We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Lodge at Turbat's Creek(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$69
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhumb Line Resort(Kennebunkport)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nonantum Resort(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tides Beach Club(Kennebunkport)
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kennebunkport Inn(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
US$227
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colony Hotel(Kennebunkport)(Great Value!)
US$179
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King's Port Inn(Kennebunk)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
154
71
37
10
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
71
37
10
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater viewporch overlooking the rivercontinental breakfastno elevatorfitness centeradirondack chairslobster clawkennebunk riverdesk clerkmy husband and iking roomoff seasoncelebrate our anniversaryyogurtnew englandthird floorrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 288 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed in a Queen room with balcony in the Spa Building facing the water. My husband liked the room because it was more boutique hotel than frilly B&B. The water view, spa robes, Molton Brown toiletries, and close access to the spa amenities/gym made our stay a sanctuary from the tour bus masses closer to town. The hotel is a 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive to town, but my tip is that one of the best walks in New England is just outside the Breakwater Inn. Just take a right outside the hotel and walk along "Parson's Way" on Ocean Ave. It is the best way to see the stately homes, St. Anne's stone church, the rocky coastline, and Walker's Point. There are several park benches along the path. There are also a few nice boutiques and art galleries on the ground level outside the Breakwater Inn spa building. The main inn building & Stripers restaurant is about 100 yards away. Continental breakfast is included with the room- basic bagels, toast, cold cuts, pastries, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, ect. I can also commend the service at the hotel-the staff went out of their way to help us reschedule our anniversary trip when our original trip dates were disrupted by Hurricane Irene. Our room deposit was credited promptly, and we received a lower room rate since our new trip dates fell after Labor Day. When we needed toothpaste, a staff member brought it up within 2 minutes. The restaurant servers and bartender were attentive, friendly, and professional. The hotel is scheduled for upgrades over the winter, and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony/water view is worth it!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATLpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We booked a Riverside King Water View Patio room, and weren’t disappointed. The room was on the ground floor, large and well furnished, with patio doors leading onto a private balcony with reclining loungers. The view across the river and out to sea was beautiful. The only real gripe was that there is little soundproofing, so we heard our neighbours inside and outside the room. Breakfast was served in the adjacent restaurant and included a full continental selection, along with quiche, croissants, meats, cheeses, fruit, bread, bagels, bread and pastries, all eaten overlooking the sea. All in all, very, very nice, but at a price over $500 for one night it needs to be. We’ve stayed in better properties for far less, such as the Bayview in Bar Harbor, which beats this hands down!!!

Room Tip: Pick a riverside water view room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Offthetouristtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2011

spent the weekend with the gf and we had the room on the water. it was a great weekend experience - including the massage at the spa was nice and relaxing and eating at the fish restaurant next door. it was a nice getaway from the city but too slow if you are used to city life but that's a lot of places in maine. anyways, would go back for R&R and getting away from the bustle of the city life.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My wife & I stayed in the spa section of the inn (3 days in late August )which is physically separate from the main inn area. We made this decision because the internet pictures seemed to indicate that these rooms were more modern. The room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. The views overlook the parking lot and the main street. The air conditioning unit was in the room and in need to a total overhaul/replacement--very annoying. The floor boards squeak and you hear the people above walkling around their room. The TV's are old fashioned CRT but the channel selections are very good. The bath tub is dangerously slippery and the towels have never met a softener---real rough. The room needs more floor lamps. The staff is very good (especially the twins) and try to make your stay memorable. For breakfast you exit the building and walk outside about 25 yards to the main inn whose common areas are very nice. The self-serve continental breakfast is OK, nothing to get excited about. The area behind the inn is great for relaxing as the sun sets on the river/harbor view. There are really good cookies and coffee/tea available in the late afternoon at no charge. Would we stay here again? Yes. The location is very good and the restaurant across the street is outstanding for lobster and other dinner items. Ask to see the rooms in both the Inn & Spa before you settle down. Parts of the Inn are scheduled for rennovation this winter, so things are changing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Our stay at the Breakwater Inn was amazing. The hotel was close to everything with it's own 5 star restaurant, rooms with views and extremely comfortable beds.a little pricey but well worth it. We spent 2 days there on a road trip through New England to see the fall colors. staff was wonderful and it was a romantic time for us.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank nissismusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews