We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JPhillip_12
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

As Good As It Gets

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 15, 2013
The property is beautiful. The location is perfect. The staff bend over backwards to make you feel as welcomed and comfortable as possible. The breakfast is delicious. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation at a first rate property in lovely Kennebunkport, then look no further. My wife and I have travelled all over, and this place ranks right up there at the top. Surprisingly great, considering the reasonable price.
Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eloise023, Owner at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this review
Responded Jul 17, 2013
We are so happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that your getaway was everything you hoped it would be. It is very gratifying to hear that your experience here ranks so highly among the many places you have traveled! Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to make your next visit just as special as this one.

All the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$663
  • Expedia.com
    C$663
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$634
  • Hotels.com
    C$662
0.7 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kennebunkport Inn, located in the heart of downtown Kennebunkport.
C$644
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$644
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$610
  • Hotels.com
    C$643
0.4 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Boathouse Waterfront Hotel & Restaurant - Kennebunkport, Maine
C$507
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$507
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$480
  • Hotels.com
    C$506
0.4 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby at The Lodge on the Cove
C$424
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$424
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$376
  • Expedia.com
    C$424
0.7 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$520
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$520
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$519
  • Tripadvisor
    C$520
1.3 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$359
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$359
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$314
  • Expedia.com
    C$359
1.1 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$876
  • Official Site
    C$876
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double Queen Room
C$342
  • Hotels.com
    C$342
  • Expedia.com
    C$342
  • Priceline
    C$342
1.4 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cape Arundel Exterior Daytime
C$836
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$835
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$597
  • Expedia.com
    C$836
2.0 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$273
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$273
  • Hotels.com
    C$273
  • Priceline
    C$273
1.7 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kennebunkport
Reviews (3,222)
Filter reviews
3,223 results
Traveller rating
2,913
211
56
27
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,913
211
56
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain lord mansion captain jefferds my husband and i cookies other guests gas fireplace new england breakfast was delicious living room shops and restaurants get away wonderful stay third floor breakfast each morning the location is perfect the main house off season
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,767 - 1,772 of 3,223 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is our second visit to the captain lord mansion and we can only reiterate all the brilliant reviews that every one has shared. This B & B is immaculate and we cannot wait to visit again. Just a short walk to the centre of the wonderful Kennybunkport.

Room tip: All of the rooms look lovely from the pictures on the postcards
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billington127
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWL21, Owner at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Hartford CT, It is wonderful to read that we are "perfect"; however, sometimes we are not! Whenever we receive a review that is less than glowing, we look for the nuggets of truth that will allow us to find ways to improve. Hope to see you soon for visit number 3. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this wonderful property during a trip along the Maine coast, and we brought along our 85-pound Great Dane puppy. We only give 5 stars out for truly exceptional properties, and this inn absolutely deserves a 5-star rating. There is an incredible attention to detail, and the property is spotless. The inn is pet friendly, but you would never know it from how clean everything is. Upon arrival we were given a tour of the inn, including their complimentary beverages, selection of teas, and afternoon snacks. In our room the owners has prepared a welcome kit for our puppy, including a big dog cookie with his name on it and a brand new tennis ball. Totally unexpected, but such an adorable touch. Our room was very spacious and beautifully appointed, and had it's own Keurig coffee maker. When we mentioned we were going to the beach, we were provided special beach towels as well as a parking pass for the beach. The breakfast was delicious, and the property is conveniently located next to a gorgeous park and walking distance from the center of town. All in all, this is a perfect inn and we would love to stay here again in the future. Kudos to the owners for creating such a fabulous B&B experience!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 696LisaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eloise023, Owner at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

It is so wonderful to know that you had a fabulous time staying with us and very gratifying to hear that this was among the best B&B experiences you have ever had. Our hope is to provide a comfortable spot for guests to relax in while exploring the area and we try to make our four-legged guests feel just as welcome as their humans. We recognize that the inn is an unfamiliar environment which hopefully feels infinitely more comfortable with the addition of a snack and new toy. Thank you so much for your lovely review! We look forward to making your next visit just as enjoyable.

Wishing you the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just lovely. You are greeted as you park your car by someone to remove your bags and bring them into your room. Then you are welcome and given a tour and history of the house, which is very pleasant. There is a gathering room where you can sit and chat, enjoy a snack and drink, and early in the morning gather for breakfast. The menu changes daily and is very ample and delish. Coffees, teas, hot chocolate are always available, as well as pop corn, for you to make. The rooms are very ample, with sitting areas, fire place, and very high, very large beds. In the room where we stayed you needed a step stool to get onto and off of the bed. Very high! Very helpful staff, who provide menus from all the restaurants and a book of places to go, tour and visit. A great visit!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWL21, Owner at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Kensington, Since you are an active reviewer on TripAdvisor, we see that you are a very discriminating traveler. Thus, we are truly appreciative of your positive review. Thank you for mentioning the many things about your visit which impressed you. We look forward to being your hosts again in the near future! Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I have long relied upon Trip Advisor and Select Registry venues when choosing B&B getaways. Captain Lord Mansion, located just beyond the hubbub of the Kennebunkport town center, along "B&B Row", deserves all the accolades it has received. Add us to the list! A smiling, warm welcome from Tim greeted our arrival, our room awaiting us. But first a run-through of the inn as Tim showed us the various main floor "gathering places". Already we could see the painstaking care that has gone into this masterpiece--kudos to innkeepers Bev (one charming, hands-on lady!) and Rick. Shown to our room, Excelsior, we flipped...gorgeous! Two-step stepstools bedside to climb into our 4-poster...wow! Lots of goodies, coffee, etc. are available 24/7. We met a number of other happy travelers during our two-day stay at the inn, many celebrating anniversaries, like ourselves--our 45th. Cannot make this up--one couple was there for their 94th visit--not days, separate visits--over a span of almost 30 years! Breakfasts (no dinners served--nearby On The Marsh Bistro was phenomenal)) are a communal affair, lots of fun swapping stories at the big dining room table or sitting in the kitchen watching chef Sue (you are amazing!) turn out sumptuous and delicious specialties--bacon to die for! Truth be told, we stayed at the nearby renowned White Barn Inn, 9 years ago. It was wonderful, more on the style of a hotel. The Captain Lord is much more intimate, a place to "come home to." Hope our travels bring us back again. Go! Enjoy! D. Slater, New City, NY

Room tip: Third floor rooms might be challenging for some.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RWL21, Owner at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear New York City, A warm and generous "Thank you" for your terrific review. We truly appreciate everything you mention regarding your visit to our inn. We do hope to host you again. Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Captain Fairfield Inn for 3 nights in June 2013. We were welcomed with a broad smile and a very comfortable room. Breakfasts were a particular highlight, everything freshly made and delicious. Jed is a great cook. Location is great for the town, beaches, restaurants etc. We got some great recommendations from Alana on what to see and where to eat. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation. We are so glad that you enjoyed Jed's cooking and Alana's highly-honed concierge skills! Please do visit us again the next top you "hop the pond!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews