We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
26
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
26
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trout outdoor experience each cabin has its own incredible hosts gas lights life jackets appalachian trail comfortable beds angel fishing stove wilderness motor refrigerator pond lake moose
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 30 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2020

Our trip to Nahmakanta Lakes Wilderness area at peak foliage met every need. We had hoped to see moose, and engaged Don for canoe moose safaris on two mornings and we were not disappointed. The sheer autumn beauty and tranquility of wilderness was enough to delight us, but spotting several moose in the wild was an extra bonus!

Our stay at NLWC was comfortable and Don and Angel were incredible hosts, adding Covid safety to their normally very busy schedule of caring for guests. Our cabin was comfortable, clean and well equipped. Meals this year were delivered to your cabin, and were enough for 4 people! My vegetarian diet was gracefully accomodated.

The cabins are sited so close to the lake you can hear the waves lapping and loons calling. Our cabin site featured all the amenities, chairs, fire rings, grills, and picnic tables. Our privately assigned bathroom was located a few steps behind the cabin with heat, electricity and hot water.

Guide services are additional, but small craft with paddles and pfds were complimentary, as well as several well marked hiking trails within walking distance from camp, including sections of the Maine Appalachian Trail.

Room tip: Ask Don for a cabin on the end if you'd like maximum privacy.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familygoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2020

Don and Angel are a phenomenal team. They keep an impeccably maintained retreat and their attention to detail allows guests to have personalized experiences that range from extremely active to really quiet. Guests can fish, kayak/canoe, hike, swing in a hammock, swim, and sit by the fire all in the same day or stretched over a week. This place is magic. We highly recommend visiting.

The cabins are great. Comfortable beds, plenty of space, and all the amenities you need, and not any extras. Just rustic enough. Bring your own knives if you're a cook.

No internet. No cell service. For us, it makes the place even more special and relaxing.

The secret sauce of Nahmakanta Lake Wilderness Camp is the team of Don and Angel. They work really really hard and are kind and generous with their time and expertise. Thank you!

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2019

Don and Angel are two of the most amazing people we have ever met; incredibly hard working with hospitality to the max, an extensive knowledge of the area and a willingness to share this information in a personal and caring way. The camp far exceeded our expectations. Our cabin was clean, well furnished, very comfortable, and was supplied with several pots and pans, a stove, a sink with running water, and a refrigerator in the kitchen area, that we never used. The private bathroom facility across the yard from the cabin was exceptionally clean with hot and cold water at the sink and shower, electric lighting, and propane heating. Meals were incredible in quality and quantity with the best cinnamon dinner rolls / pop-overs ever. The fishing was outstanding; caught two nearly 18-inch brookies on a dry fly the first day out and my wife caught her first trout ever - a beautiful 14-inch brookie on a streamer. We saw an eagle, three moose, a great blue heron and loons, all from the front of our cabin on the first full day there. All trails, including the Appalachian Trail and several trails to back-woods ponds, were very well marked, a joy to walk, and very accessible from camp. We will defininately be returning to Nahmakanta Lake Wilderness Camps. An excellent get away for fishing, hiking, canoing, kayaking or just plain relaxing. Carol and Steve C.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Inspiration59656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2019

Do not be fooled by the fishing photos on their website. This place is about so much more! The camp is surrounded by beautifully maintained hiking trails (most of which are designed and maintained by Don) that lead to hidden gems. Many of the trails link up and several start in the camp. (They provide a very detailed and easy to read trail map of the area.) One loop in particular (8 miles) was very beautiful and serene. It seemed like every mile or so revealed another beautiful pond or magical gorge. The AT is just a short hike away, though it seemed relatively busy and overused in comparison to the local trails. The area is saturated in peace and beauty. Many of the ponds we hiked to were so silent the only sound was our canoe paddle slipping through the water. Every day we found some gorgeous, isolated spot to enjoy our delicious bag lunch (provided by Angel). Nahmakanta Lake itself is serene, unspoiled and perfect if you just feel like hanging out around camp or going for a gentle paddle by canoe or kayak (which they provide). For us, this place was truly heaven.

The cabins are rustic and beautiful. Each one has a refrigerator, stove, and cold running water (no electricity or internet which was perfect for us). There are wood stoves for the colder months and the cabins are stocked with plenty of wood to keep them stoked. The beds are wonderfully comfy. The screened porches have rocking chairs and perfect views of the lake. Each cabin has its own spotless outhouse with excellent hot showers a short walk away. In the middle of the camp is the office and dining room. If you choose the American Plan be prepared to eat a lot! Angel's cooking is as abundant as it is good! This is the only place I have ever visited where you can hike 8 - 10 miles a day and still leave 5 pounds heavier than when you arrived :-)

Don and Angel are remarkable people. In the face of a steady stream of guests, they are warm, welcoming and always ready to provide advice regarding trails or fishing. Never have I met two more hardworking, genuine people. I really hope they write a book one day about their own adventures. This place is a paradise built on their commitment, love and effort.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adventureseeker108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2019

My wife and I spent 4 nights and 3 full days hiking into and fishing 4 different remote ponds. The Brook trout are absolutely beautiful, the scenery is breathtaking and the camp is the nicest Ive ever been to! Do NOT wait to visit this place...……...Ive only been home an hour and I'm looking at dates for next year.
Don and Angel are incredible hosts and experts at the surrounding lands.
Joe and Donna

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NEPAJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews