We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mcdougallellie26
Boston, Massachusetts

Tranquil Oasis

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks ago
If you’re traveling to Kennebunkport, Kennebunkport Captains Collection is a must stay. The service and amenities were 5 Star including bikes, breakfast, beach chairs etc. It is a quick 5 minute walk to downtown Kennebunkport where all the shops and restaurants are located. The staff were friendly and helpful providing great recommendations to eat and shop. The William Jefferds house was so charming and the room was lovely. We would highly recommend the Kennebunkport Captains Collections to anyone!
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lark Hotels, Owner at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the awesome review, Mcdougallellie26! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Harbor View King With Balcony
C$687
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$687
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$687
  • Expedia.com
    C$687
0.4 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$830
  • Expedia.com
    C$828
  • Hotels.com
    C$776
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$788
0.7 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dock Square King
C$770
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$769
  • Expedia.com
    C$769
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$770
0.4 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$795
C$770
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$769
  • Expedia.com
    C$768
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$770
0.5 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge On The Cove Room Exterior
C$575
C$549
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$549
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$550
  • Expedia.com
    C$548
0.7 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
KSB Yachtsman Bathroom
C$825
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$824
  • Expedia.com
    C$823
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$825
0.2 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$476
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$475
  • Expedia.com
    C$475
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$476
1.1 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double Queen Room
C$343
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$342
  • Vio.com
    C$343
  • Tripadvisor
    C$342
1.4 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$343
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Easy and fast booking
  • Booking.com
  • Skyscanner.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$273
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$273
1.7 km from Kennebunkport Captains Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kennebunkport
Reviews (3,227)
Filter reviews
3,227 results
Traveller rating
2,916
212
56
27
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,916
212
56
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain lord mansion captain jefferds my husband and i cookies other guests gas fireplace new england breakfast was delicious living room shops and restaurants get away wonderful stay third floor breakfast each morning the location is perfect the main house off season
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 3,227 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2024 via mobile

We stayed in William Jefferies House. The room and facilities were perfect. A very comfortable room. The house is 5 mins walk to the restaurants and facilities of Kennebunkport. Our only regret is that we stayed for one night and not more. Kennebunkport is very pretty and pleasant place to visit.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ATLJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lark Hotels, Owner at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2024

Thanks for the awesome review, James! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2024

Very nice accomodations. Very clean and very well located within the town. Beautiful 5-10 minute walk to the center of town. Very overpriced for what is offered. Breakfast is seriously lacking in variety and presentation. With the exception of their version of an egg McMuffin which is wrapped and sitting on a hotplate, everything else is sitting out at room temperature for God knows how long rather than chilled. Additionally, the breakfast is different from one building to another. We noticed when we checked out, the breakfast in the main building offered items we would have enjoyed, had they been offered in the building we stayed in. I suppose approximately $400/nt only deserves second-class status. FYI, when you are finished having breakfast, it is YOUR responsibility to put your dishes in a bin under the sink. Other guests we spoke with shared the same opinion of the inadequately sad breakfast and the absence of service being offered in our building. Don't let the photos on the hotel's site fool you.
We also were disappointed to see how the outdoor furniture at the main building had cushions on them while the furniture at our building did not. We were only told about the availability of bicycles after our check-out.

Room tip: Keep your expectations low and you won't be disappointed
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffG562
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lark Hotels, Owner at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2024

Hi Jeff, Thank you for providing this feedback. While we’re glad some aspects of our property resonated with you, we apologize for any miscommunication surrounding breakfast and our common spaces. Please know, all guests are welcome to enjoy the full breakfast spread in the main house as well as the many unique amenities offered at each of our historic homes. We sincerely apologize this wasn't properly communicated to you upon arrival. We'll discuss this internally and hope we're able to welcome you again one day for an even better stay. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2024 via mobile

From the minute we set foot in this authentic, grand but incredibly cosy and welcoming property, we were bewitched! Sumptuous wallpapers, old wooden armoires and paintings set the scene of days gone by. But the eclectic furnishings kept it all a bit hip and fun. Reminded me of Kit Kemp interiors in the UK.
Home baked cookies, chilled water and fruit station next to the coffee and tea station offered welcome refreshment after our long drive from Vermont. Our room had a raised bed with these cute velvet steps to climb up and jump in! Every modern amenity was available amidst this olde worlde grandeur. Bikes to borrow, beach chairs and towels also on tap for every adventure that awaited outside the property. Jump on a bike and go and ogle the Bush family compound on the waterfront, cycle past wood shingle beach houses and feast on lobster, chowder and mussels in the nearby town.
Kennebunkport is a smiley, happy retreat from the world beyond it. A warm hug with the friendliest people. Doors aren’t locked at night and the masthead in the local paper reads: ‘Be the reason people smile today’. Enjoy sunset drinks on the Arundel Pier amidst the coloured lobster basket buoys, have dinner at Chez Rosa, Ultramar, Hurricanes, or Allison’s. You can’t miss in Kennebunkport, and Captain’s Collection is a rare gem just waiting to greet you and embrace you in a long lasting hug that will stay with you a long time! Thanks Valerie, Virginia, and Jamie for that amazing chocolate-banana bread each morning!

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jilleroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lark Hotels, Owner at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2024

Hi Jilleroo,
We so appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We strive every day to keep our best guests (like you) happy. So thank you from the entire family of Lark Hotels, AWOL, Blind Tiger, and Bluebird Hotels. If you haven’t already, make sure you share with your friends that as an On a Lark Club member, guests like you get benefits like free room upgrades, welcome gifts, and points toward free stays. And if you (or they) are looking for the perfect wedding venue, event space, pet friendly accommodations or whole house takeover, reach out and we’d be ecstatic to assist with making your next adventure at one of our many hotels just as great. Until then, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2024

My now husband and I spent our wedding weekend here at the James Fairfield House (the first room on the right). We had our own gorgeous room that led out to a porch and our own private yard. Not only were the grounds and accommodations beautiful and the perfect backdrop to our weekend (we had our private ceremony there with immediate family!), but the people there (shoutout to Virginia and Paula, as well as management!) were extremely helpful and supportive!! It was PERFECT! Thank you so much.

Room tip: The James Fairfield house was quiet and cozy.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Culture21767619238
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lark Hotels, Owner at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2024

Hi Culture21767619238,
We so appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We strive every day to keep our best guests (like you) happy. So thank you from the entire family of Lark Hotels, AWOL, Blind Tiger, and Bluebird Hotels. If you haven’t already, make sure you share with your friends that as an On a Lark Club member, guests like you get benefits like free room upgrades, welcome gifts, and points toward free stays. And if you (or they) are looking for the perfect wedding venue, event space, pet friendly accommodations or whole house takeover, reach out and we’d be ecstatic to assist with making your next adventure at one of our many hotels just as great. Until then, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2024 via mobile

What a great “old” Grand hotel! My wife and I spent the long Memorial Day Weekend 2024 here. It was an awesome place which was built in 1812 by Captain Nathaniel Lord!

It has so much charm in this 3 story hotel. They cooked a hot breakfast (Quiche, egg sandwiches, sticky buns and more) every morning. In the little breakfast area they had the fireplace working which was a nice touch.

All of the employees were very nice and always asked “can I get you anything”? We stayed in the largest of 4 houses used for guests.

You can use their bicycles, chairs and even their EV charging station. Awesome!

Great place to stay!!!!

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Skeeter5639
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lark Hotels, Owner at Kennebunkport Captains Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2024

Hi Skeeter5639,
We so appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We strive every day to keep our best guests (like you) happy. So thank you from the entire family of Lark Hotels, AWOL, Blind Tiger, and Bluebird Hotels. If you haven’t already, make sure you share with your friends that as an On a Lark Club member, guests like you get benefits like free room upgrades, welcome gifts, and points toward free stays. And if you (or they) are looking for the perfect wedding venue, event space, pet friendly accommodations or whole house takeover, reach out and we’d be ecstatic to assist with making your next adventure at one of our many hotels just as great. Until then, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews