We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Ranked #15 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Acushnet, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“weekend away”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The inn was great right on the water, Spa services were wonderful, BUT on my last day there in the shower the heat lamp broke and fell on me in the shower, burnt me and I was a little insulted as to how the inn handled it. They discounted $40 off my stay, and no phone call nothing I have a huge burn on my shoulder. I'm just glad it didn't hit me in the face. Very unsatisfied as to how they handled the incident. BE CAREFUL WHEN USING THE HEAT LAMP IN THE BATHROOM, CAN BREAK!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwispamgr, Manager at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
We are very appreciative of guest feedback, especially when it brings to our attention an issue that may impact a guest’s enjoyment of our Inn. As it happens, I was away from the Inn for a few days at the time of this guests departure, and did not become aware of the incident until my return two days later. I did contact the guest directly to offer my personal apologies and I believe that the matter has been resolved to everyone’s satisfaction.
Thank you,
Melanie Valliere Ryll
Innkeeper
The Breakwater Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    69
    34
    8
    15
See reviews for
39
152
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for my "birthday weekend" (March - which is off season) and were a little disappointed. We have dined at the "Stripers" restaurant several years in a row for my birthday and LOVE it, so we were sad to find this year it was closed until May. The room was pretty bare bones and looked like it hadn't been updated in quite a while. This was disappointing because the rest of the hotel is so beautiful. The staff was excellent though, very friendly and helpful. We're not sure if we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvlacandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had a mother/daughter spa weekend over the third week of January when Kennebunkport is essentially desolate - which made it a truly special experience! The staff was so warm, attentive and experienced. The spa room accommodations were clean and well-maintained. The spa services were exquisite - we would recommend this to anyone - at any point in the year! As previously mentioned by another reviewer, the restaurant is closed, however, the provided continental breakfast is hardy and delicious and afternoon tea is great snack to stave off hunger until one can dine at a fantastic local restaurant - such as Grissini's or the White Barn (the pinnacle of dining north of NYC)...also try Old Vines for a great glass of wine/cocktail. We're native Mainers and we'll definitely be back come warmer weather!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfrancis207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were off-season visitors and had spacious water view room on the third floor of the Spa building. The Spa was available to guests and everything there was nicely organized and clean. Breakfast was included; the bakery items were fresh and tasty. In the winter the restaurant is closed, so we walked to the Cape Arundel Inn for a delicious dinner. We will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room in the Spa building overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Meister2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed in a Queen room with balcony in the Spa Building facing the water. My husband liked the room because it was more boutique hotel than frilly B&B. The water view, spa robes, Molton Brown toiletries, and close access to the spa amenities/gym made our stay a sanctuary from the tour bus masses closer to town. The hotel is a 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive to town, but my tip is that one of the best walks in New England is just outside the Breakwater Inn. Just take a right outside the hotel and walk along "Parson's Way" on Ocean Ave. It is the best way to see the stately homes, St. Anne's stone church, the rocky coastline, and Walker's Point. There are several park benches along the path. There are also a few nice boutiques and art galleries on the ground level outside the Breakwater Inn spa building. The main inn building & Stripers restaurant is about 100 yards away. Continental breakfast is included with the room- basic bagels, toast, cold cuts, pastries, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, ect. I can also commend the service at the hotel-the staff went out of their way to help us reschedule our anniversary trip when our original trip dates were disrupted by Hurricane Irene. Our room deposit was credited promptly, and we received a lower room rate since our new trip dates fell after Labor Day. When we needed toothpaste, a staff member brought it up within 2 minutes. The restaurant servers and bartender were attentive, friendly, and professional. The hotel is scheduled for upgrades over the winter, and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony/water view is worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We booked a Riverside King Water View Patio room, and weren’t disappointed. The room was on the ground floor, large and well furnished, with patio doors leading onto a private balcony with reclining loungers. The view across the river and out to sea was beautiful. The only real gripe was that there is little soundproofing, so we heard our neighbours inside and outside the room. Breakfast was served in the adjacent restaurant and included a full continental selection, along with quiche, croissants, meats, cheeses, fruit, bread, bagels, bread and pastries, all eaten overlooking the sea. All in all, very, very nice, but at a price over $500 for one night it needs to be. We’ve stayed in better properties for far less, such as the Bayview in Bar Harbor, which beats this hands down!!!

Room Tip: Pick a riverside water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Offthetouristtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2011

spent the weekend with the gf and we had the room on the water. it was a great weekend experience - including the massage at the spa was nice and relaxing and eating at the fish restaurant next door. it was a nice getaway from the city but too slow if you are used to city life but that's a lot of places in maine. anyways, would go back for R&R and getting away from the bustle of the city life.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.9 km away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
7.5 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,694 reviews
1.1 km away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
1,017 reviews
0.9 km away
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
#10 of 26 in Kennebunkport
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakwater Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Property: The Breakwater Inn and Spa
Address: 127 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Breakwater Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1880's, The Breakwater Inn & Spa is one of the most historic Kennebunkport hotels and inns with all the modern hotel comforts, located right on the Kennebunk River waterfront. Experience our chic water view inn rooms, cottages or spa rooms as you indulge in exclusive signature spa treatments in our luxury spa complex. Delight in innovative cuisine at Stripers Waterside Restaurant, taking pleasure in the freshest seafood, lobster and shellfish from the New England Maine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Breakwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Kennebunkport
The Breakwater Inn And Spa Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing