We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
126
96
66
49
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
126
96
66
49
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews popovers bar harbor new england historic hotel in acadia national park deck maine accommodations entrees server era summer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 355 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2021

What a great place. We took my daughters in Laws there for lunch and the place was just outstanding. The head executive Chef Emily Damon has a great group in her kitchen that turned out the best food we have had in Maine ,ever. and we go a lot.
This is class all the way and the staff were just outstanding. Our waiter has been there for three seasons and he is Alyot. If you go ask for him as he knows everything about the food he is serving. My wife had a cup of lobster stew and it had half a bowl of lobster and she said best she has ever had. We had the little necks clams in a special sauce that was to die for. we needed more toasted bread to get all the juice it was so good. Our salads were like a picture and were as good as they looked. The lobster roll one of the party had was huge along with fries. All in all it is a place we will go back to many times in the future. Do not miss going across the street to the most beautiful garden you have ever been in. Park in the Inn's lot and just go across the street. The entire staff were going out of their way to make our lunch visit the best of our entire trip. The rooms are just wonderful and the place is really like out of a book. I can recomend this true Gem for the person who wants a great meal with an outstanding view and service that is top of the line. call 207-276-3344 to mqke a reservation. Not far from Bar Harbor/Arcadia.

Room tip: the entire area is quiet and they own the other buildings in the area as well.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2020

We stayed at the Cranberry Cottage because Covid had shut down the main Inn. Mary Lou at the front desk was great and helpful. The room we had was big and the bed was comfortable but the room and the entire cottage was very tired looking. The hot water heating system clanged all night and we had to go over to the main Inn for coffee and ice. I suspect the rooms in the Inn are much nicer.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2020

We went to the Asticou for an early shoulder season getaway and stayed in one of the Topsider Cottages. Although the view was amazing, the cottage itself is very dated and not really well-maintained. There were quite a few cobwebs in the rafters (and the front desk person didn't seem to care when I notified them) and because they're duplexes, we could hear almost every noise from our neighbors. Not to mention being woken up at 4 am by pipes shuddering when they were running water! The restaurant gets rave reviews, but we were also disappointed. There are a lot of creative ways to replicate a breakfast buffet in a pandemic, but it's disappointing that the restaurant chose prepackaged muffins, bagels, and yogurt. When we made a dinner reservation, we were also disappointed by the severely limited menu (that was very different than the one on their website). The views are amazing and it's cool to be in a historic hotel, but for the cost, it really was not worth it in my opinion.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2020

We were happy to get to visit this historic Inn. We had a delightful lunch on the deck. Delicious salmon burgers and crab cakes. Our server was Freddy. Charming, courteous and made great suggestions. Pleasant views of the harbor. In compliance with Maine Covid 19 guidelines tables were separated and staff wore face masks. Since there was a pleasant warm breeze we all felt safe.
The dinning room are from a different era. They are beautifully decorated with high ceilings and good ventilation. Later we returned for cocktails and were happy to have Freddy again as our server.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank tedrzepski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2020

I had wanted to stay at the Asticou for years, so when our usual B&B did not open this summer, I was excited to book here. We stayed in the "king suite" in the Cranberry Lodge, which was in a surprising state of disrepair. While the "suite" is huge, it has almost no furniture - in the living room, a couch and one chair, both of which had broken springs such that they were unusable. There was only one small dresser. No fridge. The bathroom floor tiles were coming up around the shower. The bathroom sink clogged every day (despite daily assurances it would be fixed).Several lightbulbs were burned out when we arrived, and another burned out during our stay. The doors to both the room and the house did not close properly. Worst of all, my husband left a baggie of chocolates on the floor the night before we left - and in the morning, the baggie had been gnawed through and a bite taken out of a chocolate bar... The "continental breakfast" consisted of coffee, yoghurt, blueberries and prepackaged bagels and blueberry muffins (the same every day). While this was a pandemic response, it was an uncreative/minimal one. I raised all of the issues relating to the room with the front desk (throughout the stay and at checkout) and got no response other than that they would inform management.

Room tip: Do not stay in the Cranberry Lodge annex under any circumstances!
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lisawD8529CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews