We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a beautiful cottage, I want a home like this for myself!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beach Cottage Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
“Such a beautiful cottage, I want a home like this for myself!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I was the only one visiting, and my room was upgraded. I stayed in the crow's nest, and what a lovely cozy nest it was. I could see the ocean, and smell the cedar of the doors and the floor. The bed and blankets were comfy cozy, and I got some much needed R&R between my business travel. I will always stay here from now on, when I'm in the area. Or even a romantic weekend away. I've stayed in 5 star hotels overseas, but the Beach Cottage Inn is my favorite thus far in my travels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
24
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Had two great sleeps, probably helped by the amount of local beer consumed in the adjacent pub.
Could not have asked for more from our first experience in Maine

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkAwayfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

A 5 day trip along the coast of Maine 10/10-10/14 started with the BCI. The bar was set high with our stay in the "Crows Nest". Nice view of the bay. Suite was rustic in feel, well maintained and impeccabely clean. Our late arrival resulted in dinner at the Whale Tooth Pub on 10/10 mext door and also owned by the Newcombs. Food was delicious. This too was quaint and without the tourist feel and good service. A return trip will definitely include another stay at the BCI.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBCOxford_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We arrived on a misty Maine night to the Whales Tooth pub with roaring fire, ordered a locally brewed beer and some hearty pub food and thought “Now we are in the real Maine!”. Honestly, after traveling all over New England staying in B&Bs, I can tell you with some experience that this place is excellent value. Especially for us as we were upgraded from the Puffin’s Nest (small queen room) to the Appledore suite (apartment with kitchen and living room) at no extra cost. The pictures on the website are all very accurate. The Inn is furnished with antiques and quilts on the beds, but its not frilly or old fashioned. Its also spotlessly clean, has free wifi, air-conditioning and all the modcons you could need. The owners are friendly and helpful but don’t fuss over you as they are also busy running the Whales Tooth pub next door. They don’t make breakfast themselves but give you vouchers to redeem at local cafes. We ended up staying 2 night despite initially booking for only 1 as we enjoyed Lincolnville beach so much. Its only a 10 min drive from popular Camden, has a small harbor, a few restaurants and café’s and friendly locals. We made friends the first night at the Whales Tooth and were taken out lobstering at the crack of dawn the next morning which was a brilliant experience. Will always remember Lincolnville very fondly.

Room Tip: Being situated next to route 1 you do hear some traffic at night – ask for a room on the sea-side if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo/NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

The only way a Bed and BReakfast survives is based on the people running the bed and breakfast. Beach Cottage Inn has Rob. He's great. Very kind, very helpful, always around and remembers your name.

His hospitality made me feel comfortable staying in a bed and breakfast. I'm still new to the B&B scene. The room was nice, well kept and had a nice bathroom. It was a great value and next door to a nice pub. It was right on the water.

Great little town and worth going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank binaural02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, CT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We arrives in Lincolnville, Maine for dinner at our favorite pub and restaurant, The Whales Tooth Pub, then needed a place to stay overnight and discovered that The Whales Tooth owned a delightful Inn right next door. We stayed in the Crows Nest with a water view, and listened to the water sounds of the bell on the bouy and horn of the ferry. It was great sitting on our porch and watching the moon cross the sky. We highly recommend this Inn. We also will be sure to include it on our next trip.
Pat and Fred

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jurn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My boyfriend and I greatly cherished our two nights in the Crow's Nest, which offered us a magnificent view of the ocean, particularly while enjoying evening cocktails from the rocking chairs on our deck! Beach Cottage Inn truly satisfied the high expectations we had for our short escape; it was spacious and clean, full of charm and personality, and very quiet and peaceful. We especially loved staying in Lincolnville Beach, where we had easy parking and direct access to the water, as well as none of Camden’s in-town chaos. However, we still spent our days in Camden, which was a very quick and exceptionally beautiful drive away.

The Whale’s Tooth Pub was a special bonus to the inn. The food was considerably fresh and tasty, and the large menu offered several unique dishes that turned out to be outstanding. After the restaurant closed, my boyfriend and I (in our 20s) were thrilled to find that it turned into the best kind of local pub (which you fortunately cannot hear from the rooms!), and it was here where we visited with Rob and Dorthee Newcombe (the owners). They were extremely warm and chatted with us as if were old, treasured friends.

We fell head-over-heels in love with Beach Cottage Inn and the Newcombes, and we recommend this wonderful place to all of our friends. We hope to return here as soon as possible!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
3.0 km away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.2 km away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
16.3 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
21.3 km away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.5 km away
Point Lookout Resort
Point Lookout Resort
#1 of 1 in Northport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Cottage Inn

Property: Beach Cottage Inn
Address: 2533 Atlantic Hwy, Lincolnville, ME 04849-5350
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 'cottage style' Mid Coast Maine Inn features lovely suite rooms some with beautiful decks overlooking Penobscot Bay. Within a few seconds walk you have immediate access to the sand beach, the lovely stores and Islesboro Ferry Terminal. Sleep in a delightful guest room that boasts New England style cottage decor. All rooms have tv., refrigerator and some rooms have kitchenettes. Wicked awesome steamed lobster dinners, seafood and steak dinners are available at the Whale's Tooth Pub and Restaurant, immediately adjacent to the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Beach Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Cottage Inn Lincolnville, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing