We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JSR2011
Kensington, Maryland

Lovely

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 10, 2013
Just lovely. You are greeted as you park your car by someone to remove your bags and bring them into your room. Then you are welcome and given a tour and history of the house, which is very pleasant. There is a gathering room where you can sit and chat, enjoy a snack and drink, and early in the morning gather for breakfast. The menu changes daily and is very ample and delish. Coffees, teas, hot chocolate are always available, as well as pop corn, for you to make. The rooms are very ample, with sitting areas, fire place, and very high, very large beds. In the room where we stayed you needed a step stool to get onto and off of the bed. Very high! Very helpful staff, who provide menus from all the restaurants and a book of places to go, tour and visit. A great visit!
Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWL21, Owner at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this review
Responded Aug 28, 2013
Dear Kensington, Since you are an active reviewer on TripAdvisor, we see that you are a very discriminating traveler. Thus, we are truly appreciative of your positive review. Thank you for mentioning the many things about your visit which impressed you. We look forward to being your hosts again in the near future! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Boathouse Waterfront Hotel & Restaurant - Kennebunkport, Maine
C$616
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dock Square King
C$589
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$589
0.4 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
KSB Yachtsman Bathroom
C$822
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$822
0.2 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$476
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Hotel
C$387
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.1 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guestroom at The Tides Beach Club | Kennebunkport, Maine
C$1,082
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.8 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$662
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge On The Cove Room Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$506
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$445
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$273
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kennebunkport
Reviews (3,225)
Filter reviews
3,226 results
Traveller rating
2,916
211
56
27
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,916
211
56
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain lord mansion captain jefferds my husband and i cookies other guests gas fireplace new england breakfast was delicious living room shops and restaurants get away wonderful stay third floor breakfast each morning the location is perfect the main house off season
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,773 - 1,778 of 3,226 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I have long relied upon Trip Advisor and Select Registry venues when choosing B&B getaways. Captain Lord Mansion, located just beyond the hubbub of the Kennebunkport town center, along "B&B Row", deserves all the accolades it has received. Add us to the list! A smiling, warm welcome from Tim greeted our arrival, our room awaiting us. But first a run-through of the inn as Tim showed us the various main floor "gathering places". Already we could see the painstaking care that has gone into this masterpiece--kudos to innkeepers Bev (one charming, hands-on lady!) and Rick. Shown to our room, Excelsior, we flipped...gorgeous! Two-step stepstools bedside to climb into our 4-poster...wow! Lots of goodies, coffee, etc. are available 24/7. We met a number of other happy travelers during our two-day stay at the inn, many celebrating anniversaries, like ourselves--our 45th. Cannot make this up--one couple was there for their 94th visit--not days, separate visits--over a span of almost 30 years! Breakfasts (no dinners served--nearby On The Marsh Bistro was phenomenal)) are a communal affair, lots of fun swapping stories at the big dining room table or sitting in the kitchen watching chef Sue (you are amazing!) turn out sumptuous and delicious specialties--bacon to die for! Truth be told, we stayed at the nearby renowned White Barn Inn, 9 years ago. It was wonderful, more on the style of a hotel. The Captain Lord is much more intimate, a place to "come home to." Hope our travels bring us back again. Go! Enjoy! D. Slater, New City, NY

Room tip: Third floor rooms might be challenging for some.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWL21, Owner at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear New York City, A warm and generous "Thank you" for your terrific review. We truly appreciate everything you mention regarding your visit to our inn. We do hope to host you again. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Captain Fairfield Inn for 3 nights in June 2013. We were welcomed with a broad smile and a very comfortable room. Breakfasts were a particular highlight, everything freshly made and delicious. Jed is a great cook. Location is great for the town, beaches, restaurants etc. We got some great recommendations from Alana on what to see and where to eat. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation. We are so glad that you enjoyed Jed's cooking and Alana's highly-honed concierge skills! Please do visit us again the next top you "hop the pond!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Starting from when we first arrived to the minute we left we loved this place. It was very centrally located, within walking distance to town with shopping and restaurants. The garden was beautiful with a nice little sitting area with a pond. Our room was private and very comfortable with its own private entrance and porch. The breakfasts were delicious and the inn keepers were very nice as well as accommodating. I truly can't wait to go back!!!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eloise023, Owner at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We are so happy to hear that from start to finish you had an enjoyable experience! Summer is the perfect time to settle into one of our garden seating nooks, including the one by our waterfall and pond. Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind review. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Best wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nothing like old fashioned service!
The rooms were exceptionally comfortable with a bed that could swallow you whole if you let it.
The bathrooms had a heated floor which I would imagine would be perfect during the right season!

The breakfast was the most impressive part that made it feel like a true bed and breakfast...relaxed and family style!

A bit pricey but well worth it!

Btw, is it haunted? We both had some...experiences that we decided NOT to share downstairs!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nosugarcoatingforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWL21, Owner at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Boston, Thanks for your positive review. Bev and I like to think any spirits here are ones that are blessing us and the guests! Also, thanks for your mention of our "impressive" breakfast. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Captain Fairfield is the best hotel experience I can remember having. The innkeepers are warm and welcoming, the property is eclectic and immaculate and the location is perfect. The welcome glass of wine and freshly baked cookies are some of the small touches that make the Captain Fairfield stand out. The outdoor seating area is a great addition, the beds really are incredibly comfortable and the three course breakfast will spoil you. If you're in the area or even looking for a great stay in a fun town, this is the place you're looking for.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-MONEY-BABYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Wow! What a nice recommendation. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Captain Fairfield Inn and we are are honored to be your "best hotel experience I can remember having." Jed and Alana do a wonderful job making our guests feel at home and pleasing them with special amenities and services. We look forward to your return stay with us at our boutique Kennebunkport inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews