We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice at a price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Ranked #14 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We booked a Riverside King Water View Patio room, and weren’t disappointed. The room was on the ground floor, large and well furnished, with patio doors leading onto a private balcony with reclining loungers. The view across the river and out to sea was beautiful. The only real gripe was that there is little soundproofing, so we heard our neighbours inside and outside the room. Breakfast was served in the adjacent restaurant and included a full continental selection, along with quiche, croissants, meats, cheeses, fruit, bread, bagels, bread and pastries, all eaten overlooking the sea. All in all, very, very nice, but at a price over $500 for one night it needs to be. We’ve stayed in better properties for far less, such as the Bayview in Bar Harbor, which beats this hands down!!!

Room Tip: Pick a riverside water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Offthetouristtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

spent the weekend with the gf and we had the room on the water. it was a great weekend experience - including the massage at the spa was nice and relaxing and eating at the fish restaurant next door. it was a nice getaway from the city but too slow if you are used to city life but that's a lot of places in maine. anyways, would go back for R&R and getting away from the bustle of the city life.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife & I stayed in the spa section of the inn (3 days in late August )which is physically separate from the main inn area. We made this decision because the internet pictures seemed to indicate that these rooms were more modern. The room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. The views overlook the parking lot and the main street. The air conditioning unit was in the room and in need to a total overhaul/replacement--very annoying. The floor boards squeak and you hear the people above walkling around their room. The TV's are old fashioned CRT but the channel selections are very good. The bath tub is dangerously slippery and the towels have never met a softener---real rough. The room needs more floor lamps. The staff is very good (especially the twins) and try to make your stay memorable. For breakfast you exit the building and walk outside about 25 yards to the main inn whose common areas are very nice. The self-serve continental breakfast is OK, nothing to get excited about. The area behind the inn is great for relaxing as the sun sets on the river/harbor view. There are really good cookies and coffee/tea available in the late afternoon at no charge. Would we stay here again? Yes. The location is very good and the restaurant across the street is outstanding for lobster and other dinner items. Ask to see the rooms in both the Inn & Spa before you settle down. Parts of the Inn are scheduled for rennovation this winter, so things are changing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Our stay at the Breakwater Inn was amazing. The hotel was close to everything with it's own 5 star restaurant, rooms with views and extremely comfortable beds.a little pricey but well worth it. We spent 2 days there on a road trip through New England to see the fall colors. staff was wonderful and it was a romantic time for us.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank nissismusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I have stayed here many times over the last 10 years and it only gets worst over time. Front desk is normally staffed but somehow it seems as if they are always to busy to help. The lack of instruction with the coffee service, meals and location of other items is lacking. For example when asked at the front desk if they had a tooth brush (which my wife forgot )they said "we do not have any". When asking for a key to the lockers in the spa I was told, "go to the desk in the spa to get one" however when I went to the spa I could not find a desk or anyone. I returned to the main desk where the same person gave me a key. The breakfast service was unbelievable, no instruction again as to how it works with many staff standing around and doing nothing and when asked for coffee it was if I was bothering them. The best thing is the room. This place needs management!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mps7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This property is a real mixed bag. The setting is lovely (right on the water) and some parts of the building are fine with others mainly the rooms in need of updating. Our room was so small we could barely walk in it and forget about luggage. We asked about a larger room and were told they had a room with a porch. We kept asking if it was larger and he keep pushing the porch--English was not his first language. WE finally got a larger room.
There are no elevators and the halls and stairs are hot and stuffy. Getting ice is a major hassle as you have to ask at the "desk" which is hidden in a corner. Guests cannot get their own ice and you often get attitude. Some of the staff especially the locals were very friendly. The "imported help" not so much. Basic things like not replacing toiletries and only filling coffee cups half way are just other examples of lack of customer service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank durigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 days and wish we stayed longer..The Inn was amazing, clean friendly great view and the amenities were fantastic from afternoon tea sitting on andirondeck chairs watching the boats sail by...spa treatments..breakfast buffet ..bar and restaurant all fantastic. Everything was clean and comfortable beds. Mabels across the street has fantastic clam chowder and homemade desserts to die for. Hannahs store within walking distance is a fun shop for the ladies..so much to see ..we went on a sailing ship and saw Pres Bush Sr speeding by in his boat. Spetacular views and great roads to dosome walking the scenery is fantastic.Allisons restaurant was our favorite too in town. What a great get away! 5 star ++++

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazamm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.5 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
670 reviews
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
309 reviews
0.4 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
#12 of 25 in Kennebunkport
235 reviews
1.4 km away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
289 reviews
1.0 km away
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
#11 of 25 in Kennebunkport
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakwater Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Address: 127 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: $172 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Breakwater Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1880's, The Breakwater Inn & Spa is one of the most historic Kennebunkport hotels and inns with all the modern hotel comforts, located right on the Kennebunk River waterfront. Experience our chic water view inn rooms, cottages or spa rooms as you indulge in exclusive signature spa treatments in our luxury spa complex. Delight in innovative cuisine at Stripers Waterside Restaurant, taking pleasure in the freshest seafood, lobster and shellfish from the New England Maine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca and getaroom.com so you can book your The Breakwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Kennebunkport
The Breakwater Inn And Spa Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing