We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B I've ever stayed in...period”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nandover
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best B&B I've ever stayed in...period”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

There isn't much more that can be said that hasn't already been said about this Inn. It is simply magnificent. So this message is for Bev and Rick. You were away this weekend while my wife and I stayed at your wonderful Inn. Your Inn, the staff and their exemplary service is a credit to the culture of outstanding service that you seem to have made a hallmark of the Inn. The fact that you were away and they still maintained such a level of professionalism…I hope makes you proud. I can not imagine having been served in a more welcoming and hospitable manner. The entire staff, from those in registration, to the kitchen and the room cleaning staff, was the most professional I have ever experienced. We stayed in the Americana and it was clean, warm, and incredibly well appointed and maintained. Everything we could have possibly needed was there and the condition of the room was perfect. The room, and the Inn for that matter was so quiet and peaceful during our stay...ok, except for when the Patriots scored a touchdown, but that was OK…that it made our stay very relaxing. I cannot recommend the Inn highly enough and my wife and I have already made a reservation for the same weekend next year. We look forward to being your guest again.

Room Tip: Check the website for the room description, each is a little different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nandover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    46
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
40
773
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal,canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This was our third visit at Christmas time and we enjoyed every moment. Everyone on staff are warm and welcoming and real proffesionals. From pizza delivery questions to restaurant suggestions, no question was to big or too small for them to handle. We stayed in the Harvest Room and truly we left the world outside behind. Breakfast was special each morning served family style which gives everyone a chance to get chat and share ideas and adventures about the area. Cannot say enough about Rick and Bev who are the most gracious hosts. A beautiful Christmas basket of goodies were delivered to everyone`s room Christmas day!! What a wonderful surprise! It really touched our hearts and our tummies!!

Have already booked for next year.

Colleen and Alan ( Liam) from Montreal, Quebec
Canada

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lasallecolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed here on a trip around New England in the fall of 2011. It was very cold for us sunlovers from Australia and the Captain Lord Mansion was a wonderful cosy retreat after a day of driving and sight seeing. This region is spectacular and the accommadation choices extensive. We chose this B&B on Trip advisor reccommendations and it was spot on. the room Foyer and common areas are beautifully and tastfully decorated with lovely antiques throughout the building. Our room was just beautiful and very romantic. Breakfast is served in at 2 large tables where conversation and story swaping with fellow travellers went on for the duration of the deliscious breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oyeah206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Captain Lord Mansion is the height of luxury in coastal Maine. The rooms are awesome and the breakfasts are delicious. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room selection is varied, bathrooms being the most varied
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdrrsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Great christmas trp the inn made us feel like home for the holidays will be going again ...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOANNE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
421 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Another visit to CLM for excellent service and very comfortable rooms. Sue and her team prepared great breakfasts!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This is our second Christmas spent at the Captain Lord Mansion. Every Thing about the Mansion is superior! The two rooms that we have stayed in were impeccably decorated. The bed's are found to be extremely comfortable...& the heated marble bath floor's were very inviting .

The Staff I would have to say is the reason we keep coming back to the Captain Lord Mansion !! Every inquiry is meet with such sincere pleasantries.

I look forward to our next stay at the Captain Lord Mansion!!

The Hunter's ...from Maryland.

Room Tip: The Oriental is on the first floor in the main house very good!! The Daniel is in the Garden House a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Baltimore, Christmas is a time for giving and receiving. Bev and I are truly thankful for positive reviews such as yours. We are so pleased that you received our staff's sincere attitude of service and giving. Hopefully the staff reflects the desires and modeling by us, the owners and innkeepers! Of course, we try to make sure we carry this level of service the entire year. Have a blessed year and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 km away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
6.8 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
0.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
263 reviews
0.7 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,622 reviews
30.5 km away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#1 of 1 in Cape Elizabeth
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Property: Captain Lord Mansion
Address: 6 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain Lord Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing