We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
283
69
22
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
283
69
22
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool hot tub beautiful grounds lounge chairs top floor the main house king bed large room breakfast was included nearby camden great view of the ocean breakfast was amazing rocky beach lobster sauna fireplace setting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 393 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2020

I rate our visit 5 out of 5 for the following reasons:

Quiet rooms
Beautiful scenery
Peaceful setting… the grounds are like a spa/retreat
Excellent service
Friendly staff
Excellent breakfast options

...then there's nearby Camden for great restaurants and several terrific hiking trails (we recommend Mt. Battie trail).

Room tip: top floor in main house, ocean view
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Phillips, General Manager at Inn at Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2020

Dear Thomas C,

Thank you for taking the time to write your "perfect" review. You truly experienced the essence of the Inn -- its natural beauty, peaceful and retreat-like setting, and the gorgeous gardens. We genuinely appreciate that you recognized our excellent service and friendly staff. As you can imagine this season was particularly challenging and our amazing team has worked extremely hard to help ensure that your stay was comfortable, memorable and safe

We hope you have a healthy year, and will have a chance to return next season.

Regards,

Mark Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2020 via mobile

Let me start with the positive. The hotel is immaculate and very well maintained and the view is breathtaking. If you don’t mind a hotel with little amenities and a somewhat rude staff then you won’t mind this spot.

It is quite a hike from the car to your room and there is NO bellman. They will send maintenance to help with some of your bags but not all. When we called down to the front desk because we accidentally locked ourselves out of our room, a very rude receptionist was less than helpful. To be fair I don’t think she was very bright.

There is only 1 restaurant in this town for dinner and although the hotel said they called ahead and got us a table, the restaurant does NOT take reservations, so the man at the desk lied. The wait for dinner was 2 hours.

Skip Lincolnville, go stay in Camden. You will be glad you did.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank angiegarciaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Phillips, General Manager at Inn at Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2020

Dear angiegarciaa,

We appreciate the positive feedback about the property, especially the comments that the Inn is immaculate, well-maintained and the breathtaking ocean views.

We are a small Inn that features amazing natural beauty, a delicious gourmet breakfast, a beautiful Infinity pool overlooking the Bay, and an incredibly hardworking, professional and dedicated staff.

The Hilltop property, which you selected, is the most requested location because of the panoramic views, privacy and individual balconies. It is just a few feet to the parking lot from the front door and just a few minute walk to the Main Inn and pool area.

There are dozens of restaurants within a 5 mile radius to choose from. Saturday evening was a very busy dining night because of the holiday weekend. It appears that there was a miscommunication. Guest Services is very familiar with the restaurants in the area, and there is absolutely no benefit to provide inaccurate dining information to a guest.

We responded immediately to both of your requests for a replacement key and assistance with your luggage. Within a few minutes after the manager delivered the key and left, Guest Services received a second call for help with your luggage. The manager went straight back to your room, and also generously packed your SUV.

Sincerely,

Mark Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2020 via mobile

My husband and me stayed at this inn for 4 nights. The property is very beautiful and has magical views of the garden with its pools and ocean. The cool pool was refreshing to swim in and the hot tub very enjoyable. The full moon with its beam of light over the ocean was amazing. The breakfast was in person, served fresh produce, great breakfast choices and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a room at the main house with ocean and pool view. There was a fire place as well. Would like to come back with my kids next time.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Claudia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Phillips, General Manager at Inn at Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2020

Dear Claudia Z,

What a fantastic review. You are right -- the inn is a magical place with amazing views of Penobscot Bay, the beautiful Infinity pool and lush gardens. We appreciate your recognition of our staff. They are an excellent crew, who have worked exceptionally hard this year to help create a safe and comfortable environment for our guests during the pandemic.

We hope you have a chance to return next season with your family. Please inquire about our family room or rooms with queen beds for your convenience.

Regards,

Mark Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2020

We came here for our anniversary and picked it because of the beautiful views and the infinity pool. We were in the pool house suite and it was wroth every penny.

The pool was was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.

All the staff we encountered were very friendly. Max, the front desk agent was especially helpful. We went there as girlfriend and boyfriend and left as fiance and fiancee!!

Breakfast was AMAZING!

Room tip: Pool House Suite was wroth every penny
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 104surayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Phillips, General Manager at Inn at Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2020

Dear 104surayam,

Thank you for your wonderful review, and congratulations! We are thrilled to be part of your engagement surprise, and hope the Inn will be a special celebratory destination for years to come.

We wish you a healthy and safe year and hopefully a return visit next season.

Regards,

Mark Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2020 via mobile

The Inn is beautiful. The staff is excellent. Our suite was awesome. They are doing a great job dealing with COVID protocols. We will be back.
One note: this is not a complaint but a tip for potential guests. We stayed in a pool suite which was spacious and well appointed with a great view of the ocean. As the name suggests, the room looks on the pool area which can by noisy, particularly when the hot tub is used and people are speaking loudly over the noise of the tub jets. It closes at 10 PM, so no issues with sleep. Just be aware.
A big shoutout to Lisa at the front desk. She’s great.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 997PeterR997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Phillips, General Manager at Inn at Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2020

Dear 997PeterR997,

Thank you for your wonderful and thoughtful review and especially recognizing our commitment to COVID protocols and our excellent staff. Most importantly, we are happy that you will return, and that you had a great stay.

It doesn't happen often, but on rare occasions guests try to speak above the hot tub jets, and don't realize their voices are louder and carry further by the ocean. We genuinely appreciate you bringing this to our attention because we were able to resolve it immediately without further inconvenience to you.

We look forward to your return next season, and hope that you have a safe and healthy winter.

Regards,

Mark Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews