pool looked very nice but in process of closing for the season when we were there.
We will not stay here again. Better properties are nearby for $20-30 more per night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaker Heights
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

My husband and I came to Kennebunk for a wedding in August and stayed at the Franciscan Guest House for two nights because the $109/ night rate suited our budget. We would never stay there again, not even for free. How hard is it to slap on a coat of fresh paint? How hard is it to replace a 99 cent shower curtain once a season? How hard is it to runner a swiffer under the bed once in a while? Yuk, is all I can say, and that goes for the breakfast also. Yes, the grounds are beautiful, but the guest house we stayed in was a dirty and depressing dump.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScoutShakerHeights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

Absolutely loved staying at this peaceful guest home which was clean and well maintained with beautiful grounds. I went with my mother who appreciated going to mass there on Sunday morning. The free breakfasts every morning were a good way to start off the day of shopping and going to the beach. The staff were helpful and cheerful and the grounds were well maintained. The peace and quiet afforded to us during our weekend stay was priceless. It was great being less than a half mile walk into town and the beaches were a short drive to get to. I would recommend this guest home as a place to stay, especially for families.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJB-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

I recently stayed at the Franciscan Guest House with a family member. We both greatly enjoyed staying there because the lodgings were comfortable and grounds were very beautiful and peaceful. Our dormitory-style room had two twin beds, and while small, had such basic amenities as a refrigerator and AC. The room and private bath were spotlessly clean. The hotel seems to attract a quieter clientele, and we were never bothered by noise in the halls or partying in the rooms. Probably what we enjoyed most was the salt water pool. The Franciscan Guest House is an excellent choice for quiet, no-frills lodging.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qqchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.5 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 6 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.7 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.7 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#6 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.0 km away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Guest House

Property: Franciscan Guest House
Address: 26 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable option for the Kennebunk/Kennebunkport area. The hotel offers simple, plain, comfortable guest rooms for young families, seniors and anyone on a budget. Located next to the beautiful St. Anthony's Monastery Grounds with 44 acres of trees, rolling lawns, picnic tables, riverside walking path, shrines and wildlife. Only 15 minute walk to the beach. Or if you wish to drive, parking permits are available for a small fee. The continental buffet included with your room, with an upgrade to hot breakfast available for a small fee. Amenities include outdoor saltwater pool, free parking, A/C's, mini-refrigerator in all rooms. Supper by our Lithuanian cooks available in peak season. The hotel is a little oasis of peace and tranquility between Docks Square and the Kennebunk beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Franciscan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franciscan Guest House Hotel Kennebunk
Franciscan Hotel Kennebunk
Franciscan Guest House Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing